PDA

View Full Version : Sd-dvr40

anoop
01-04-2009, 02:14 PM
Hi All,

I recently was handed a direct TV Tivo - the model number at the back says SD-DVR10. I am an utter noob :confused:(shamelessly so..).
I do not have a TIVO connection - neither do I use Direct TV - I have a regular cable connection. I intend to use the Tivo to just pause, rewind and record shows, nothing more.
Can someone please provide some pointers as to where I can start to hack my system - all help is much much appreciated!

Thanks in advance,
Anoop

jt1134
01-04-2009, 02:23 PM
you need directv service to use the box. it lacks the hardware for anything else.

anoop
01-04-2009, 02:25 PM
Wow - so is the situation hopeless unless I get Directv connection?

Thanks,
Anoop

anoop
01-04-2009, 03:02 PM
Can I at least extract the data stored on the hard drive to a PC? What do I need to achieve this?

anoop
01-04-2009, 03:17 PM
I had posted another question about the SD-DVR10, but due to my oversight it was the model SD-DVR40.

So at the risk of double posting - can somebody please let me know if there are steps to hack the SD-DVR40. All I need is to be able to record, pause and play shows.

Do I need the directv service or the tivo service to do any of these?

Finally if everything is hopeless, can I at least salvage the situation by possibly copying the shows recorded on the DVR to my PC? Please help.

thanks,
Anoop

ronnythunder
01-04-2009, 04:53 PM
Can I at least extract the data stored on the hard drive to a PC? What do I need to achieve this?unless the box had previously been hacked to remove encryption, you pretty much can't retrieve the shows (ok, yes, you could do s2_unscramble, but it's rather newbie-hostile).

ronny

captain_video
01-05-2009, 08:39 AM