PDA

View Full Version : need a new tivoapp patch to turn off pause adds



lgkahn
04-20-2009, 03:35 PM
we need a new patch to turn of that "select here" for more info while pausing a show.. it takes up too much screen area and is very annoying.. if i want to get more info on a show i know how to go back to the main show menu and do it..

also i read on other forums that it is a tie in to put adds while paused as well.. anyone think a tivoapp patch can get rid of this crap?

mike_s
04-20-2009, 07:24 PM
You are confusing "want" and "need."

lgkahn
04-21-2009, 09:52 AM
true. but the 30 sec skip patch and the cci bytes patch are not actually needed either .. as there are other workarounds for those.. so it is more like want but desired at least in my case i find it annoying.. i can read assembler in a limited fashion but i think it would be hard to find the area that pops up those messages... at least for me.

jt1134
04-26-2009, 01:44 AM
it's quite easy to get rid of. have a look in /MenuItem



bash $ echo "dumpobj 261871" | tivosh
MenuItem 261871/11 {
AllowMatchAll = 1
Data = uuid://AB306EFD-EB85-47C3-A38E-B29E52DB3C73?launchSource=promotionalMenuItem&launchSourceId=PauseMenu
DecoratedDisplayName = {<tvml>More about {SERIES_TITLE}</tvml>}
DisplayArea = 17
DisplayExpression = 17 826627668 875709232 1125719719 458897458 25
DisplayFormat = 2
DisplayName = {<tvml>More about {SERIES_TITLE}</tvml>}
ErrorScreenText = {<tvml>We're sorry, the service you requested is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later.</tvml>}
ErrorScreenTitle = {<tvml>Service Unavailable</tvml>}
Expiration = 14426
IndexPath = /MenuItem/17/3feef:VFZFMTBDMjSnHhlDMjhaGxk= /Server/145412484
LastPresentationDate = 14360
LastPresentationTime = 16665
ServerId = 145412484
ServerVersion = 4
Type = 6
UniqueName = tivo_Pause_Menu_Swivel_SA3_722685_IPA
Version = 92
}

Ex:


transaction {
set x [db $db openid 261871]
dbobj $x set AllowMatchAll 0 }
there's several ways to do it, tivosh, routerplus...

mike_s
05-09-2009, 10:53 AM
Thanks, jt.

This should be more universal. I'm a tivosh rookie, so there may be a better/cleaner way, but this works for me.


#!/tvbin/tivosh
#
#This will remove the "More About..." banner when paused
#

set db [dbopen]

#Get the object we need to change
transaction {
set entry [mfs scan "/MenuItem/17" -count 1]
}
#Extract the FSID
regsub {\{([0-9]*).*} $entry {\1} fsid

#And set AllowMatchAll to 0 (1 to reenable)
transaction {
set obj [db $db openid $fsid]
dbobj $obj set AllowMatchAll 0
}

#That's it!

lgkahn
05-29-2009, 03:09 PM
thanks but this is not exactly what i am looking for this does turn of the adds but only on existing recordings on the box.. you would have to run it all the time to turn off new ones..

tivo4mevo
05-29-2009, 03:27 PM
Assuming you have cron installed

echo "0 * * * * /path/to/mike_s's/More_About_script.tcl" >> /var/spool/cron/crontabs/root

jt1134
05-29-2009, 06:57 PM
There's also the routerplus hack here (http://dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?p=302155&postcount=18) that suppresses ads by munging some TvBus messages. Even though no message is produced when the "More about" box pops up, promo_killer still ends up suppressing it.

pdd
08-06-2009, 02:52 PM
Can someone please provide me with a link to a binary for routerplus hack please for a TivoHD? I have tried to compile it myself a few times and have had zero luck :(

jt1134
11-13-2009, 04:51 PM
this patch will kill ONLY the pause menu stuff. all other ads/etc are still left intact


11.0d
0x00b9727c "0c2e6016 00000000"

lgkahn
11-22-2009, 10:19 AM
thans jt that is exactly what i was looking for is that for a series 3 or an hd ?

tivo4mevo
11-22-2009, 10:39 AM
That patch applies to both. The S3 and THD tivoapps are identical in the 11.x line.

In general, tivoapps will be identical except for two circumstances: legacy hardware and new hardware.

Legacy hardware includes all Series 1 models and now S2 models. The S1 tivoapps are clearly different (being PPC and now being very old) from all other tivoapps. The S2 tivoapps are also now distinct from the S3 tivoapps (S2 and S3 tivoapps were identical in sw 9.1, at which point TiVo forked them). They will continue to be separate and distinct, and TiVo has already shown little interest in further developing the S2 code.

Tivoapps will also differ when TiVo introduces new hardware. Typically, TiVo will create a fork from the main line for the new hardware, assign it a different sw version (e.g., the TiVoHD 8.x fork was sw version 8.1.7x, whereas the S3 was 8.0.1x), and then merge it into the main line (once it's stable) in the next major release. So in the case of the different 8.x tivoapps, TiVo merged them all (the TiVoHD, S3 and the S2 mainline) in version 9.1.

One exception to the above may be with international versions of hardware, as I believe that the Australian TiVoHD's still have a unique sw version (and perhaps the same was true for the UK/PAL S1's?).

lgkahn
11-22-2009, 11:02 AM
thanks if i didnt do my math wrong this is the old school method

echo -ne "\x00\x00\x00\x00" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=7959164

pdd
11-23-2009, 01:11 AM
One exception to the above may be with international versions of hardware, as I believe that the Australian TiVoHD's still have a unique sw version (and perhaps the same was true for the UK/PAL S1's?).

Correct Aust Tivo units are currently at sw ver 11.3.x

The code is similar but not exact as patch points are still identifyable but just in different places.