PDA

View Full Version : network Transfer fail or slow from tivo to tivo or tivoserver



snake98
07-07-2009, 06:48 PM
I have 2 tivos and a tivo server. Running 6.2a. Network is wired 100mb

Everything was fine, then suddenly tivo 1 can't receive shows, if it doesn't it's agonizingly slow like 12 hours to transmit it.(no problem browsing) Tivo 2 can receive from the tivo server just fine. Tivo 1 has problems receiving from Tivo 2 or tivo server. I've switch out the network adapters. cleared the tivo transfer que, but no dice. Anyone have any ideas.

snake98
07-08-2009, 07:56 PM
Okay I can trasnfer shows off the tivo, and record new ones. but I can't transfer shows to the tivo any ideas?

jonbig
07-09-2009, 04:20 PM
Check the error statistics on your Tivo. Here's what I get:

bash-2.02 $ ifconfig -a
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Bcast:0.0.0.0 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:10 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:941 dropped:10 overruns:0 carrier:0 coll:0

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:09:5B:62:65:9A
inet addr:172.16.0.10 Bcast:172.16.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:26683080 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:630996472 dropped:9092873 overruns:0 carrier:0 coll:0

See if the RX or TX packet errors counter is increasing while a transfer to your TiVo is running.

Funny, but I just noticed my TiVo's TX error counter is rather high, even though it seems to transfer just fine. :)

snake98
07-09-2009, 05:27 PM
Here is the tivo that doesn't work


bash-2.02# ifconfig -a
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Bcast:0.0.0.0 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0 coll:0

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:50:B6:00:83:D3
inet addr:192.168.0.9 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:1033740 errors:71177 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:1531
TX packets:0 errors:2147483647 dropped:2492444 overruns:0 carrier:0 coll:0

bash-2.02#
bash-2.02# uptime
21:24:05 up 21:16, load average: 0.61, 0.71, 0.69
bash-2.02#
bash-2.02#


here is th tivo that does

bash-2.02# ifconfig -a
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Bcast:0.0.0.0 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:1 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:80 dropped:1 overruns:0 carrier:0 coll:0

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:50:B6:01:DB:30
inet addr:192.168.0.8 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:28281477 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:2147483647 dropped:9951412 overruns:0 carrier:0 coll:0

bash-2.02#
bash-2.02# uptime
21:25:01 up 70 days, 4:18, load average: 0.53, 0.64, 0.65
bash-2.02#
bash-2.02#


I'm not sure how this helps. I've chanted the nic out and the port on the switch. I notice i'm getting frame errors tho

snake98
07-09-2009, 05:48 PM
hmm, i think it may have something to do with mfs, I ran mfscheck and it reboot my tivo. I'm going to rerun it, and them try mfscheck -fix. to see if that helps.

jonbig
07-09-2009, 05:57 PM
The other difference I see is that the TiVo that doesn't work has some RX frame errors reported. Check to see if that increments while doing a transfer to that TiVo. If so, then either the sender is sending packets that are too large (unlikely), or you still have something flaky between the bad TiVo and the rest of your network that is corrupting large packets being sent to that TiVO.

You said you swapped the NIC and the port on the hub. Have you tried swapping the cable?

Jamie
07-10-2009, 01:34 PM
...
Funny, but I just noticed my TiVo's TX error counter is rather high, even though it seems to transfer just fine. :)This is a well known issue with the ifconfig tivo ships with some OS versions -- it incorrectly reports interface statistics. Use the ifconfig from the backport package, or just look at /proc/net/dev directly.

Smee
07-12-2009, 02:57 AM
I have 2 tivos and a tivo server. Running 6.2a. Network is wired 100mb

Everything was fine, then suddenly tivo 1 can't receive shows, if it doesn't it's agonizingly slow like 12 hours to transmit it.(no problem browsing) Tivo 2 can receive from the tivo server just fine. Tivo 1 has problems receiving from Tivo 2 or tivo server. I've switch out the network adapters. cleared the tivo transfer que, but no dice. Anyone have any ideas.

Snake98,

It could be that your power supply is starting to fail on the unit which is transferring slowly. Go to this thread and for an example:

http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?t=60776 (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?t=60776). If it is starting to fail, you will see all kinds of weird things start happening like slow transfers, spontaneous reboots, etc.. depending on how far gone the power supply is. To test it, swap the power supply between the two TiVos if they are the same model and the problem should follow the power supply. You can also inspect the power supply. Take a good look at the capacitors underneath the heat sink. If they are domed instead of flat, then they could be going bad.

Smee

snake98
07-13-2009, 10:54 AM
yupe, it was the power supply it went after i re-imaged the hard drive.

Smee
07-13-2009, 11:38 PM
yupe, it was the power supply it went after i re-imaged the hard drive.

Sorry for your loss. :eek: At least it's repairable.

Take care..

Smee