PDA

View Full Version : 11.0h is rolling out



dcbarry
07-15-2010, 03:58 PM
FYI, for those who don't visit the other forum, 11.0h is enroute. One known change --- support for the new Tivo keyboard remote --- which appears to be pretty much USB HID keyboard support.


My question --- I'm a bit nervous as I literally have the TWC truck rolling to my house to re-pair the CableCards (sigh), having just rebuilt a new 10.g box with hacks. I applied the bootpage softwareupgrade=false flag, so I should not get surprised, but there seems to have been reports in the past of folks getting "unexpected" upgrades.

Is it pretty much a consensus that it must be a faulty memory, bad typing or a "1D10T" error, or are there in fact known cases where the upgraded is forced, bootpage be damned?

Sbmocp
07-15-2010, 04:15 PM
FYI, for those who don't visit the other forum, 11.0h is enroute. One known change --- support for the new Tivo keyboard remote --- which appears to be pretty much USB HID keyboard support.


My question --- I'm a bit nervous as I literally have the TWC truck rolling to my house to re-pair the CableCards (sigh), having just rebuilt a new 10.g box with hacks. I applied the bootpage softwareupgrade=false flag, so I should not get surprised, but there seems to have been reports in the past of folks getting "unexpected" upgrades.

Is it pretty much a consensus that it must be a faulty memory, bad typing or a "1D10T" error, or are there in fact known cases where the upgraded is forced, bootpage be damned?

Can't help w/that question, but can verify I have 11.0h on one of my two boxes. (The other one was unplugged for PROM modding, and I haven't gotten it hooked back up to the network yet.) I'm hoping that a new patchlist will surface soon so I can expand my hard drives and apply hacks. I'd planned to do that last weekend, before I found out the update was coming... :D

Sbmocp
07-19-2010, 12:30 PM
I finally hooked my 2nd TiVo HD up to the network last night, and it now has 11.0h as well. What are the odds that this "random" pre-rollout would hit both of my new boxes? :D

thomb
07-22-2010, 10:26 PM
...... (The other one was unplugged for PROM modding, and I haven't gotten it hooked back up to the network yet.) I'm hoping that a new patchlist will surface soon so I can expand my hard drives and apply hacks. I'd planned to do that last weekend, before I found out the update was coming... :D

I'm in the same boat. I was going to hack my 2 TivoHDs tomorrow - both are on 11.0g and not connected. I haven't seen the 11.0h patches released into the wild yet. Anyone know when that would be expected - ETA?

Hopefully soon, otherwise I'll probably just hack them as of 11.0g and introduce upgradesoftware=false to my bootpage tomorrow.

Sbmocp
07-24-2010, 01:43 PM
I haven't seen the 11.0h patches released into the wild yet. Anyone know when that would be expected - ETA?

Dunno for sure, but I'll bet they'll be made available when those with the know-how get upgraded. Could also be that they're waiting to see if 11.0h breaks anything that needs an immediate fix/patch before releasing. It would suck to research then have to do it again if TiVo forced out an immediate upgrade to repair a botched release.

psxboy
07-27-2010, 06:34 PM
Ta da!


11.0h
0x005d38cc "104000aa 100000aa" //noencryption
0x00656d80 "30b000ff 00008021" //cci1
0x00656da4 "00e08821 24110000" //cci2
0x00773e5c "00008021 24100001" //backdoors
0x00868184 "0d2939A5 00000000" //nopromos
0x009bce04 "12400003 10000003" //deletethisrecording?
0x00b938d0 "14400026 10400026" //30secskip
0x00b97f94 "0c2e635c 00000000" //nopauseads
0x0114b16c "30b000ff 00008021" //cci3

And for the diehard command-liners:


11.0h
echo -ne "\x10\x00\x00\xaa" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=1915084
echo -ne "\x00\x00\x80\x21" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=2452864
echo -ne "\x24\x11\x00\x00" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=2452900
echo -ne "\x24\x10\x00\x01" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=3620444
echo -ne "\x00\x00\x00\x00" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=4620676
echo -ne "\x10\x00\x00\x03" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=6016516
echo -ne "\x10\x40\x00\x26" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=7944400
echo -ne "\x00\x00\x00\x00" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=7962516
echo -ne "\x00\x00\x80\x21" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=13939052

Bufferhack:

set sys(11.0h)[list 0x115c22 0x1158ee 0x6c 0x1bd52a 32271180 325F14DAA33CC105AD841D8F73E3E67B7A85EDBF]


NoMEK (replaces generic noencryption patch to enable MRV of encrypted content)

11.0h
0x005d38c8 "92220024 27a40028"
0x005d38cc "104000aa 0c156f80"
0x005d38d0 "27a40028 00000000"
0x005d38d4 "0c156f80 0c465557"
0x005d38dc "8fa20020 106000aa"
0x01195534 "27bdfec8 03e00008"
0x01195538 "afb40128 24020001"
0x0119555c "00a0a021 8e230040"
0x01195560 "0c1b60dd 10600002"
0x01195564 "00602821 00000000"
0x01195568 "00408021 8c630000"
0x0119556c "1200000a 03e00008"
0x01195570 "00001021 8fa20020"

"No Thanks!" patch (prevents "Pending Restart" and nightly reboots after new SW is downloaded - per tivo4mevo's post here (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?p=300441#post300441)):

11.0h
0x007c5c20 "10400008 10000008"

Standard disclaimer: I HAVE NOT TESTED THESE! I've applied the noencryption patch to my TivoHD and it appears to be working normally. Use (the others) at your own risk. Also, all the caveats that go along with jt1134's patches (here) (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?p=306730&postcount=16) apply to these ones.

-psxboy

Sbmocp
07-27-2010, 08:14 PM
Standard disclaimer: I HAVE NOT TESTED THESE! Use at your own risk. Also, all the caveats that go along with jt1134's patches (here) (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?p=306730&postcount=16) apply to these ones.

I still have a little work to do on the bufferhack port and I'll eventually get to the MEK port as well (unless someone beats me to it).

-psxboy

Many thanks! Though I think I'll wait to hear feedback before I apply these...

whitepelican
07-28-2010, 10:05 AM
...and I'll eventually get to the MEK port as well (unless someone beats me to it).


What, exactly, is the MEK port? I haven't seen that before.

psxboy
07-28-2010, 11:18 AM
What, exactly, is the MEK port? I haven't seen that before.

Per this post:
http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?p=305928#post305928

It replaces the generic "No Encryption" patch to allow MRV of encrypted recordings as well.

Also, I added the bufferhack port to my original post.

Sbmocp
07-28-2010, 03:59 PM
Very interesting additional patch for MEK, and would be useful for those of us who've started using our TiVos before adding the noCSO patch. I'm guessing the bufferhack patch is done from a command line?

psxboy
07-28-2010, 05:18 PM
I've edited my original post to include all of the standard patches, including bufferhack and the NoMEK patch. I typically only apply the noencryption patch myself and that seems to be working fine. Someone else will have to verify that the other patches work. Until then, caveat emptor.

@Sbmocp, this thread (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?t=42809) contains the original bufferhack script which you need to edit to add the line I posted above.

@dcbarry, to answer your original question - the "upgradesoftware=false" flag works 100% of the time provided you spell it correctly and actually remember to apply it. All of the instances where it didn't appear to work were due to user error.

-psxboy

Sbmocp
07-29-2010, 10:44 AM
@Sbmocp, this thread (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?t=42809) contains the original bufferhack script which you need to edit to add the line I posted above.
-psxboy

Very good--thank you!

ScanMan
07-29-2010, 08:33 PM
"tvapppatches-11.0h.tcl" for psxboy's locations posted in the support thread here (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showpost.php?p=307998&postcount=43). Enjoy!

djl
07-29-2010, 09:06 PM
I just ran tvapppatch with the the 11.0h patchset and rebooted, but ciphercheck still reports tystream encryption as enabled. I assume user error, but has anyone else tried it?


"tvapppatches-11.0h.tcl" for psxboy's locations posted in the support thread here (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showpost.php?p=307998&postcount=43). Enjoy!

ScanMan
07-29-2010, 10:29 PM
I just ran tvapppatch with the the 11.0h patchset and rebooted, but ciphercheck still reports tystream encryption as enabled. I assume user error, but has anyone else tried it?
Works for me:

Directory of /SwSystem starting at ''

Name Type FsId Date Time Size
---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ----
11.0g-01-2-652 tyDb 2283824 07/29/10 21:21 884
11.0h-01-2-652 tyDb 2652856 07/29/10 21:21 908
ACTIVE tyDb 2652856 07/29/10 21:21 908

bash-2.02# ciphercheck | more
CipherCheck - based on CipherCheck.tcl by AlphaWolf_HK

TyStream encryption is currently disabled.

Here is the status of your current recordings:

Encrypted CSO Set Stream Name
--------- ------- -----------
Is this on TivoHD using 64-bit mfs_utils? Try 'drmcheck.tcl' too; I believe both rely on mfs_uberexport.

djl
07-30-2010, 12:44 AM
Not sure what I did wrong the first time, but after backing out and patching a virgin tvapp all is well. Thanks


Works for me:

Directory of /SwSystem starting at ''

Name Type FsId Date Time Size
---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ----
11.0g-01-2-652 tyDb 2283824 07/29/10 21:21 884
11.0h-01-2-652 tyDb 2652856 07/29/10 21:21 908
ACTIVE tyDb 2652856 07/29/10 21:21 908

bash-2.02# ciphercheck | more
CipherCheck - based on CipherCheck.tcl by AlphaWolf_HK

TyStream encryption is currently disabled.

Here is the status of your current recordings:

Encrypted CSO Set Stream Name
--------- ------- -----------
Is this on TivoHD using 64-bit mfs_utils? Try 'drmcheck.tcl' too; I believe both rely on mfs_uberexport.

AlphaWolf
07-31-2010, 04:49 AM
Given that part of this release includes usb keyboard support, are there any kernel changes to be aware of? Or any changes in the rootfs for that matter?

AlphaWolf
07-31-2010, 05:20 AM
And for the diehard command-liners:

btw those should be conv=notrunc

psxboy
07-31-2010, 12:01 PM
btw those should be conv=notrunc

Lol! Clearly I never actually use that method. I've fixed my post. Thanks for the heads-up.

-psxboy

psxboy
07-31-2010, 12:45 PM
Given that part of this release includes usb keyboard support, are there any kernel changes to be aware of? Or any changes in the rootfs for that matter?

Dunno about the kernel but the only glaring changes to the rootfs are the predictable additional modules:

/lib/modules/evdev.o
/lib/modules/hid.o
/lib/modules/input.o

There's also an additional Stage C system startup script fragment and associated binary (/platform/sbin/tztovixs) to address some VIXS FREEZE bug. *shrug*

-psxboy

Vesper
07-31-2010, 08:32 PM
After applying the 3 CCI patches & no pause ads to 11.0h, my Tivo is no longer booting. After firing up MFSLive to check it out, both Tivoapp & my backup of Tivoapp are missing. Any ideas what could have happened?

ScanMan
07-31-2010, 09:46 PM
After applying the 3 CCI patches & no pause ads to 11.0h, my Tivo is no longer booting. After firing up MFSLive to check it out, both Tivoapp & my backup of Tivoapp are missing. Any ideas what could have happened?Off the top of my head are you sure you installed a compromised kernel (either custom or replace_initrd) in the right place? Sounds like the stock kernel didn't like the checksums of your altered/additional files and deleted them as part of the security scan. Hopefully you saved a virgin tivoapp offline and can just restore that.

Vesper
07-31-2010, 10:07 PM
Off the top of my head are you sure you installed a compromised kernel (either custom or replace_initrd) in the right place? Sounds like the stock kernel didn't like the checksums of your altered/additional files and deleted them as part of the security scan. Hopefully you saved a virgin tivoapp offline and can just restore that.
Crap you're right. I forgot to do the kernel update on 11.0h. I'll copy a virgin tivoapp off my other Tivo that updated.

Heinrich
08-01-2010, 11:11 AM
Can I tell if I have 11.0h waiting to install? It seems to me that I remember a line under "System Information" that would indicate an upgrade was grabbed and poised for install. Or do you guys just turn off the upgrade=false and then start forcing calls until it's received?

ScanMan
08-01-2010, 12:42 PM
Can I tell if I have 11.0h waiting to install? It seems to me that I remember a line under "System Information" that would indicate an upgrade was grabbed and poised for install. Or do you guys just turn off the upgrade=false and then start forcing calls until it's received?The first clue is the call status is "Pending restart" or you could type this at the command line:
echo mls /SwSystem | tivosh
or browse MFS via TivoWebPlus to /SwSystem

macrho
08-01-2010, 05:10 PM
Applied on 2 TiVo HDs and no issues whatsoever
Thanks!

Vesper
08-01-2010, 06:08 PM
ScanMan- thanks for pointing me in the right direction. Both Tivo's are back to hacked status. Apparently I shouldn't do hacks when I'm tired - can't believe I forgot to rehack the kernel.

macrho
08-02-2010, 06:46 AM
ScanMan- thanks for pointing me in the right direction. Both Tivo's are back to hacked status. Apparently I shouldn't do hacks when I'm tired - can't believe I forgot to rehack the kernel.

Don't feel badly, I did that on 11g

AlphaWolf
08-06-2010, 03:43 AM
0x00868184 "0d2939A5 00000000" //nopromos

This patch appears to cause my tivoapp to hang for a minute at the end of watching a recording.

ddoyle
08-06-2010, 09:19 AM
0x00868184 "0d2939A5 00000000" //nopromos

This patch appears to cause my tivoapp to hang for a minute at the end of watching a recording.

It does the same thing on mine.

djl
08-07-2010, 12:46 AM
Yep, me too on this


It does the same thing on mine.

Heinrich
08-07-2010, 04:38 PM
I skipped nopromo based on you guys feedback. Think the patch is a bit off or something else is up?

tivo4mevo
08-07-2010, 08:39 PM
Perhaps recent software versions with more advertisements (like those that appear with the "Delete This Recording?" screen) cause this patch to now have undesirable consequences.

djl
08-10-2010, 09:21 AM
Another patch question: is it definitely 'nopromos' that kills the Video on demand screen? I backed it out, rebooted and forced a call but still get an error when I try to load it.

**** Edit: fixed, please ignore. Yet another ID-10t error

leeclarke
08-28-2010, 02:38 PM
I need some help, please. I've rehacked my TivoHD and have telnet and ftp access. But when I run tvapppatch.tvl I get the following out of space error at the end. DF says 98% of capacity is used on /dev/hda4 but I don't know what to delete to free up space. Tia, LC


We will be patching the running tivoapp.
When done, the patched file will be /tvbin/tivoapp, and
the running tivoapp will be renamed to /tvbin/tivoapp.foo.
(it can't be deleted while running)
Patching active TiVo Software version 11.0h-01-2-652
Looking for patches in ./tvapppatches.tcl...
patch_11.0h found!...OK

Make sure you've backed up your tivoapp!
Ready to patch (Y/N)? y

Make sure you've backed up your tivoapp!
Ready to patch (Y/N)?
Verifying patch locations...OK
Patching tivoapp...
Err: error copying "/tvbin/tivoapp" to "/tvbin/tivoapp.patch": no space left on
device
Abort: problem while patching...cleaning up.

djl
08-29-2010, 02:04 PM
You probably have multiple backup copies of tivoapp. I'd go to /tvbin and check, just save the original.



I need some help, please. I've rehacked my TivoHD and have telnet and ftp access. But when I run tvapppatch.tvl I get the following out of space error at the end. DF says 98% of capacity is used on /dev/hda4 but I don't know what to delete to free up space. Tia, LC


We will be patching the running tivoapp.
When done, the patched file will be /tvbin/tivoapp, and
the running tivoapp will be renamed to /tvbin/tivoapp.foo.
(it can't be deleted while running)
Patching active TiVo Software version 11.0h-01-2-652
Looking for patches in ./tvapppatches.tcl...
patch_11.0h found!...OK

Make sure you've backed up your tivoapp!
Ready to patch (Y/N)? y

Make sure you've backed up your tivoapp!
Ready to patch (Y/N)?
Verifying patch locations...OK
Patching tivoapp...
Err: error copying "/tvbin/tivoapp" to "/tvbin/tivoapp.patch": no space left on
device
Abort: problem while patching...cleaning up.

leeclarke
08-29-2010, 05:43 PM
Thanks for the reply. I've deleted the backup copy I created and tvapppatch.tcl did its work. In tvbin I had tivoapp and tivoapp.backup, which I created when I had the drive out of the Tivo. When I did the original hack, however, I did the same thing and did not run out of space. With 11.0h my active root is hda4, so that means the active root used to be hda7. If I understand all this correctly (and I may not; I'm a hacking hacker) there's a tvbin hanging off hda7. I just did: mount /dev/hda7 /chip (chip is an already existing directory). In that /tvbin I see 4 copies of tivoapp (I'm paranoid about backups). But DF in /hda7 shows 78% used, while /hda4 has 93% used. Are /hda4 and /hda7 different physical spaces on the hard-drive, as, say, 2 different directories in Windows? I don't understand why they would differ so drastically.