PDA

View Full Version : Tivo Premier capabilites versus Series 3

drmuzik
08-09-2010, 02:03 AM
Omikron, are you still working on the hack for the Series 4? I got my first Tivo the other day (Premier XL) due to the fact that it boasts you can stream recorded TV on any computer. Well, wouldn't you know it, Time Warner marks ALL their TV shows as copy protected (CCI Encryption, I think it's called) so I can't watch anything anywhere except on the Tivo itself. Do you know any way around this yet? This is a huge pain :D

drmuzik
08-09-2010, 09:13 AM
drmuzik: No offense intended but CCI problems (especially with Time Warner) and the lack of a work around for the TiVo Premiere are both common knowledge in the TiVo world. It might have been better if you had asked the day before you bought the unit!

No offense taken! I am a completely Tivo newbie. I read on their website that you could watch recorded TV from any computer and took them at their word.

I'm curious why you didn't get a TiVo HD?
I didn't know until now that an older model would be a better model =/ As I said, I'm a newbie. I guess my best two options at this point would be to either
1) Get a hacked Tivo HD and sell my Premier XL
or
2) Keep the Premier XL, ditch Time Warner, and get all my TV from Usenet.

psxboy
08-09-2010, 11:30 AM
No offense taken! I am a completely Tivo newbie. I read on their website that you could watch recorded TV from any computer and took them at their word.

I didn't know until now that an older model would be a better model =/ As I said, I'm a newbie. I guess my best two options at this point would be to either
1) Get a hacked Tivo HD and sell my Premier XL
or
2) Keep the Premier XL, ditch Time Warner, and get all my TV from Usenet.

Or:

3) Keep the Premier XL and buy a Slingbox.

;)

-psxboy

ciper
08-09-2010, 11:46 AM
Are you still within the period in which you can return the premier?

drmuzik
08-09-2010, 01:09 PM
Yes, I can return the Premier.