PDA

View Full Version : Desktop questions.



mikey
01-03-2011, 08:33 AM
Whats the latest model chip set that works with most of the various iso's that are around? :confused:
My old p3 box is dead and after hours of trying to re-hack a s1sa i found that many of the new motherboards with sata connections don't play nice with earlier iso's and tivopart is returning the error segmentation fault with the newest ubuntu.

Thanks,
Mikey

unitron
02-12-2011, 08:21 AM
Whats the latest model chip set that works with most of the various iso's that are around? :confused:
My old p3 box is dead and after hours of trying to re-hack a s1sa i found that many of the new motherboards with sata connections don't play nice with earlier iso's and tivopart is returning the error segmentation fault with the newest ubuntu.

Thanks,
Mikey

You aren't trying to use a Gigabyte motheboard, are you?

mikey
02-13-2011, 11:30 AM
Nope. It's an older emachine I was given. I finally just bought an old p3 on ebay and all is well.

unitron
02-13-2011, 07:35 PM
You know you've gotten in too deep when you find yourself buying computers just for your TiVo. : - )

mikey
02-14-2011, 08:42 AM
yep. 23 and change for the pc $25.00 shipping. But it's a p3 at 1ghz. Wow.

unitron
02-14-2011, 10:26 AM
yep. 23 and change for the pc $25.00 shipping. But it's a p3 at 1ghz. Wow.

Shipping?

So the Craigslist in your area sucks as much what's available-wise as the one in my area, huh?

mikey
02-14-2011, 11:58 AM
25 miles one way.