PDA

View Full Version : Problem Recording Porn



Sammy
02-15-2002, 12:55 AM
Hello...

I am hoping someone in this area has some ideas for me on this. I have read, asked for help, tried news groups etc...with no luck.

For some reason my Porn channels (594-598) do not act like a PPV. If I go to record an "upcoming" Movie... it does not give me the option to "purchase", only record. Then...when the time arrives to record, the Purchase option pops up. (This defeats the whole purpose of TIVO)
My PPV channels work fine, only these channels are doing this.
The purchase option does work if it a movie that is on "Now" but not for "upcoming" movies.

I am using a cloned sub.bin, (Platinum) no script, no emulation.
I have a Phillips 6000 with extreme installed. This was never a problem on my RCA receiver.
I even tried "Activation" on the card...no change. I assume that a wide open 3m on the card would do the trick...but it is not an option for me.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you...

BubbaJ
02-15-2002, 08:57 AM
I'd like someone to verify if this problem also exists in the same manner for Sports PPVs. And, Sammy needs to post SPECIFIC instructions on reproducing the error, including things like schedule recording X hours in advance...

Sammy
02-15-2002, 10:15 AM
Thank you Bubba,

It can be an event that begins in 5 minutes or the next day, does not matter, as long as it has not started already.
If it IS already showing (it started already) then it offers me the usual "Press Select for purchase info" (and record). I can then record with no problems.

I hope this is clear. Again, my PPV's work fine.

Sammy
02-15-2002, 04:50 PM
Just for shits and giggles I put an active bin on an "H" card (with zkt patch), no scripts.
I rebootd my Phillips and found that I still have the same problem...no change.

Not sure if this helps or not but I thought I would throw it out there.


Sammy

Meathead
02-16-2002, 04:15 PM
I haven't heard of anyone else having this problem. I still don't know what you could try, other than reloading Xtreme. I will help you with this, if you'd like.

Meathead

digitalAir
02-17-2002, 07:01 PM
I just conducted an experiment on my 2.0 box.

Channel 594 acted like a PPV channel. (i.e. when selecting to record a program, the system went to the "retrieving PPV information" screen)

Channel 597, on the other hand, did not. I waited for the program to start, and got this:
"Press SELECT for ordering information"
pressed select and was presented with the following options
"buy, don't record"
"continue recording"
"cancel recording"

selecting "continue recording", returned me to the "Press SEECT..." screen.
selecting "buy, don't record", turned on the video and it reports that it is recording when I press the "record" button on the remote.

It appears to me that some of these channels are treated differently than standard PPV channels...

(I haven't try this with a sporting event channel yet...)

sac99
02-19-2002, 05:29 PM
I have an ARWL that has recorded ESPN Full Court games without any problems.

I've also had ch 597 be recorded as a suggestion.

Sammy
02-19-2002, 06:13 PM
Obviously your channels are all wide open. I would be curious to see what would happen if one of you simply tried to "Activate" your card.

Maybe someone could "test" this??

hwhx0r
02-23-2002, 06:25 PM
I'm having the same problem with both my TiVos. I have a DSR6000 using 25Xtreme and a Hughes using Tivolator. I've tried different HU cards with different subs on them. It will buy when the show is starting, but won't work for scheduled recordings.

Sammy
03-01-2002, 07:05 PM
Thank you hwhx0r,
Have you found out any info on why this is happening?


Sammy

superzap
03-02-2002, 11:13 AM
Have you guys tried _Formula's script?
http://dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=10115

hwhx0r
03-04-2002, 06:54 AM
That script would likely make it worse. I can currently buy & record PPV channels. That script was written to remove the PPV flags from the PPV channels. If I were to run the script, I would lose the ability to buy PPV -- It would make the PPV channels behave like 594,596-598 currently does.

tivosohn
09-15-2003, 02:04 AM
I am recently seeing this problem also. Anyone know what's going on? My HDVR2 sees these channels as non-ppv channels, but I still could purchase the channels manually using the select. If I use the recording future shows, it doesn't have the purchase and record option. All I got was record this show and when it start recording, it will record nothing but that select to purchase message. Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks.

captain_video
09-15-2003, 07:23 PM
I've never had any problem recording a show in the 594-598 range using an Hu card. The thing is, the program guide start and end times don't always resemble reality so using the guide to schedule recordings is sometimes an exercise in futility. You can, however, go to the websites below for an accurate schedule and then set up your recordings manually.

http://www.playboy.com/playboytv/index.htmx

http://tvclub.spicetv.com/

The 2nd link should get you schedules for all of the channels other than PlayboyTV. FWIW, I just went to the guide and set up a recording for an upcoming show (no pun intended) and had no problems setting it up.

BubbleLamp
09-15-2003, 08:01 PM
Originally posted by captain_video
I've never had any problem recording a show in the 594-598 range using an Hu card. The thing is, the program guide start and end times don't always resemble reality so using the guide to schedule recordings is sometimes an exercise in futility.


Not that I'd know, but this problem has gone away. The schedules are now correct. ;)

captain_video
09-15-2003, 09:25 PM
Yeah, I did notice that the schedule on the web page and the guide seemed to coincide for a change. I rarely use the guide or the web pages anyway. I usually surf through the 590's every so often to see if the kids are still at it. After a couple of minutes it's just same old same old so I mosey on to something else.

a489
09-19-2003, 12:17 PM
Originally posted by tivosohn
I am recently seeing this problem also. Anyone know what's going on? My HDVR2 sees these channels as non-ppv ...

tivosohn,

I have the same problem with HDVR2 also. I think it has something to do with the fact that I ran noppv many months ago. I have since removed noppv and cleared the program guide and To Do list. Again this was months ago so the ppv flags should have reset.

Any one know if noppv modifies other files that might be causing this problem?

I have no problem scheduling advanced recording of the ppvs in the 100's but 594-598 future programs will not give me the "buy" option. It works if I buy it via the website but I would like to take the extra step out.

Any help from anyone would be greatly appreciated...

BTW..I did search for hours on this topic and there are other threads in the past but no resolutions.

Orpheus
01-11-2004, 02:28 PM
tivosohn,

I have the same problem with HDVR2 also. I think it has something to do with the fact that I ran noppv many months ago. I have since removed noppv and cleared the program guide and To Do list. Again this was months ago so the ppv flags should have reset.

Any one know if noppv modifies other files that might be causing this problem?

I have no problem scheduling advanced recording of the ppvs in the 100's but 594-598 future programs will not give me the "buy" option. It works if I buy it via the website but I would like to take the extra step out.

Any help from anyone would be greatly appreciated...

BTW..I did search for hours on this topic and there are other threads in the past but no resolutions.


Same problem here.
When trying to record a future showing (596-598) I don't get the purchasing screens. (Sub'd card) It behaves like you're running a 3M and then when the show starts, it records a black screen.
Has anyone sorted this out yet?

O

mrbillpsu00
02-03-2004, 06:36 PM
Same problem here.
When trying to record a future showing (596-598) I don't get the purchasing screens. (Sub'd card) It behaves like you're running a 3M and then when the show starts, it records a black screen.
Has anyone sorted this out yet?

O

I have the same problem - but am not using illegal card methods as listed above. I'm with a legit subscribed P4 card, no hacks....

Very odd.

Meathead
02-03-2004, 07:34 PM
Are you sure you aren't running noppv? If you are, that's what happens.

mrbillpsu00
02-03-2004, 08:01 PM
Are you sure you aren't running noppv? If you are, that's what happens.

I was reading that noppv might solve this problem.

What exactly does no ppv do?

Meathead
02-03-2004, 08:46 PM
If you are running it, it can cause this problem. Run ps x at bash and see if it is running, If it is kill it. You will still have to wait for the ppv flags to come on future shows before you will be able to record future ppv's.

Meat

mrbillpsu00
02-03-2004, 08:55 PM
If you are running it, it can cause this problem. Run ps x at bash and see if it is running, If it is kill it. You will still have to wait for the ppv flags to come on future shows before you will be able to record future ppv's.

Meat

Pardon my stupidity - but how do i kill it?

How long will it take to reset flags?

thx

captain_video
02-03-2004, 10:42 PM
Type in ps x at the bash prompt and look for the number that corresponds to the noppv script. If it's set up to run on a scheduled basis it should show up in the list. If it's there then type in kill XXX where XXX is the number that's listed next to the running app. If you ran it manually it will probably not show up in the list of apps currently running. To clear the noppv flags and reset everything you will probably have to do a Clear Program Data & To Do List. This will wipe the program guide data as well as your season passes and anything in the To Do list you may have scheduled for recording. It should, however, also set the PPV programs back to default since they'll be wiped from the drive and be downloaded from scratch. Make a backup of your season passes (i.e. write them down) before you perform this so you know what to set up again when the Tivo has finished wiping the data. It may take at least a day for enough guide data to accumulate before you can re-establish some season passes.