PDA

View Full Version : tivomad errors while runnig 2.5extreme boot disk on dsr6k upgrade

dtvtivouser
02-19-2002, 12:16 AM
i cracked open my virgin 2.xx dsr6k to upgrade the unit to a 40 gb (original quantum) + 80 gb maxtor .. using 2.5 extreme, i encountered the following errors when running the tivomad portion of the boot disk

(FYI - the maxtor was surfaced scanned, unlocked, and acoustic mgmt applied, pc recognizes both drives as 40+80 respectively)

here is the logging info while running tivomad from the 2.5 extreme disk:

inactive kernel partition /dev/hdc3
inactive root partition /dev/hdc4

0+54 records in
64+0 records out

/maddb4/setupcd.sh: line 186
229 Broken pipe cat /maddtb4/v2 root.gz
230 | gzip -dc
231 terminated | dd of=$Inactiveroot bs=1024k

failed to create root partition
exit code was 143

as a matter of note - i am not a linux expert so the only tools i have to work with are the 2.5 disk, dylan's boot disk and the hinsdale cd

any help would be appreciated as i have no clue what happened during the tivomad portion ..

dizman
02-19-2002, 04:21 PM
add more memory, I ran into the same type of errors and increased the memory on the machine to 128 Mg and the errors went away.

netnovice
02-23-2002, 01:29 AM
Here' what worked for me:

Put the 80GB drive as the master and the 40GB as the slave. Run 25xtreme.

Don't forget to answer "no" to the question: "is your tivo drive over 140GB."

Good Luck!

Taquita
03-15-2002, 03:28 AM
Hey there dtvtivouser,

Did you ever solve this problem? What was the fix. I've been getting this exact same problem for the past several hours. I've reconfigured as much as I can imagine, and still not having success.

I'd appreciate an update if you could add one.

Thanks,
Taq

dtvtivouser
03-28-2002, 09:14 PM
Originally posted by Taquita
Hey there dtvtivouser,