Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 66

Thread: I'm interested in making a 1 CD backup of your tivo!

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    1

    Sony TiVo A Backup?

    The second drive in my TiVo just died last night. I actually made a backup (only 1.2 gigs), but of course that drive died a few weeks earlier, and I hadn't burned it to disc yet.

    Does anyone have a virgin Sony TiVo A drive backup they could make available for download?

    Thanks!

    -- Joe

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    netherlands/europe
    Posts
    208

    Exclamation ftp ready

    Anyone that plans on helping jangell:
    [i]this is spamming: here the ftp again[/]

    up to ftp://xxx.xxx@xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx Expired long time ago, sorry
    please make a little tekst file that contains all inf on the drive and restore procedure.

    Last edited by Lure; 12-14-2003 at 07:02 AM.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    28

    Rebuilding TiVo Drives

    Aram1s,
    Check out what JPags did at AVS .
    That seems to be exactly what you want to do...
    The original HOW-TO on how to do this with a SA is here.

    Lets see if we can get this to work...
    First off, does anyone have fsmake on their TiVo?
    -GhostInTheMachine

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    34
    OK - I have the basic stuff (except MFS) done now. I have bzipped and image partitions and boot sector and tar/bz'd the root partitions. /var should not need to be kept at all as it will be recreated at boot time as needed. Here is how it compresses:

    -rw-rw-r-- 1 root root 368 May 11 06:27 01 - bootsector.img.bz2
    -rw-rw-r-- 1 root root 48 May 11 06:27 02 - bootstrap 1.img.bz2
    -rw-rw-r-- 1 root root 299823 May 11 06:27 03 - kernel 1.img.bz2
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 3078195 Jul 7 22:17 04-root.tar.bz2
    -rw-rw-r-- 1 root root 48 May 11 06:28 05 - bootstrap 2.img.bz2
    -rw-rw-r-- 1 root root 299667 May 11 06:28 06 - kernel 2.img.bz2
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 3297289 Jul 7 22:18 07-root2.tar.bz2
    Total space used so far: 6,975,488

    That leaves me with 647 meg available for the data from MFS. Looks good so far. Now I just have to do the hard part!

    A

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    netherlands/europe
    Posts
    208

    19 waiting

    Ah, since we started this thread I have been waiting for somebody to offer a backup of a v1.3. Anyone that got one? I'd really like to down that and put it on my ftp. uptill now I only have this 2.02 virgin backup...
    come on guys lets get this ftp of the ground. i'm sure some dead tivo's can be brought to live this was and also some of us can hack the damn thing easier-)




  6. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    1
    I cant download.

    I have a philips 30 hour & a philips 14 hour

    Can I use that image for my Tivo (not direct satilite thingy)

    There is no permission for it on the server.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bergen County, NJ.
    Posts
    701
    Hmm, My backup is too big however, I have 30 hour 1.3 backup which is 2 and a half cd.
    I'll up it tonight, then you can shrink it..
    - Vadim
    Administrator

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    19

    Any Sony Backups?

    Any Sony Backups available?

    I was scared to open up my Sony 30 hour because it was an open box buy ($129). I'd really like to have a small backup and not have to waste a 30 gig drive on a backup.

    Anybody done that?

    Snedecor

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Springfield, USA
    Posts
    4

    Re: waiting

    Originally posted by Lure
    Ah, since we started this thread I have been waiting for somebody to offer a backup of a v1.3. Anyone that got one? I'd really like to down that and put it on my ftp. uptill now I only have this 2.02 virgin backup...
    come on guys lets get this ftp of the ground. i'm sure some dead tivo's can be brought to live this was and also some of us can hack the damn thing easier-)



    I've got a pristine 1.3 Sony SA complete with /devbin and all the diag tools. What's it worth?

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bergen County, NJ.
    Posts
    701

    Re: ftp ready

    Sorry can't upload, can't make dir or even download winrar... hmm weird..

    Originally posted by Lure
    Anyone that plans on helping jangell:
    [i]this is spamming: here the ftp again[/]

    up to ftp://tivo:tivo@213.10.105.132
    please make a little tekst file that contains all inf on the drive and restore procedure.

    - Vadim
    Administrator

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    netherlands/europe
    Posts
    208

    Angry GRRRRR

    Sorry, Someone seems to be funny, the directory UPLOAD was deleted!!!!!

    It's back again, so please upload those beauty full backups of yours. . Don't forget to add a little tekst file with how to restore and who takes credit for this upload.

    use ftp://tivo:tivo@213.10.105.132/upload to upload

    If you need to download: ask tivolure@hotmail.com for a temporary account.

    note that the the max upload speed wil be 120Kb, downloading will be a lot slower at the moment but I'm working on that.


    thx for all reactions.
    Legaly and moraly you're only granted to download your own backups.......
    Last edited by Lure; 07-09-2001 at 02:51 AM.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    netherlands/europe
    Posts
    208

    trouble restoring backup?

    In the text file of the backup from the hdr112...I made a mistake. Do not use diskpro: read the 2.15 and 2.17 sections of tivo.samba.org
    http://tivo.samba.org/index.cgi?req=all#2.15
    http://tivo.samba.org/index.cgi?req=all#2.17

    sorry (to the downloaders)

    btw, the downloading is getting out of hand and the uploading stays behind-)
    Anyone that could supply a fast ftp...please mail tivolure@hotmail.com

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    12

    i can host a site

    how many backups have we accumulated? and how big are they approxmiately?

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    38
    CMIIW,

    doesn't tivo store it's serial number in two places, one of them in hard drive? If that's the case, tivo or other can check who's sharing tivo backup. Best thing is to find out where they store serial number and remove it before sharing tivo backup with others.

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    netherlands/europe
    Posts
    208

    Exclamation pm

    ircbob look at your private messages.

    serialnumbers? as far as I know there are hidden in an eprom. correct me if I'm wrong.

    btw you bought a tivo, have rights to make a backup. It does't matter who it made. Tivo upgrades if they like...can't we downgrade or restore if we want. look at the threads about the mistakes that where made in the last upgrade. They admitted those, are gonna correct this but not before september 2001.

    You wanna wait for that?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •