Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: my time is wrong

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2

    Angry my time is wrong

    My time is wrong on my SA TiVo
    I havent subscribed for services
    but I di plug it in with my sat. hooked up and let it call out I put my time zone in (central) and zip code nut im off by like 7hrs is there anyway to fix this problem?(thanks)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    813
    You can check out this thread. It may help you depending on your SW version & when you canceled you sub. Without a sub the time on the SA gets pretty far off, pretty fast.

    http://dealdatabase.com/forum/showth...threadid=10220

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    26

    Post

    To get the clock sync I changed the IP addresses in dbload25 to the IP of a PC on my LAN. On that PC I installed Timeserver ( <http://www.haytech.com.au/TimeServer/timeserver.htm> ). Timeserver runs in the background and keeps updated by pinging a real time sever on the Internet.

    HTH

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    58
    Hammer32, I tried running that timeserver, and ran the /bin/ntpdate -b $myipaddr and it keeps returning
    2 May 05:31:13 ntpdate[592]: no server suitable for synchronization found

    I see that the server is returning a date, because I turned on debug and tail the log file, but it just isn't working for me. Is there any special setting you had to do to get it to work?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    58
    Nevermind, apparently if your time server does not trust it's own clock, the client will not do the update. So after I forced a few updates on my time server it worked fine.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    26
    Cool, I'm glad you got it working, I had to play around with it for a while too.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    142

    Question Tivo Timeserver

    How about using a sub'd TIVO for a time server? Is there a compiled timeserver for it somewhere? Any takers? Seems like a slam dunk to use tivo as the master timeclock for your home.

    Thankx all!
    Jmayes.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •