Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 23 of 23

Thread: Future PPV -> RESET EVERYTIME

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    26

    groovy

    Im glad Im not the only one with this problem... actually after my second reboot I cant get back watching TV... argh krypto aint given me no lovens...
    Well, back at it.....

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    65
    i can manually execute /hack/noppv.html but if i try to run it via the cron using this crontab entry:

    */15 * * * * /tvbin/tivosh /hack/noppv.tcl -5 >> /var/hack/noppv.out

    i get these errors in the noppv.out logfile:

    bash-2.02# cat noppv.out
    <166>Sep 13 02:15:00 tcl[958]: Tcl created pool of 1458176 bytes

    noppv tcl script:
    Removes PPV flag from existing shows in the Tivo database.

    <134>Sep 13 02:15:01 AttachSharedMemoryFile[958]: Can't open key file /var/tmp/pseudo for attach, errno 2

    I saw a message with someone else having this same problem

    I tried modifying the crontab to execute the shell from the crontab and i removed the shell declaration from thenoppv.tcl script but that didnt help either

    someone has claimed that that /car/tmp/pseudo doesnt exist.

    I have an xtremed T-60 with the 1.9.4beta tivoweb.

    so hopefully someone has seen this and knows what to do

    Thanks,
    OC

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    49

    Kraven's Update to xtreme 2.5

    Why not just use that.... it includes No PPV and sets it to run every night when Tivo is "supposed" to do it's nightly call. I find that this works fine for me. One thing though is the NO PPV flag is set to -6 for which I had to change to -5 for EST.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    65
    doesnt work at all for me....i did xtreme and kravens update a long time ago, before I noticed the reboots. From what i understand a lot of ppl have to run it every 15-20 mins or so. and are doing so by cron. i have cron doing its thing but i still dont think its doing it right because of the messages.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    457
    The CRON problem is because of environment variables not being set. Search for 'pixie' for the fix on that. There are 2 variables that need to be set in the crontab file.

    Running no ppv once a day helps, but the PPVs slip back into PPV mode slowly. noppv needs to be run more often than once a day. My cron entry looks like:

    05 * * * * /hack/noppv.tcl -7 >> /var/hack/noppv.out

    This runs it at 5 minutes after each hour.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    65
    hey i see all your posts on that. i followed what you said you did, (somewhat; I dont have a /etc/profile directory in my tivo)

    i did this from the /etc directory:
    export > env_vars

    the file now has these permissions:
    -rwxrwxrwx 1 0 0 1074 Sep 16 16:44 env_vars


    and the file looks like this:
    bash-2.02# cat env_vars
    declare -x COLUMNS="80"
    declare -x DEBUG_BOARD="false"
    declare -x DYNAMIC_NET_DEV="net0"
    declare -x EMERGENCY_REINSTALL="0"
    declare -x HDA_ID="D40xxxxx"
    declare -x HDB_ID="Unknown"
    declare -x HOME="/hack/root"
    declare -x HOSTNAME="(none)"
    declare -x HOSTTYPE="i686"
    declare -x IrdSerialNumber="533xxxxx"
    declare -x LD_LIBRARY_PATH="/hack/lib/:"
    declare -x LINES="25"
    declare -x MACHTYPE="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
    declare -x MFS_DEVICE="/dev/hda10"
    declare -x OSTYPE="linux-gnu"
    declare -x PATH="/tivo-bin/:/bin:/sbin:/tvbin:/devbin:/hack/bin/:/var/hack:/tivoweb-tcl"
    declare -x PROMVERSION="

    TiVoProm Monitor, release version 2.05 (ntsc)
    "
    declare -x PWD="/etc"
    declare -x SHELL="/bin/sh"
    declare -x SHLVL="3"
    declare -x SerialNumber="0110000xxxxxxxx"
    declare -x TERM="xterm"
    declare -x TERMCAP="/etc/termcap"
    declare -x TIVO_REMOTE="TIVO"
    declare -x TIVO_ROOT=""
    declare -x TIVO_SVR_ADDR="192.168.50.1:80"
    declare -x TV_STD="NTSC"
    declare -x chmem="0x8060xxxx"
    declare -x prom="r"
    declare -x root="/dev/hda4"
    declare -x runideturbo="false"
    declare -x varpartition="/dev/hda9"
    bash-2.02#

    I edited the crobntab to have this entry:
    bash-2.02# cat /var/hack/etc/crontab
    # /etc/crontab: system-wide crontab
    # Unlike any other crontab you don't have to run the `crontab'
    # command to install the new version when you edit this file.

    # for TiVo: This file doesn't use a user field like system-wide crontabs
    # normally do. Everything runs at uid 0 (not that it matters for TiVo).

    SHELL=/bin/sh
    PATH=/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/var/hack/bin

    # m h dom mon dow command
    */15 * * * * ./etc/env_vars ; /hack/noppv.tcl > /var/hack/noppv.out 2>&1

    bash-2.02#


    now the noppv.out still has the pseudo file error along with some other stuff:
    bash-2.02# cat /var/hack/noppv.out
    <166>Sep 16 19:45:00 tcl[1829]: Tcl created pool of 1458176 bytes
    WARNING: couldn't scan startup script /tvlib/tcl/tv/tv.ini
    WARNING: eval result : can't read "env(TIVO_ROOT)": no such element in array
    noppv tcl script:
    Removes PPV flag from existing shows in the Tivo database.

    <134>Sep 16 19:45:01 AttachSharedMemoryFile[1829]: Can't open key file /var/tmp/pseudo for attach, errno 2

    unable to initialize filesystem
    while executing
    "dbopen"
    (file "/hack/noppv.tcl" line 111)
    bash-2.02#

    is my problem the /etc/profile thing?

    Thanks,
    OC

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Out West
    Posts
    3,171
    I don't use cron, but this is what needs to be added to make it work:

    Code:
    SHELL=/bin/sh
    PATH=/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/var/hack/bin
    MFS_DEVICE=/dev/hda10
    TIVO_ROOT=""

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    65
    cool yep i just found that and did it. it looks like its working.

    wierd...used to when i ran it manually it would always fix hundreds of shows each time, even if i ran it manually within 2 mins in between

    no everytime it does it via cron or if i do it manually it always says fixed 0 showings......so ill let it be and wont worry until it starts rebooting again.

    thanks guys for all the help


    -OC

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •