Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Is my Tivo Toasted?.....

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Lost in The Corn
    Posts
    586

    Is my Tivo Toasted?.....

    or am I doing something wrong:

    It's a Philips model tivo.
    It came into my posesion with no hard drives, but was supposed to be OK otherwise.
    So I started with the basics:
    - I got a version 3.0 image for the model (a 112)
    - applied the image to the hard drive with mfs tools
    - placed the hard drive in the tivo and powered it up.

    The fan spins and I can hear and feel the hard drive spin up.
    I have all the input and outputs hooked up proprely, but I get just a blank screen.

    I have tested all the connection to the mainboard, power supply, and hard drive and all appear to be set.

    Could I have done something wrong with the image? Perhaps I should try a previous version of the software? Should I get some sort of display if the hard drive is imaged improperly or not even installed?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Out West
    Posts
    3,171
    It came into my posesion with no hard drives, but was supposed to be OK otherwise.
    So I started with the basics:
    That should have been your first clue something was wrong with it. People just don't sell a Tivo without drives for no reason.

    Anyway, I think you should at least see the initial splash screen, even if the drive image is hosed.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Lost in The Corn
    Posts
    586
    Yeah the posting on ebay was misleading, but I didn't pay much for it, so I don't feel that bad.

    I figured you should see the splash screen no matter what (even with no drives plugged in at all, but I wasn't sure....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,242
    Try pulling the cmos battery. Let it sit for 5 minutes then try and boot with out the battery. If it boots shut it down and reinsert the battery. This cured a dead DTiVo.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    here, there, everywhere
    Posts
    190
    i whacked my rc.sysinit file once, and had the same results you are getting. (Nothing on the screen at boot.) Test out that image if you can, or mount the thing in a PC, and use a boot disk to see what the image produced.


    Just my 2 cents.
    -lloyd-

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    426
    try loading it with 1.3 version of the software. tivo will be more than happy to let you upgrade as part of your monthly subscription if you can get it to work. Without knowing what version it is set to there MAY be a limit to how far you can jump. Try letting it load with no OS mods first.

    But from your post I am not sure if you are getting the powering up screen. Hook a monitor to one of the composit out ports. Those get video befor the RF out port. If the unit is hanging on a software issue you should get video on composit, but may not see it on the RF. If you never get the BIOS poserup screen on composit, and you cannot get the BIOS prompt on the serial port, there is likely a serious problem.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Lost in The Corn
    Posts
    586
    There very first time I imaged the hard drive I tried 3.0 with the bash line entered into sysinit. When that didn't work I tried just a 3.0 image with not modificatins at all. In both instances the tivo seemed to just hang when powered up. It had no output on the screen other than a blank black screen (which is different than when it is turned off.)
    Next I tried a 2.5 image and got a slightly different result. Still no output to the screen (other than just a black screen,) but I could see the receive light on the front would blink off every 10 seconds or so (I believe the tivo was in a reboot loop.)

    I would try 1.3 software, but I have not been able to find an image on ftp.abs.net. Anybody know of a place I can get that from?

    I talked with the previous owner of this and he mentioned something about having to force NTSC format on the tivo with a line in sysinit. Anybody heard of this or know the line?

    Also incase this makes any difference. The drive is a 40 gig Maxtor hard drive. I currently have it jumpered as master and is connected to the end of a 2 device ide cable (just like it would be in any standard pc.) A tivo doesn't do this differently does it?

    Thanx again to all who've been helping me with this one...
    Last edited by zabs; 09-22-2002 at 02:08 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    426
    Try the 30 gb model '312' 1.3 image. If you get it to work you can expand the image to fill the last 10gb. You still have not answered what port you are monitoring for a video signal. IT MAKES A LOT OF DIFFERENCE. Without that info I cannot help further.

    Do not MODIFY ANYTHING in the image till you prove you can get the machine to boot.

    You should not be trying to get a BASH prompt on the serial port at this staqge, you should be trying to get a B IOS prompt, which requires no modification to the harddisk, or even for a harddisk to be installed. It will give you a menu and allow allow you to check your harddisk status among other things.

    If this all sound like Greek, then I can only assume that you have not read the origional FAQ, and suggest you start there.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Lost in The Corn
    Posts
    586
    Will try the 312 image for the 1.3 software.
    I have not been modifying anything on the images since my very first attempt when I was a bit gung ho about it.
    I have been hooking the tv up to one of the composite outs (RCA cables) the entire time. I have not tried using the RF out (coax cable)

    The bit about the bios IS greek to me. I can understand your tone for a newbie who appears that he hasn't read squat about his tivo.....which for the standalone type is quite true. The forum for stand alones is not very well organized (unlike the Dtivo one which has the stickies with the howto's etc......ahh crap I'm whining) I have searched the SA forurm for howto before and not gotten anything useful back. Perhaps I will try again and look for faq or bios. Or if you could point me to a nice SA faq that would be excellent.

    Thank you.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Lost in The Corn
    Posts
    586
    Found the faq: http://www.tivofaq.com/hack/faq.html

    Thought I had read everything pertinent off there before...guess not. I had not paid much attention to things for 2.0 software and lower as the earliest image I could get was 2.01 (which no longer needed boot parms edited and could no longer access this diagnostic mode from what I understand.)

    Looks like I got some more reading to do. I'll try the 312 image of the 1.3 software and take a look at the diagnotic screen to see what I can get.

    Thanx again doc.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Lost in The Corn
    Posts
    586
    Hey I got the diagnostic mode up (it worked even without a drive in.) Here is a session log from my tivo with the drive connected (incase that matters:

    Verify password: *******
    Console switched to DSS port

    ------- System Info --------
    Processor speed = 50 MHz
    Bus speed = 25 MHz
    Amount of DRAM = 16 MBytes
    Video configuration 3, Serial number 2
    Enet MAC address= 0:0:0:0:0:0
    Hostname =
    Auto disk locking disabled
    ----------------------------
    IDE err = 0x4
    IDE drive 0 doesn't challenge security.. Assume insecure device
    IDE drive 1 challanges with 0x0
    Respond with 0x6f566954
    Check keys a few more times
    Respond with 0x6f566954
    Respond with 0x6f566954
    Respond with 0x6f566954
    Drive should be unlocked now.

    --- Device Configuration ---
    Power-On Test Devices:
    000 Enabled System Memory [RAM]
    ----------------------------
    Boot Sources:
    002 Enabled EIDE disk Controller [EIDE]
    gateway: 0.0.0.0
    ----------------------------
    B - Boot from disk
    N - Network (tftp) boot
    X - print extended menu
    ->x
    B - Boot from disk
    N - Network (tftp) boot
    U - Update flash from tftp flash image
    T - Teleworld menu
    V - Print TiVo Prom Version
    W - Word Write
    R - Word Read
    P - Change Boot Parameters
    M - Configure Memory
    C - Configure Video
    E - Configure Ethernet
    K - Set backdoor password
    k - Verify backdoor password
    z - Change Serial Number
    Z - Run memory tests
    1 - Enable/disable tests
    2 - Enable/disable boot devices
    3 - Change IP/MAC addresses
    4 - Ping test
    5 - Toggle auto disk locking
    6 - Toggle automatic menu
    7 - Display configuration
    8 - Save changes to configuration
    9 - Unlock TiVo Secure Disk
    0 - Exit menu and continue
    ->v


    TiVoProm Monitor version 1.84b
    B - Boot from disk
    N - Network (tftp) boot
    U - Update flash from tftp flash image
    T - Teleworld menu
    V - Print TiVo Prom Version
    W - Word Write
    R - Word Read
    P - Change Boot Parameters
    M - Configure Memory
    C - Configure Video
    E - Configure Ethernet
    K - Set backdoor password
    k - Verify backdoor password
    z - Change Serial Number
    Z - Run memory tests
    1 - Enable/disable tests
    2 - Enable/disable boot devices
    3 - Change IP/MAC addresses
    4 - Ping test
    5 - Toggle auto disk locking
    6 - Toggle automatic menu
    7 - Display configuration
    8 - Save changes to configuration
    9 - Unlock TiVo Secure Disk
    0 - Exit menu and continue
    ->c
    Current configuration: 3
    1 - P0
    2 - P0.5(7112)
    3 - P0.5(7114)
    4 - P1
    0 - Return to main menu
    ->0
    B - Boot from disk
    N - Network (tftp) boot
    U - Update flash from tftp flash image
    T - Teleworld menu
    V - Print TiVo Prom Version
    W - Word Write
    R - Word Read
    P - Change Boot Parameters
    M - Configure Memory
    C - Configure Video
    E - Configure Ethernet
    K - Set backdoor password
    k - Verify backdoor password
    z - Change Serial Number
    Z - Run memory tests
    1 - Enable/disable tests
    2 - Enable/disable boot devices
    3 - Change IP/MAC addresses
    4 - Ping test
    5 - Toggle auto disk locking
    6 - Toggle automatic menu
    7 - Display configuration
    8 - Save changes to configuration
    9 - Unlock TiVo Secure Disk
    0 - Exit menu and continue
    ->7

    --- Device Configuration ---
    Power-On Test Devices:
    000 Enabled System Memory [RAM]
    ----------------------------
    Boot Sources:
    002 Enabled EIDE disk Controller [EIDE]
    gateway: 0.0.0.0
    ----------------------------
    B - Boot from disk
    N - Network (tftp) boot
    U - Update flash from tftp flash image
    T - Teleworld menu
    V - Print TiVo Prom Version
    W - Word Write
    R - Word Read
    P - Change Boot Parameters
    M - Configure Memory
    C - Configure Video
    E - Configure Ethernet
    K - Set backdoor password
    k - Verify backdoor password
    z - Change Serial Number
    Z - Run memory tests
    1 - Enable/disable tests
    2 - Enable/disable boot devices
    3 - Change IP/MAC addresses
    4 - Ping test
    5 - Toggle auto disk locking
    6 - Toggle automatic menu
    7 - Display configuration
    8 - Save changes to configuration
    9 - Unlock TiVo Secure Disk
    0 - Exit menu and continue
    ->b
    Loading boot image from partition 3
    2072
    Loaded successfully ...
    Entry point at 0x80010000 ...
    IDEprom: jump to boot_entry (0x80010000)
    Boot jump to 0x80010000, params=root=/dev/hda4

    This is where the tivo begins its reboot loop. About every 10 seconds the power will kick off for just a second and then comeback on. Still no splash screen etc. Just a blank black screen.

    I thought perhaps I could play with the video config:
    ->c
    Current configuration: 3
    1 - P0
    2 - P0.5(7112)
    3 - P0.5(7114)
    4 - P1
    0 - Return to main menu
    ->0

    Any thoughts regarding this? Is 3 correct?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    426
    Well it is seeing the drive at least.
    It you are connecting to the RCA/S-vid and see no splash screen, then there is likely a hardware issue.

    If you are waiting for a splashscreen on the RF connection and not seeing it, it only means that the software is not loading, as the bios splashscreen is not sent to the RF video. (The system does not know what RF tuner package is installed till the software loads.)

    On a 2.5 system I am running TiVoProm Monitor version 1.84b, which is the same version you appear to be running. So you should be good to at least 2.5. I will try to dig out a 3.0 unit to check.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    426
    I did check one thing.

    The entire time you are in BIOS you should see the tivo splash screen on the RCA video out port, it will not be on the RF out.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Lost in The Corn
    Posts
    586
    Thanks for all the testing you have done on a working tivo. While in the bios I don't have anything on the screen while using the composite out. Must be a hardware thing.....bummer.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    426
    ->b
    Loading boot image from partition 6
    2145
    Loaded successfully ...
    Entry point at 0x80010000 ...
    IDEprom: jump to boot_entry (0x80010000)
    Boot jump to 0x80010000, params= root=/dev/hda7

    You may also want to verify that you are booting from the correct partion for the image you are using, The off line image will not boot. Your system appears to be booting from /dev/hda4, you could try changing it /dev/hda7

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •