Thread: T-60 HD continually running... ?

Question T-60 HD continually running... ?

i just finally got xtreme installed, and powered up the tivo, it did all the updates, i watched tv on it for about 5 or 6 hours and everything seems ok. i turned the receiver off but the hard drive continues to run even with the power to the receiver off. i'm new to tivo, is this normal? i went back to it 3 hours after i cut if off and the hard drive was still running, so i unplugged it. is it suppose to run all the time??

thanks

burnett

There has been some debate as to this as of recently. From what I can see is that the hard drives NEVER spin down in either of my tivos when they enter standby. (this is no big deal, spinning does not generally kill a drive alone.)

Also from my expirience, though I have yet to test it again:
    Putting the tivo in standby will NOT stop the 30 min buffering of live TV, which does put unnecessary strain on the hard drives over time (in my opinion.) The only thing I have found to counter act this is to turn both tuners to a channel I don't receive (ie 1000 and 1001 etc.) This does stop the crunching noises and I assume stops the writting of the drives.

My best advice: get an UPS for your tivo. Power loss and power surges will kill its wimpy power supply long before most drives fail. If you have to get new drives at any time, get ones with 3yr warranties....yer gonna need it. Tivo is rough on drives in general.
    Try to keep heat down in the tivo. Run with the cover off if you can stand the site and sound of bare electronics and hard drives crunching away. This will also prevent premature HD melt down.
    -zabs
    ========================
    DSR6000 67 hours (80gig WD drive) Xtreme'd / Kravened / w/Turbonet
    Sat-T60 35 hours (40gig Quantum drive) Xtreme'd / Kravened