Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: No .bashrc Telnet... ok w/Serial

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    20

    No .bashrc Telnet... ok w/Serial

    When I connect to my 3.1 Kraven TiVo via serial all of the variables set in the /etc/root/.bashrc work just fine.

    However, over a Telnet connection NOTHING is set. No aliases, nothing. What is going on here?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    342
    copy your .bashrc to .profile then remove the stty commands from your new .profile file.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    588
    DOH!!!

    I didn't have a turbonet in my test box and no one else said anything about it. I'll add that one to my patch module I'm gonna make to fix my screwups.

    =]
    Information wants to be free....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    39
    could that also cause problems with cron. It seems to run the date command fine, but everytime it runs a script it reboots. If not here is what my crontab looks like. Maybe it's just me.

    SHELL=/bin/sh
    PATH=/sbin:/bin

    # m h dom mon dow command
    1 * * * * /tvbin/TivoTitle.tcl -c >> /var/cron/cron.test.out
    31 * * * * /tvbin/noppv.tcl -5 >> /var/cron/cron.test.out
    0 3 * * * /tvbin/fixsub31.tcl >> /var/cron/cron.test.out
    0 4 * * * /tvbin/sc.tcl >> /var/cron/cron.test.out


    like I said when I just had date in there it ran fine.

    in cron.test.out is shows that that the script starts, but the system reboots and the script obviously doesn't get anywhere near finishing.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    342
    crontab is VERY touchy about spacing between commands

    I have a blank line between each command in mine, and two blank lines at the end of the file.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    39
    Cron is causing reboots for me also. The spacing on the lines was checked as advised. The date command runs fine but noppv.tcl causes reboot.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    39
    Added this after the "PATH" statement to crontab from the old cron (Vixie Cron 3.0pl1 for TiVo):

    # The following environment variables are needed for many tcl
    # scripts to run. Thanks to AlphaWolf for troubleshooting this.

    MFS_DEVICE=/dev/hda10
    TIVO_ROOT=""

    noppv.tcl runs fine now.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    588
    Good catch guys, I will add that to the module.
    Information wants to be free....

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    39
    homer did you use declare -x MFS_DEVICE=/dev/hda10
    or did just MFS_DEVICE=/dev/hda10 work?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    39
    Never mind. It was the declare stuff that was screwing me up as well. Not quite sure why I was under the impression that it needed to be in there.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •