Page 58 of 99 FirstFirst ... 848565758596068 ... LastLast
Results 856 to 870 of 1476

Thread: Mfs_Ftp: extract, archive, restore & transfer recordings

  1. #856
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    72
    I am using the Linksys USB 200m - seems to be a pretty popular one for the tivo.

    Bob

  2. #857
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    18
    Oddly enough, it worked for me last night for the first time in volume. I transfered two very large HD files (5G and 3G) without incident. Not a peep. I did it using Tyserver, which has had the same exact problem for me as MFS_FTP in the past. I am having trouble figuring out what exactly I did to fix this and have some weird theories. I am going to try to recreate the problem and fix tonight and see if I can't offer something up. BTW, I am also using the 200M.

  3. #858
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    18
    OK, I have a fix that is too odd to even explain. On a whim, I plugged a Netgear WG111T 802.11 USB device into the other USB port, while keeping my Linksys wired ethernet plugged in. The wireless device does not actually associate with my access point; it is just sitting there, sucking power.... I have had only 1 lockup in about 10 transfers with this arrangement; I lock up every time otherwise. This makes NO sense but the pattern is very clear.

    I tried plugging other USB devices into the port to see whether the problem was somehow electronic, but other devices didn't help. Only the wireless USB.

    Truth is odder than fiction....

  4. #859
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by rc3105
    start from bash "/var/mfs_ftp/mfs_ftp.tcl" or load from a startup script
    I am a complete and utter linux novice, and may be completely wrong, but should the command to run from bash be "/var/mfs_ftp/mfs_ftp.tcl &" ?

  5. #860
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    77
    Quote Originally Posted by jarob10
    I am a complete and utter linux novice, and may be completely wrong, but should the command to run from bash be "/var/mfs_ftp/mfs_ftp.tcl &" ?
    The & at the end tells the shell to run the command in the background. Under normal circumstances, you would be correct. MFS_FTP does that automatically, so you don't need the &.

    tk

  6. #861
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    10

    MFS-FTP and TivoFTPD

    Hello,

    Sorry if this a noob question, but I admit that I am a noob here.... I searched around a bit and never found this question answered exactly. Be kind.

    I am about to install a cachecard into my 2-drive SA (upgraded myself over a year ago). So, I am new to the network components.

    It appears to me that both TivoFTPD and MFS-FTP are FTP servers that run on the Tivo. I have seen that some people run both. How are they different? Can you not run TivoFTPD and run MFS-FTP in its place? Is one a superset of the other or do they have different capabilities--making you run both?

    I want to be able to install modules for Tivoweb+, extract video and email it to my friend to play on his tivo (cachecard, etc), and stream programs to PCs on my home network is possible.

    How would you do it if you were starting from scratch?

    TIA!

    Bob

  7. #862
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Lindenhurst, IL
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by rseery
    It appears to me that both TivoFTPD and MFS-FTP are FTP servers that run on the Tivo. I have seen that some people run both. How are they different?

    How would you do it if you were starting from scratch?

    TIVOFTPD is a standard FTP daemon. It is used to transfer files to and from the Linux file systems on your Tivo. MFSFTP is part of a set of tools to extract video from the MFS (Media File System). You'll need to run both (MFSFTP uses a differnt port so there's no conflict).

    I can't really give you a howto but you'll want to start by making a backup of your drive using MFSTOOLS and then start hacking from there. My only other suggestion is READ, READ, READ (especially the stickies). It will probably take you days to cull through some of these threads but the more you read, the more you'll understand which is one of the points of these forums. You may want to start here.

    Whatever you do, steer clear of the Sleeper ISO and TivoScripts. They'll install old crap on your Tivo and you'll spend half your time trying to figure out what works and what doesn't.
    Bryan

  8. #863
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    15

    Can't Start MFS_FTP

    I get the following error when I try to run MFS_FTP:

    tivo:/var/mfs_ftp$ ./mfs_ftp.tcl
    Filesystem assert: hDeviceM >= 0 at fsphysdisk.C line 151 in FsPhysDisk::FsPhysDisk(FsInitParams*, const char*)
    Tmk Assertion Failure: hDeviceM >= 0
    FsPhysDisk::FsPhysDisk(FsInitParams*, const char*), line 151 (fsphysdisk.C)
    Tmk Fatal Error: Thread tivosh <198> died due to signal -2
    ceeba0 cffd64 d03f64 cd7e48 cd86bc bdbb00 bcfaa8 bc6ec4 c27948 bfec28 c498b0 c4d0dc bc5120 400778 d7e9a0

    My DTivo is a DSR708, software version 3.1.1e that has been hack using the killhdinitrd method, from this thread:
    http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/sh...ad.php?t=38468
    I'm using a Netgear FA120 USB adaptor.
    I can connect into the tivo using telnet and ws_ftp so I know the USB works.

    my rc.sysinit.author has the following:
    #Environment Variables
    export PATH=$PATH:/tivo-bin:/hack:/hack/scripts:.
    export TIVO_ROOT=""
    export MFS_DEVICE=/DEV/hda10
    export IGNOREEOF=1000
    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:/lib/modules
    export PATH TIVO_ROOT MFS_DEVICE IGNOREEOF

    I tried this with an image copy of my original HD (both 80g), and then clearing the unit with "Clear program data & todo list" with the same results. I have tried reading and searching here w/o luck.

    Can anyone please point me in the right direction.

    Thanks,
    Joe.

  9. #864
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    15

    Can't Start MFS_FTP Continued

    Oh I forgot I did add the s2bins.

    Joe.

  10. #865
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    707
    Anybody get this running on 6.2? Does "just" disabled the even notifications will make the insertions work? Anybody has a mfs_ftp.tcl already modified they can share (or any information)?

    Thanks

  11. #866
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    707
    Well, it seems to run in 6.2 if you comment the "event" commands (like suggested). I havent' seen any major problems, but I've only inserted a couple of streams from another TiVo with 6.2 also.

    Will keep using it and see how it goes.

    But the question is... what am I missing by commenting all the "event" lines?

  12. #867
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    7

    Command not implemented error

    I am having some issues extracting filed with mfs_ftp.

    I have noticed the following entry in the port3105 log:

    03:21:49:AM - 502 Command not implemented "SIZE /ty/{Terminator 2 Judgment Day}{1970-01-01}{}{10.00 PM Thu Mar 24, 2005}{SCIEU}.ty"

    My system is a UK spec series 1, runnning the LBA48 kernel, latest cachecard drivers with wired connection.

    Any help/comments appreciated.

  13. #868
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    3

    I never get a download to complete

    Anyone get this error? I have a S1 v3. (Mfs_Ftp ver 1.2.9p)
    I never get a download to complete.

    **log***
    12:19:22:AM - 220 Mfs_Ftp ver 1.2.9p - {sock18} from "192.168.0.151:33029"
    12:19:22:AM - 331 User name okay, need password.
    12:19:22:AM - 230 Running in TiVo Mode.
    12:19:22:AM - 215 UNIX
    12:19:22:AM - 257 "/" is current directory.
    12:19:22:AM - 200 Type set to I
    12:19:22:AM - 227 Entering Passive Mode (192,168,0,152,12,32).
    12:19:22:AM - 502 Command not implemented "SIZE /"
    12:19:22:AM - 502 Command not implemented "MDTM /"[/COLOR]12:19:22:AM - 550 error, can't find ""
    12:19:22:AM - 227 Entering Passive Mode (192,168,0,152,12,32).
    12:19:22:AM - 250 Directory change successful.
    12:19:22:AM - 150 Opening ASCII mode data connection for file list.
    12:19:22:AM - 226 Transfer complete.

    Thanks
    slate

  14. #869
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    3

    I never complete a downLoad.

    Anyone get this error? I never complete a downLoad.
    I have a S1 v3.
    Mfs_Ftp ver 1.2.9p

    ***LOG****
    12:19:22:AM - 220 Mfs_Ftp ver 1.2.9p - {sock18} from "192.168.0.151:33029"
    12:19:22:AM - 331 User name okay, need password.
    12:19:22:AM - 230 Running in TiVo Mode.
    12:19:22:AM - 215 UNIX
    12:19:22:AM - 257 "/" is current directory.
    12:19:22:AM - 200 Type set to I
    12:19:22:AM - 227 Entering Passive Mode (192,168,0,152,12,32).
    12:19:22:AM - 502 Command not implemented "SIZE /"
    12:19:22:AM - 502 Command not implemented "MDTM /"
    12:19:22:AM - 550 error, can't find ""
    12:19:22:AM - 227 Entering Passive Mode (192,168,0,152,12,32).
    12:19:22:AM - 250 Directory change successful.
    12:19:22:AM - 150 Opening ASCII mode data connection for file list.
    12:19:22:AM - 226 Transfer complete.

  15. #870
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    4

    Problems with tzoffset.tcl

    Using TiVo Software 7.1a-2-2-240 on an SAS2.

    1. tzoffset.tcl returns an error:
    Code:
    invalid attribute: DaylightSavingsPolicy
        while executing
    "dbobj $lconfig get DaylightSavingsPolicy"
        invoked from within
    "if {$::version3} {
                    set lconfig  [db $db open /State/LocationConfig]
                    set setup [db $db open /State/ServiceConfig]
                    if { [string range $tivoswversi..."
    Rest of error snipped.

    Simple enough to fix - Changed DaylightSavingsPolicy to UseDaylightSavings.


    2. After the above tweak, tzoffset.tcl is returning a strange value:

    # <tzoffset>-77760000</tzoffset>
    set info(tzoffset) -77760000

    This was an oddity - but, I think it was probably happening on 4.0.1b as well (since the times were always skewed by a large amount, but I never really looked into why). The script is expecting a timezone offset in hours different from GMT. The value actually in the object dump is already in seconds.

    Code:
    LocationConfig 3237/10 {
      AutoDetect     = 3
      IndexPath      = /State/LocationConfig
      PostalCode     = 58701
      TimeZoneOffset = -21600
      UseDaylightSavings = 1
      Version        = 11
    }
    Didn't look into fixing this. Just corrected the value in tzoffset.txt that's generated when .tcl is run. As i understood it, if the file exists, it'll be used instead of running the tcl.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •