Page 79 of 99 FirstFirst ... 2969777879808189 ... LastLast
Results 1,171 to 1,185 of 1476

Thread: Mfs_Ftp: extract, archive, restore & transfer recordings

  1. #1171
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    997
    Quote Originally Posted by pp9pp9pp@hotmai View Post
    So, I recopied the files there... and now I can NOT run mfs_ftp.tcl either patched or original.
    I would follow these instructions, especially posts #2 and #4; best summation I've seen.
    ScanMan --> Just another Tivo hacker...
    Killhdinitrd SA S2 Monte S2 Unscramble Upgrade Tivo Software

  2. #1172
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    131

    Now load now old Video back on it.

    I removed my old 30 and 100GB hard drive's from my TiVo S1 and put a 320GB in it. Started form a good image.

    For 2 days I was wanting to restore the old videos to the new hard drive. I have the 30 and 100GB in a Series 1 I got off ebay a long time ago with no hard drives.

    In the end I found out I can just use windows Explorer and type ftp://IP:3105 in the address bar. Then go to the .tmf folder and use them videos that will retore with all the info. in them. I can't ftp to ftp but can ftp to a windows folder then ftp them to the new 320GB. I can just drag and drop the video.tmf files then.

    It's to bad after reading and reading no one came right out and says .tmf files will restore on TiVo with all the info. still in them. Or I just did not come to a point were I read it.

    I just wanted to post this so others don't have to go about 2 days just wanted to restore there video files back to a new loaded TiVo.
    Raymond J Day

  3. #1173
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    71
    I have 2 hacked DTivo Series 2 Phillips DSR704 units...

    I am trying to FXP movies from one unit to another..

    But I get the following errors in SmartFTP and FlashFXP

    [04:09:23] 200 PORT command successful.
    [04:09:23] STOR {Law & Order}{2002-01-09}{The Collar}{12.00 AM Tue Feb 01, 2005}{TNT}.tmf
    [04:09:23] 150 Opening BINARY mode data connection for "{{Law & Order}{2002-01-09}{The Collar}{12.00 AM Tue Feb 01, 2005}{TNT}.tmf}"
    [04:09:28] Server closed connection
    [04:09:28] Transfer failed.

    MFS_FTP is loaded on each unit and I can download movies to my PC...

    I can also transfer movies from one unit to another using the TIVO controls..

    But would really like to be able to just FXP the files...

    Any help is appreciated..

    Thanks

    Dave

  4. #1174
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    131

    Server closed connection

    It my be that you have 2 mfs_ftp going at one time on the same TiVo. Or something else the TiVo is doing and does not want to do mfs_ftp wile it's doing that. Reboot it and only do one mfs_ftp see if that works then.
    Raymond J Day

  5. #1175
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    4,085
    Quote Originally Posted by BenRaines View Post
    I have 2 hacked DTivo Series 2 Phillips DSR704 units...

    I am trying to FXP movies from one unit to another..

    ...
    FXP uses passive mode, and mfs_ftp has a little bug in its passive mode handling. Try the attached patch (posted earlier in another thread).

    This patch should be applied after the rollup patch (mfs_ftp.20070121.patch.tar.gz) found here.

    If you have trouble applying these patches, be sure you are starting with a virgin unmodified mfs_ftp.tcl, and try the patch program here. The busy box version in AlphaWolf's all-in-one package seems to be broken.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Jamie; 02-21-2007 at 03:45 PM.

  6. #1176
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    71
    Jamie,

    Thanks so much for your reply...

    Now, I am trying to figure out how to implement the patch...

    I did some searching and someone mentioned typing patch --help

    so i did..

    And it tried the following

    bash-2.02# patch -i mfs_ftp-20070207-pasv-fix.patch -o mfs_ftp.tcl
    patching file mfs_ftp.tcl
    Hunk #1 FAILED at 14.
    Hunk #2 FAILED at 171.
    Hunk #3 FAILED at 436.
    Hunk #4 FAILED at 457.
    Hunk #5 FAILED at 468.
    Hunk #6 FAILED at 478.
    Hunk #7 FAILED at 502.
    Hunk #8 FAILED at 628.
    Hunk #9 FAILED at 639.
    Hunk #10 FAILED at 652.
    Hunk #11 FAILED at 669.
    Hunk #12 FAILED at 685.
    Hunk #13 FAILED at 1092.
    Hunk #14 FAILED at 1113.
    Hunk #15 FAILED at 1123.
    Hunk #16 FAILED at 1545.
    16 out of 16 hunks FAILED -- saving rejects to file mfs_ftp.tcl.rej
    bash-2.02#

    So I will continue to try and find the answer...

    Thanks

    Ben

    This just gave me some

    Quote Originally Posted by Jamie View Post
    FXP uses passive mode, and mfs_ftp has a little bug in its passive mode handling. Try the attached patch (posted earlier in another thread that has since mysteriously disappeared).

    This patch should be applied after the rollup patch (mfs_ftp.20070121.patch.tar.gz) found here.

    If you have trouble applying these patches, be sure you are starting with a virgin unmodified mfs_ftp.tcl, and try the patch program here. The busy box version in AlphaWolf's all-in-one package seems to be broken.

  7. #1177
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    4,085
    Quote Originally Posted by BenRaines View Post
    Jamie,

    Thanks so much for your reply...

    Now, I am trying to figure out how to implement the patch...
    Did you follow my instructions?
    1. Use AhoyMatey's build of the patch program (link in my previous post).
    2. Start with a "virgin" original mfs_ftp.tcl version 1.29p
    3. Apply the 20070121 patch:
      Code:
      cd mfs_ftp
      patch < mfs_ftp.20070121.patch
    4. Apply the 20070207 patch:
      Code:
      patch < mfs_ftp-20070207-pasv-fix.patch

    The patches must be applied in the correct order, and you must start with an original 1.29p mfs_ftp.tcl

  8. #1178
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Mt Pleasant, SC
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Jamie View Post
    Did you follow my instructions?
    1. Use AhoyMatey's build of the patch program (link in my previous post).
    2. Start with a "virgin" original mfs_ftp.tcl version 1.29p
    3. Apply the 20070121 patch:
      Code:
      cd mfs_ftp
      patch < mfs_ftp.20070121.patch
    4. Apply the 20070207 patch:
      Code:
      patch < mfs_ftp-20070207-pasv-fix.patch

    The patches must be applied in the correct order, and you must start with an original 1.29p mfs_ftp.tcl
    Thank you Jamie, I cleaned out my /var/mfs_ftp folder and started over with a clean install of mfs_ftp and installed the patches in order with the "fixed" patch and I am now moving all the shows I saved on my other series 2 before slicing 6.3b onto my HR10-250 over to the HR10-250 w/6.3b. I checked and 2 shows are already there.

  9. #1179
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3

    Same

    Quote Originally Posted by BenRaines View Post
    Jamie,

    Thanks so much for your reply...

    Now, I am trying to figure out how to implement the patch...

    I did some searching and someone mentioned typing patch --help

    so i did..

    And it tried the following

    bash-2.02# patch -i mfs_ftp-20070207-pasv-fix.patch -o mfs_ftp.tcl
    patching file mfs_ftp.tcl
    Hunk #1 FAILED at 14.
    Hunk #2 FAILED at 171.
    Hunk #3 FAILED at 436.
    Hunk #4 FAILED at 457.
    Hunk #5 FAILED at 468.
    Hunk #6 FAILED at 478.
    Hunk #7 FAILED at 502.
    Hunk #8 FAILED at 628.
    Hunk #9 FAILED at 639.
    Hunk #10 FAILED at 652.
    Hunk #11 FAILED at 669.
    Hunk #12 FAILED at 685.
    Hunk #13 FAILED at 1092.
    Hunk #14 FAILED at 1113.
    Hunk #15 FAILED at 1123.
    Hunk #16 FAILED at 1545.
    16 out of 16 hunks FAILED -- saving rejects to file mfs_ftp.tcl.rej
    bash-2.02#

    So I will continue to try and find the answer...

    Thanks

    Ben

    This just gave me some
    I have precisely the same problem. I'm using the newer version of patch. I'm patching a virgin copy of mfs_ftp -- freshly extracted from the download. Even checked the version number in notepad++ to make sure it was right. The rollup patch goes in without incident, but I get precisely the same output when trying to apply the pasv patch.

    I have no idea why this would be, but I have tried everything I can think of. Any ideas?


    UPDATE: I reviewed the mfs_ftp.tcl file in joe after running the rollup patch, and it looks like the patch, added per the instructions a few posts up, added ^M carriage returns after each line. Is there a switch I should be running with patch to avoid this?
    I'm trying this on an HR10-250.
    Last edited by Inter Alia; 02-21-2007 at 10:14 PM.

  10. #1180
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Mt Pleasant, SC
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Inter Alia View Post
    I have precisely the same problem. I'm using the newer version of patch. I'm patching a virgin copy of mfs_ftp -- freshly extracted from the download. Even checked the version number in notepad++ to make sure it was right. The rollup patch goes in without incident, but I get precisely the same output when trying to apply the pasv patch.

    I have no idea why this would be, but I have tried everything I can think of. Any ideas?


    UPDATE: I reviewed the mfs_ftp.tcl file in joe after running the rollup patch, and it looks like the patch, added per the instructions a few posts up, added ^M carriage returns after each line. Is there a switch I should be running with patch to avoid this?
    I'm trying this on an HR10-250.
    Check here >> http://dealdatabase.com/forum/showth...5EM#post188444

  11. #1181
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    10
    I'm trying to get my PC (windows XP Pro) setup to import ty files into my Series 1 tivo using mfs_ftp. I've downloaded and installed (what I believe is) the latest version of mfs_ftp (1.2.9p) and I'm not having any luck FTPing into port 3105 from my PC.

    I tried FTPing from a mac (since it's command line FTP client will allow me to set a port number) and I can connect and get directory listings with no problem.

    I haven't been able to find a PC ftp client that isn't a gui that will let me set the port to connect to. I've tried setting up ws_ftp, filezilla, and smart_FTP. They all seem to connect, get the welcome message, then report that they were disconnected. Here is what I see when I try to connect with filezilla

    Code:
    Status:	Connecting to 192.168.1.83:3105 ...
    Status:	Connected with 192.168.1.83:3105. Waiting for welcome message...
    Response:	220 Mfs_Ftp ver 1.2.9p - {sock22} from "192.168.1.82:1923"
    Command:	USER anonymous
    Error:	Disconnected from server
    Error:	Unable to connect!
    and the port.3105.log file shows

    Code:
    catch close lastsock val "can't read "info(lastsock)": no such element in array"
    07:59:28:PM - 220 Mfs_Ftp ver 1.2.9p - {sock22} from "192.168.1.82:1923"
    07:59:28:PM - 502 Command not implemented ""
    I've searched the forums and while I was able to find someone mentioning the "can't read info(lastsock)" message, I didn't see any responses to that.

    I suspected it might be a firewall issue so I disabled my firewall and I still am unable to connect.

    Any idea what I might be doing wrong?

  12. #1182
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    10

    35

    I've figured out how to use the built in FTP in windows XP to connect to port 3105. The results were the same... I connect, get the welcome message, then get disconnected

    I'm leaning strongly towards it being a windows port-blocking problem but I confirmed I can ftp files to my tivo using the non-mfs_ftp connection on the default ftp port...

  13. #1183
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Narnia
    Posts
    1,266
    I believe mfs_ftp relies on a seperate control port. Unless you set your FTP service up for 'passive' connection.

    You'll also want Jamie's recent PASV patches for mfs_ftp for it to work reliabily.

  14. #1184
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    10
    ok... any idea where I can get patch for a series 1? I have patchchk but I don't think thats the same thing... I see a link on this page to the S2 version...
    Last edited by am2006; 02-23-2007 at 01:07 PM.

  15. #1185
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by am2006 View Post
    ok... any idea where I can get patch for a series 1? I have patchchk but I don't think thats the same thing... I see a link on this page to the S2 version...
    I have the same question - I need "patch" for an S1 machine.

    Thank you
    Bryan

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •