Page 94 of 99 FirstFirst ... 44849293949596 ... LastLast
Results 1,396 to 1,410 of 1477

Thread: Mfs_Ftp: extract, archive, restore & transfer recordings

  1. #1396
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5
    I'm getting the following error during tmf insertions on my HDVR2 running 6.2a:
    Code:
    bgerror invoked with error 
     
     " syntax error in expression "žټ3P}=" "
    I couldn't find this expression in mfs_ftp.tcl. I tried passive and non-passive, and a few different ftp clients. Also tried downloading a fresh copy of mfs_ftp. Full level 5 log is attached. Any ideas?
    Last edited by paris5; 02-01-2008 at 11:44 PM.

  2. #1397
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    28

    Trouble running mfs_ftp on hdvr2

    I followed the dvrpedia instructions for installing mfs_ftp. When I tried to load it, it didn't seem to work. The following came up on my telnet screen. I'd appreciate any thoughts you might have:


    set rec [db $db openid $fsid]
    <State Showing Part" { set info($fsid,$item) [ntrim [dbobj $rec g
    bash: syntax error near unexpected token `info($'
    bash-2.02# et $item]] }
    bash: et: command not found
    bash-2.02# fore..."
    > (procedure "rec_info_from_db" line 5)
    > invoked from within
    > "rec_info_from_db $fsid"
    > (procedure "update_rec_fsids" line 17)
    > invoked from within
    > "update_rec_fsids 1"
    > (procedure "init_procs" line 11)
    > invoked from within
    > "init_procs"
    > (file "/var/hack/mfs_ftp/mfs_ftp.tcl" line 1567)
    > bash-2.02# /var/hack/mfs_ftp/mfs_ftp.tcl
    <n expression "((0x - 4) / 256) + 1": looking for close
    bash: syntax error near unexpected token `"(('
    bash-2.02# parenthesis
    bash: parenthesis: command not found
    bash-2.02# while executing
    > "expr ((0x$charb - 4) / 256) + 1 "
    > (procedure "mfs_stream_size" line 8)
    > invoked from within
    > "mfs_stream_size $part"
    > ("foreach" body line 2)
    > invoked from within
    > "foreach part $info($fsid,parts) {
    <amsize $part } p_s ] } { set psize [mfs_stream_size $pa
    > rt] } else { set psize [expr [lindex..."
    > ("uplevel" body line 9)
    > invoked from within
    > "uplevel $body"
    > invoked from within
    > "transaction {uplevel $body}"
    > (procedure "RetryTransaction" line 5)
    > invoked from within
    > "RetryTransaction {
    > set rec [db $db openid $fsid]
    <wing Part" { set info($fsid,$item) [ntrim [dbobj $rec g
    > et $item]] }
    > fore..."
    > (procedure "rec_info_from_db" line 5)
    > invoked from within
    > "rec_info_from_db $fsid"
    > (procedure "update_rec_fsids" line 17)
    > invoked from within
    > "update_rec_fsids 1"
    > (procedure "init_procs" line 11)
    > invoked from within
    > "init_procs"
    > (file "/var/hack/mfs_ftp/mfs_ftp.tcl" line 1567
    bash-2.02# ./var/hack/mfs_ftp/mfs_ftp.tcl
    bash: ./var/hack/mfs_ftp/mfs_ftp.tcl: No such file or directory
    bash-2.02# /var/hack/mfs_ftp/mfs_ftp.tcl
    bash-2.02# syntax error in expression "((0x - 4) / 256) + 1": looking for close
    parenthesis
    while executing
    "expr ((0x$charb - 4) / 256) + 1 "
    (procedure "mfs_stream_size" line 8)
    invoked from within
    "mfs_stream_size $part"
    ("foreach" body line 2)
    invoked from within
    "foreach part $info($fsid,parts) {
    if { [catch { mfs streamsize $part } p_s ] } { set psize [mfs_stream_size $pa
    rt] } else { set psize [expr [lindex..."
    ("uplevel" body line 9)
    invoked from within
    "uplevel $body"
    invoked from within
    "transaction {uplevel $body}"
    (procedure "RetryTransaction" line 5)
    invoked from within
    "RetryTransaction {
    set rec [db $db openid $fsid]
    foreach item "State Showing Part" { set info($fsid,$item) [ntrim [dbobj $rec g
    et $item]] }
    fore..."
    (procedure "rec_info_from_db" line 5)
    invoked from within
    "rec_info_from_db $fsid"
    (procedure "update_rec_fsids" line 17)
    invoked from within
    "update_rec_fsids 1"
    (procedure "init_procs" line 11)
    invoked from within
    "init_procs"
    (file "/var/hack/mfs_ftp/mfs_ftp.tcl" line 1567)

  3. #1398
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    333
    At a quick glance:

    Did you open mfs_ftp.tcl and save it in a text processor?

    Obviously the "./" is wrong in this context as the run command but that looks to be corrected by the following line but still doesn't work, maybe because of the same problem.

  4. #1399
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by Roger Dylan View Post
    At a quick glance:

    Did you open mfs_ftp.tcl and save it in a text processor?

    Obviously the "./" is wrong in this context as the run command but that looks to be corrected by the following line but still doesn't work, maybe because of the same problem.
    I don't think I opened mfs_ftp.tcl and saved it in a text processor. Was I supposed to? When I try that line now, I get a message "/var/hack/mfs_ftp/mfs_ftp.tcl: No such file or directory"

    Also, as you might guess, I'm new to linux, so could you explain the "./" and whether or not I need it?

    Thanks!

    PS Should I start from scratch? How do I uninstall mfs_ftp and do this? The install directions seem pretty thorough and I tried to follow each step, but I'm wondering if I screwed up somewhere along the way.
    Last edited by rich47; 02-21-2008 at 12:07 AM.

  5. #1400
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Dougal County
    Posts
    1,007
    You probably transferred the files to your box using ASCII mode. Make sure your ftp client is set to binary transfer mode.

  6. #1401
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    44
    Darn ASCII mode...
    Last edited by bcm00re; 02-21-2008 at 01:27 AM.

  7. #1402
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by jt1134 View Post
    You probably transferred the files to your box using ASCII mode. Make sure your ftp client is set to binary transfer mode.
    Possibly. I switched to binary, but got the same results. Here's the message I got when I tried to start:

    bash-2.02# bash: ./var/hack/mfs_ftp/mfs_ftp.tcl: No such file or directory
    bash: bash:: command not found
    bash-2.02# bash-2.02# var/hack/mfs_ftp/mfs_ftp.tcl
    bash: bash-2.02#: command not found
    bash-2.02# bash: var/hack/mfs_ftp/mfs_ftp.tcl: No such file or directory
    bash: bash:: command not found
    bash-2.02# bash-2.02# /var/hack/mfs_ftp/mfs_ftp.tcl
    bash: bash-2.02#: command not found
    <n't execute "/var/hack/mfs_ftp/tzoffset.tcl": no such file or di
    > rectory
    > while executing
    > "exec $info(path)/tzoffset.tcl 2>/dev/null"
    > (procedure "get_tzoffset" line 10)
    > invoked from within
    > "get_tzoffset"
    > (procedure "init_procs" line 7)
    > invoked from within
    > "init_procs"
    <ftp/mfs_ftp.tcl" line 1567)bash-2.02# ./var/hack/mfs_ftp/mfs_ftp.tcl
    > bash: ./var/hack/mfs_ftp/mfs_ftp.tcl: No such file or directory
    > bash-2.02# var/hack/mfs_ftp/mfs_ftp.tcl
    > bash: var/hack/mfs_ftp/mfs_ftp.tcl: No such file or directory
    > bash-2.02# /var/hack/mfs_ftp/mfs_ftp.tcl
    <te "/var/hack/mfs_ftp/tzoffset.tcl": no such file or di
    bash: bash-2.02#: command not found
    bash-2.02# rectory
    bash: rectory: command not found
    bash-2.02# while executing
    > "exec $info(path)/tzoffset.tcl 2>/dev/null"
    > (procedure "get_tzoffset" line 10)
    > invoked from within
    > "get_tzoffset"
    > (procedure "init_procs" line 7)
    > invoked from within
    > "init_procs"
    > (file "/var/hack/mfs_ftp/mfs_ftp.tcl" line 1567)
    Last edited by rich47; 02-21-2008 at 03:06 AM.

  8. #1403
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Dougal County
    Posts
    1,007
    Quote Originally Posted by rich47 View Post
    Possibly. I switched to ASCII, but got the same results.
    I'm sure you did.
    Quote Originally Posted by jt1134
    Make sure your ftp client is set to binary transfer mode.
    A leading ./ would only be required if you were currently in your mfs_ftp dir.

  9. #1404
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by jt1134 View Post
    I'm sure you did.

    A leading ./ would only be required if you were currently in your mfs_ftp dir.
    Sorry, I meant, I switched to binary (not ASCII). Both ASCII and binary gave me the same results.

  10. #1405
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    333
    Quote Originally Posted by rich47 View Post
    Sorry, I meant, I switched to binary (not ASCII). Both ASCII and binary gave me the same results.
    I don't think the result is the same; your corruption of the mfs_ftp.tcl file may have been solved and so you are further along. The mfs_ftp.tcl file, or any .tcl file, must be handled either by text editor or file transfer program such that the line endings are not corrupted.

    It may be that the guide you followed does not instruct you how to have a corrected tzoffset.tcl file. Either double check that or, alternatively, create a "tzoffset.txt" file containing the single line "set info(tzoffset) -14400"

    You could simply create a null file with /touch <appropriate prefix> tzoffset.txt but it's just as easy to do it right.

    Do a search to find the appropriate value for your time zone. It would be a good idea to get hold of a text editor that does or can be set to do Unix line endings because you most certainly will have occasion to edit mfs_ftp.tcl to tweak your setup and without the proper line endings mfs_ftp.tcl will corrupt again.

    Startup without the "./" assuming you are not issuing the command while in the mfs_ftp subdirectory. Make sure your prefix is appropriate, e.g. if mfs_ftp.tcl is in (from the root) var/hack/mfs_ftp your startup is /var/hack/mfs_ftp/mfs_ftp.tcl

  11. #1406
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    28
    Is there any easy way to start over with this? Can I just remove the mfs_ftp folder?

    Also, can you recommend a text editor?

    Thanks.

  12. #1407
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by Roger Dylan View Post
    I don't think the result is the same; your corruption of the mfs_ftp.tcl file may have been solved and so you are further along. The mfs_ftp.tcl file, or any .tcl file, must be handled either by text editor or file transfer program such that the line endings are not corrupted.

    It may be that the guide you followed does not instruct you how to have a corrected tzoffset.tcl file. Either double check that or, alternatively, create a "tzoffset.txt" file containing the single line "set info(tzoffset) -14400"

    You could simply create a null file with /touch <appropriate prefix> tzoffset.txt but it's just as easy to do it right.

    Do a search to find the appropriate value for your time zone. It would be a good idea to get hold of a text editor that does or can be set to do Unix line endings because you most certainly will have occasion to edit mfs_ftp.tcl to tweak your setup and without the proper line endings mfs_ftp.tcl will corrupt again.

    Startup without the "./" assuming you are not issuing the command while in the mfs_ftp subdirectory. Make sure your prefix is appropriate, e.g. if mfs_ftp.tcl is in (from the root) var/hack/mfs_ftp your startup is /var/hack/mfs_ftp/mfs_ftp.tcl
    Actually, now I get a message saying there's no such file or directory. I've tried with and withouth the "./", but that doesn't seem to help.

  13. #1408
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    4,075
    Quote Originally Posted by rich47 View Post
    Actually, now I get a message saying there's no such file or directory. I've tried with and withouth the "./", but that doesn't seem to help.
    This is usually a sign that your "pound bang" line at the start of the file is messed up, or you have windows line endings on the file. See this.

  14. #1409
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    28

    How to extract tmf files and reinsert on same tivo later

    I have mfs_ftp running on a hdvr2 with 6.3e. I want to move the recordings to my pc, get a new hard drive and instantcake the box back to 6.2a, then move the recordings back from my pc to the newly-6.2a'd box (the same box that they came from). It's my understanding that there are a few things I need to do to make this happen so that I can still view the programs after I put them back on the tivo. Could someone please walk me through this process? If you could be extra detailed, I'd appreciate it. I've been able to get this far but definitely need some help to move to the next step. Thank you!
    Last edited by rich47; 03-04-2008 at 06:03 PM.

  15. #1410
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    102

    Inserted shows start playing from the middle.

    I inserted a tmf file using mfs_ftp on my HR10-250 with 6.3e

    It is a 3 hour show inserted at 7:58PM CST (01:58 UTC)
    When I play the file it starts playing 1 hour and 58 minutes into the show.

    Another time I inserted a show at 6:21PM CST (00:21 UTC)
    When I played the file it started playing 21 minutes into the show.

    I have looked at many showing objects using tivoweb+ and it seems that if the "Time" value is less than the "Duration" value then the show will play from the middle.

    My attempt to search for this issue was unsuccessful.
    Before I reinvent the wheel, has this problem already been addressed?

    Red Dog.
    Last edited by Red_Dog; 03-07-2008 at 03:53 PM. Reason: more info

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •