Thread: Tytools Questions

Tytools Questions

I have a few Questions and have done a moderate amount of reading and setting up the Tivo. Being a newbie I managed to get the Tivo on my Network and am able to transfer files to my computer with no issues. I do have a few questions that I havent been able to pick up on my reading so far.

I recorded a short time frame from the Tivo in Unscramble mode and transfered it over with not issues. They Ty file was like 280 meg. I used tytools 6 to send it over to the pc created Key file edited Key file and combined the files to make a m2v file which I can play in Media Player (GREAT) the M2V file is 45 seconds long and about 80 meg with a key file of about 5 meg. My Questions are these

1. How do I shrink the m2v File to a better size (Ex one hour or 45 minutes under a couple hundred meg) I have attempted to use tmpgenc but I could not figure out how to get tmpgenc to import the key file or the m2v file. Im sure I could rename the files and do it but I have a feeling If I have to do this I am doing something wrong

2. I have recently also built a DVD burning station and storage place for the TIVO unit. (Duel AMD 2.6 200 Gigs HD and a 4x DVD burner with One Gig DDR). I havent figured out how to make the files into a DVD format.

I have read the stickys but some of the info is quite dated and shows MANY different ways on how to do it. (Once I learn one way maybe Ill try to learn the other ways)

Anyone?

have some patients, not everyone is on here 24/7.

Ok, if you have muxed the file in tytools then the m2v file is actually a MPG file. you can rename the file as such and import it into tmpgenc. I don't have any experience with tmpgenc since I don't use it. You could also do a google search for an mpg4 encoder which should cut a pretty good chunk of size out of that file and keep pretty good quality.