Page 6 of 26 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast
Results 76 to 90 of 390

Thread: PROM socketing

  1. #76
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New York City, NY, USA
    Posts
    296
    Quote Originally Posted by jasch
    But the prom cannot be reprogrammed yet for the R10 right ?
    That is false, the PROM can be reprogrammed for the R10, but it requires you to desolder it from the motherboard, reprogram it in a chip programmer and then solder it back to the motherboard.

  2. #77
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    110
    Quote Originally Posted by compwiz312
    In case people have not seen so in the For Sale section of this board, I am now offering a PROM modification service with three options:
    1. $40 - Simply reprogram PROM chip and solder it back onto the board (No socket)
    2. $50 - Reprogram the PROM chip and install a standard PLCC32 socket onto the TiVo motherboard
    3. $5 - purchase a preprogrammed hacked PROM chip, perfect for those who might have good soldering skills, but don't wish to pay $50 or more for a programmer


    Please PM or e-mail me if you are interested.

    Justin

    Anyone gone this route?

  3. #78
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    4,086
    Quote Originally Posted by hxmiller
    Anyone gone this route?
    Justin's doing 1) for me on a 540 SA S2.5. I should have the box back next week. Ask me then if it works ;-)

  4. #79
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    West of Bermuda
    Posts
    1,021
    jamie, just curious, why not option 2) for only $10 more?

    ronny

  5. #80
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    4,086
    Quote Originally Posted by ronnythunder
    jamie, just curious, why not option 2) for only $10 more?
    no particular reason. I'm assuming I'm unlikely to want to change the prom code again. Maybe that's foolish, but its a done deal now.

  6. #81
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    87
    Quote Originally Posted by compwiz312
    $5 - purchase a preprogrammed hacked PROM chip, perfect for those who might have good soldering skills, but don't wish to pay $50 or more for a programmer
    What series 2 DirecTivos is this prom good for? I have both HDVR2s and an SD-DVR40.

  7. #82
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New York City, NY, USA
    Posts
    296
    Quote Originally Posted by goony
    What series 2 DirecTivos is this prom good for? I have both HDVR2s and an SD-DVR40.
    A PROM mod is not needed for those model units, use killhdinitrd instead.

    A PROM modificiation/socket is only needed for the following models (IIRC):
    * Tivo Model # TCD540040
    * TiVo Model # TCD540080
    * TiVo Model # TCD540140
    * Humax T800
    * Humax DRT400
    * Humax DRT800
    * Humax DRT2500
    * Toshiba RS-TX20
    * Toshiba RS-TX60
    * DirecTV TiVo (Directivo) R10


    Justin
    Last edited by mrblack51; 06-06-2005 at 12:31 PM.

  8. #83
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    87
    Quote Originally Posted by compwiz312
    A PROM mod is not needed for those model units, use killhdinitrd instead.
    <snip>
    Thank you very much!

  9. #84
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New York City, NY, USA
    Posts
    296
    Unfortunetly I will not be offering my service until March for those interested as I will be traveling for three weeks next month for college music auditions. Sorry.

    Thanks,
    Justin

  10. #85
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    41
    Received your email, thanks. Received the unit on Friday, came DOA.


    Quote Originally Posted by compwiz312
    Unfortunetly I will not be offering my service until March for those interested as I will be traveling for three weeks next month for college music auditions. Sorry.

    Thanks,
    Justin
    Last edited by ride_red; 02-22-2005 at 03:17 PM.

  11. #86
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    2

    Red face Prom socketing question?

    I have an old Phillips HDR212 that I modified and it has served me well.

    I never found a need to subscribe to the Tivo service and just used it for timed recordings on a daily/weekly basis. I loved it!

    With hopes of upgrading to some newer technology,
    I jumped in without doing my homework and bought a Humax DRT800.

    It seems that I can't do timed recordings (daily/weekly) without subscribing to Tivo

    I would like to do the prom upgrade to my DRT800 so I can add the extra software mods for telnet, ftping and web tivo.

    In the end, is my DRT800 usless unless I subscribe to Tivo?
    I am a little embarassed that I didn't do my homework before buying it

  12. #87
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    707
    Quote Originally Posted by JHM
    It seems that I can't do timed recordings (daily/weekly) without subscribing to Tivo
    Only (really old) Series 1 can do that. At that Time TIVO service was optional, and when TiVo service changed form optional to required, the old units were grandfathered.

    The only way to get around the service these days, is to purchase a DVD unit, which has TiVo Basic for free (you have a 3-day guide, you have time-based recordings, but no season passes).

  13. #88
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    1,339
    Quote Originally Posted by JHM
    In the end, is my DRT800 usless unless I subscribe to Tivo?
    pretty much. if you've got the skills to make it work your time is worth a lot more than the monthy fee...

  14. #89
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,778
    http://www.tivo.com/2.1.4.asp
    http://www.weaknees.com/burner_faq.php#compare

    I think the reference to the SD-H400 is a mistake, as it is a (Series2.0) DVD player, not recorder. The RS-TX* recorders cost about $100 more than the DRT800, and include lifetime TiVo Basic service.

    They might even get upgraded to 7.x someday.

  15. #90
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    27
    Has anyone had this done to their R10 unit and any pictures of the hack, any unforeseen side effects, good or bad?

    Lastly and I've been reading lots of post both current and out of date and they all seam to waver on weather DTV is or isn't going to activate the HMO. Realistically will they ever do this or is the prom the only way to go?

    Thanks for any information,
    Robert
    Last edited by JrFaust; 02-22-2005 at 09:04 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •