Page 26 of 26 FirstFirst ... 16242526
Results 376 to 390 of 390

Thread: Direct extraction from a tivo drive in a pc (not networked)

  1. #376
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Dougal County
    Posts
    1,014
    Quote Originally Posted by TheLandYacht View Post
    Will direct extraction work with a TivoHD? (THIS unit)
    yes. you'll need to fetch the source code for the 64bit mfs_* utils and compile it for x86. however, there's not much point in doing so. see my response in the other thread. cross-posting is frowned upon.

  2. #377
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    8

    Attempting Extract from GSOD-ed S1 DTivo Drives

    Our faithful Sony SAT-T60 now boots up to the Green Screen of Death, after 7+ years of faithful service. I upgraded it to 2 160 GB drives myself years ago (kept the standard kernel), then later added a CacheCard, all of which were working fine until the GSOD starting appearing. I don't want to invest in new hard drives for it, since I can get a new HD DVR for the same price. But I would like to salvage any shows I can from it.

    I'm following directions here and here but I'm getting stuck by a "Not a TiVo super block!" message when I run mfs_streams or mfs_info. (tivopart seemed to work: several partitions appeared on the KNOPPIX desktop for hdc and hdd.) I tried the 20050604 image of mfs-utils first, then the 20060503 image.

    I'm pretty sure I disabled encryption the last time the software was auto-upgraded (after which I disconnected the phone line so I wouldn't have to keep re-hacking it) but I can't be positive (it was probably a couple years ago). I read about ciphercheck, but that appears to be for S2 units.

    Am I doing something wrong? How likely is it that the system just too messed up to recover anything? Anything else I should try?

    Thank you!

  3. #378
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    4,085
    Quote Originally Posted by paleGreen1 View Post
    ...
    Am I doing something wrong? How likely is it that the system just too messed up to recover anything? Anything else I should try?
    Since this is a series 1, this could be a byte swap issue, although it is also possible the superblock of the MFS is damaged. What is the "magic number" printed in the "Not a TiVo superblock (magic=xxxx)" message?

  4. #379
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by Jamie View Post
    What is the "magic number" printed in the "Not a TiVo superblock (magic=xxxx)" message?
    Thanks for the speedy reply Jamie! It's magic=0x31343735.

    Here's my steps:

    root@Knoppix:~# export PATH=$PATH:/mnt/hda1/mfs-utils/
    root@Knoppix:~# /mnt/hda1/tivopart/tivopart.x86 r /dev/hdc

    (hdc1 through hdc16 appear on the desktop)
    root@Knoppix:~# /mnt/hda1/tivopart/tivopart.x86 r /dev/hdd
    (hdd1 through hdd4 appear on the desktop)
    root@Knoppix:~# export MFS_DEVICE="/dev/hdc /dev/hdd"
    root@Knoppix:~# mfs_streams
    Not a TiVo super block! (magic=0x31343735)


    Thanks!

  5. #380
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    4,085
    If you look in mfs.c before that error message, you'll see a set of cases that cover the various expected "magic" values. Since you pulled the drive during a hung GSOD, I'm pretty sure you have an inconsistent file system (fs_inconsistent = 1). Your PC host, I assume, is an Intel PC, so you should have little_endian = 1. Finally, it's an S1, so unless you have the kernel patch to byte swap the IDE bus, you need io_need_bswap(1). So included your magic number along with the case for 0x30333735. If you are lucky, that's all you need to get it to work.

    If the magic number change doesn't help, dump the first 512 bytes of partition 10 on the "a" disk with hexdump and post it.

    I don't have an S1, and I'm not totally sure the byte swap code is going to do the right thing in your case (e.g. partitions validated with tivopart). Let's see where we are after you make the change suggested above.

  6. #381
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    8
    Wow. That is very cool -- and very scary since I haven't compiled a C program since college in the early 90's. I'm guessing things have gotten a little easier since then, but I remember pulling my hair out trying to get things to just 'make' successfully. So this will probably be an adventure...

    I don't want to ask too many noob questions, but what do I need to do to compile this? I read here to just:

    make proto
    make i386

    Will that do it?

  7. #382
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    4,085
    It's like riding a bike....

    I think just "make" should do it. The Makefile will automatically build the proto.h file, and it should default to building for the host (PC) architecture.

  8. #383
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    8
    I guess things have gotten easier! ;-)

    I added the case statement for my magic number with the settings you recommended and did the make. I ended up with a bin.Linux-i586 folder. I re-ran the steps to run mfs_streams and got the following message:

    Warning: filesystem is inconsistent. Run fsfix and mfscheck ASAP
    Failed to byte swap correctly


    Does this confirm your hunch that the byte swap code isn't going to help in my case?

    I think I figured out how to do the hexdump all by myself!

    root@Knoppix:~# hexdump /dev/hdc10 -n 512
    0000000 0000 0000 3735 3134 7d12 fed5 0000 0010
    0000010 0000 0001 0000 0040 0000 0400 0008 0000
    0000020 7fee 08f0 2f64 6576 2f68 6461 3130 202f
    0000030 6465 762f 6864 6131 3120 2f64 6576 2f68
    0000040 6461 3132 202f 6465 762f 6864 6131 3320
    0000050 2f64 6576 2f68 6461 3134 202f 6465 762f
    0000060 6864 6131 3520 2f64 6576 2f68 6462 3220
    0000070 2f64 6576 2f68 6462 3300 0000 0000 0000
    0000080 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
    *
    00000a0 0000 0000 1be3 dc00 0007 a120 0000 0001
    00000b0 0000 03e8 0422 0e5d 0000 03e9 0000 0078
    00000c0 0000 0000 0000 0461 000f fffe 0000 0001
    00000d0 0008 0000 0008 0000 0083 7305 0000 00b0
    00000e0 0085 1b82 0000 0080 0000 0000 0000 0000
    00000f0 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
    *
    0000200


    Let me know if I messed something up.

    Thank you very much!
    Last edited by paleGreen1; 10-14-2009 at 01:13 AM. Reason: can't copy and paste - DOH!

  9. #384
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    4,085
    Quote Originally Posted by paleGreen1 View Post
    I guess things have gotten easier! ;-)

    I added the case statement for my magic number with the settings you recommended and did the make. I ended up with a bin.Linux-i586 folder. I re-ran the steps to run mfs_streams and got the following message:

    Warning: filesystem is inconsistent. Run fsfix and mfscheck ASAP
    Failed to byte swap correctly


    Does this confirm your hunch that the byte swap code isn't going to help in my case?
    ...
    No. There's just one more place the code needed to be changed to recognize this "magic" number. Try the attached mfs.c (also committed to cvs).
    Attached Files Attached Files

  10. #385
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    8
    I replaced my mfs.c with the new one, but I got some errors during the make:

    ...
    gcc -Wall -I. -I/sw/include -I/sw/include/gnugetopt -I../include -D_GNU_SOURCE -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -DNEED_ALLOCA_H -O3 -DBUILD_DATE=\"`date +%Y/%m/%d`\" -c mfs_info.c -o obj.Linux-i586/mfs_info.o
    mfs_info.c: In function 'stream_scan2':
    mfs_info.c:251: warning: passing argument 1 of 'mfs_all_inodes' from incompatible pointer type
    mfs_info.c:251: error: too few arguments to function 'mfs_all_inodes'
    make: *** [obj.Linux-i586/mfs_info.o] Error 1


    Comparing the new version of mfs.c with mine revealed several differences beyond the magic number code. Looking at the repository on SourceForge, it looks like a few files have changed since mfs-utils_src-20060503.tar.bz2 was made on May 3 2006:

    Code:
    partition.c           1.6       12 hours      jamiepainter       Support additional "fs_inconsistent" magic numbers.
    mfs.c                 1.9       12 hours      jamiepainter       Support additional "fs_inconsistent" magic numbers.
    schema-merged-9.3.txt 1.2       16 months     jamiepainter       check in to base
    schema-7.3.1.txt      1.1       2 years       jamiepainter       Update scheme to match Makefile.
    CHANGES               1.6       2 years       jamiepainter       Darwin-i386 support and misc bug fixes.
    mfs_info.c            1.4       2 years       jamiepainter       Darwin-i386 support and misc bug fixes.
    io.c                  1.7       2 years       jamiepainter       Darwin-i386 support and misc bug fixes.
    schema.c              1.3       2 years       jamiepainter       Darwin-i386 support and misc bug fixes.
    tserver.c             1.5       2 years       jamiepainter       Darwin-i386 support and misc bug fixes.
    I'm guessing I'll need to download these and try the make again. Is that right?

    Thanks!

  11. #386
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    4,085
    Sorry about that. I'm working from the latest version checked in to cvs. You should probably do a CVS checkout of the whole package. There are instructions for that here.

  12. #387
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    8
    I finally got around to trying this again. I don't have a CVS client up and running so I downloaded everything individually from here.

    This time when I did a make I got some warnings but it did complete (something about parameters expecting 'int' but receiving 'u64' or something like that). But when I ran mfs_streams this time (following the same steps as before) I got:

    Warning: filesystem is inconsistent. Run fsfix and mfscheck ASAP
    crc mismatch len=280 0x7d12fed5 0xe8f7cde2
    WARNING: total sectors doesn't match (total=467917824 sb=0)
    Segmentation fault


    Anything else left to try? I really appreciate your help on this.

  13. #388
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    4,085
    Let's take this to PM. I sent you a PM several days ago.

  14. #389
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    90
    Quote Originally Posted by Jamie View Post
    Let's take this to PM. I sent you a PM several days ago.
    I need help pls.
    I am new at tivo. I downloaded son shows , including italian soccer off the italian channel I have (i am italian) but I can not reverse them on my pc using tivodesktop. :-(
    I would like to open the case of tivo, take the hd out and connect it to my pc to get these show out pls.
    Can u pls pm me ?

    thank u
    marco

  15. #390
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Noo Hampsha
    Posts
    740
    You won't be able to do that if you didn't disable encryption. You will need to use TiVo Desktop.
    Steve

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •