Page 4 of 27 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 391

Thread: dtivo locals - The one, the ONLY

  1. #46
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    8

    Original virgin drive receives locals with P4

    I reinstalled my orginal virgin drive that came with my unit and it was able to receive the locals with my subbed P4 -- the same card and unit I couldn't receive locals with Extreme 2.01 or 3.1.

    I was only able to watch for a few minutes until the "must make daily call" message came on.

    Do you think we can assume it is not the card and it has to be something on the drive image?

    Has anyone tried reloading Extreme to see if they come back?

    I may resort to this but not yet.

    Good luck,
    Token

  2. #47
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    37
    On April 8, the following cities have been added to the list of cities that require its MarketId set in order for its channels to show up in the guide:
    • BA Baltimore
    • CT Charlotte
    • GB Greensboro
    • IN Indianapolis
    • KC Kansas City
    • NA Nashville
    • PI Pittsburgh
    • PO Portland
    • RD Raleigh/Durham
    • SD San Diego
    • ST St. Louis

    These larger cities are now the only cities where you can use mvchannels.tcl to enable multiple locals:
    • AT Atlanta, GA
    • BN Boston, MA
    • CH Chicago, IL
    • CL Cleveland, OH
    • DL Dallas/Ft. Worth, TX
    • DN Denver, CO
    • DT Detroit, MI
    • HN Houston, TX
    • LA Los Angeles, CA
    • MI Miami/Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    • MN Minneapolis/St. Paul, MN
    • NY New York, NY
    • OR Orlando/Daytona, FL
    • PH Philadelphia, PA
    • PN Phoenix, AZ
    • SA Sacramento/Stockton, CA
    • SF San Francisco/Oakland/San Jose, CA
    • SE Seattle/Tacoma, WA
    • TA Tampa/St. Petersburg, FL
    • DC Washington, D.C.

    These larger cities are also seem to be the only locals you can get on 2.5.1. You seem to need 2.5.2 or higher AND set the MarketId to get the others. This is an assumption I made from other responses. I have not tested it myself. Please correct me if I am wrong on this.

    They started out with the small cities and are now moving on to the larger ones. This method will affect less people. I would assume that before long you will no longer be able to get any locals unless its MarketId is set.
    Have A Nice Day

  3. #48
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    151
    Originally posted by hand
    On April 8, the following cities have been added to the list of cities that require its MarketId set in order for its channels to show up in the guide:
    • BA Baltimore
    • CT Charlotte
    • GB Greensboro
    • IN Indianapolis
    • KC Kansas City
    • NA Nashville
    • PI Pittsburgh
    • PO Portland
    • RD Raleigh/Durham
    • SD San Diego
    • ST St. Louis

    These larger cities are now the only cities where you can use mvchannels.tcl to enable multiple locals:
    • AT Atlanta, GA
    • BN Boston, MA
    • CH Chicago, IL
    • CL Cleveland, OH
    • DL Dallas/Ft. Worth, TX
    • DN Denver, CO
    • DT Detroit, MI
    • HN Houston, TX
    • LA Los Angeles, CA
    • MI Miami/Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    • MN Minneapolis/St. Paul, MN
    • NY New York, NY
    • OR Orlando/Daytona, FL
    • PH Philadelphia, PA
    • PN Phoenix, AZ
    • SA Sacramento/Stockton, CA
    • SF San Francisco/Oakland/San Jose, CA
    • SE Seattle/Tacoma, WA
    • TA Tampa/St. Petersburg, FL
    • DC Washington, D.C.

    These larger cities are also seem to be the only locals you can get on 2.5.1. You seem to need 2.5.2 or higher AND set the MarketId to get the others. This is an assumption I made from other responses. I have not tested it myself. Please correct me if I am wrong on this.

    They started out with the small cities and are now moving on to the larger ones. This method will affect less people. I would assume that before long you will no longer be able to get any locals unless its MarketId is set.
    I'll verify that

    I just upgraded to 2.5.2, set my local market ID and viola

    Locals are happpy again

    --Hobby--

  4. #49
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    23
    Okay, so we have to be at 2.5.2 or 3.1 and have the MarketId set?

    Can anyone give pointers on how to set the MarketId? is this on the card or in the Tivo software?

  5. #50
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    8

    How to set Market ID

    Can you give me a tip how to set the Market ID?

    I'm still learning Xplusz.

    Update: I'm assuming we use midupdate.tcl from this thread.

    I'm hoping it works on 3.1


    Thanks a lot!
    Token
    Last edited by token; 04-09-2003 at 09:56 PM.

  6. #51
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    38

    2.5.2

    Ok... how do I upgrade to 2.5.2 from 2.5 Xtreme (surgeons) with Kraven's update... also... does this mean I will lose my recordings?

    Do I HAVE to remove the drives or can this be done via bash?

  7. #52
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    38
    Ok... 2.5.2 is loaded (actually... loading now)....

    how do i set the market id?

  8. #53
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    6,414
    I am assuming that you are referring to using midupdate.tcl to set the market id, correct? Here's the info I found on setting up your locals market id using midupdate.tcl with xPlusz included in SuperZap's 2.5.2 upgrade:

    Local guide data tends to get lost due to various issues regarding bin changes, software updates, etc, etc. Here is a list of steps to take when that happens. I realize that many have come up with variations of these steps and others that work for them. My response to that is.. if it works for you do it! The below is meant as a guide for those who have tried everything else with disappointment. The below, if followed to the letter takes some real time and effort but it is a sure fire method when guide data goes away. I would highly recommend the prerequisites as I feel fairly certain you won’t regret it. Total time including perquisites should be no longer than an hour.

    GUIDE DATA POPULATES IMMEDIATELY


    PREREQUISITES (a and b)
    a) HU Card needs to be set up for locals with correct zip code (listed below) and whatever else your software allows you to set.

    b) Use the Xupdate.zip found at http://www.pitoudistro.com/pd/xtreme.html to upgrade your Tivo software to 2.5.2.
    (Even though your software may already be there, this is EXTREMELY important because Xtreme contains many hacks, command line utilities, and etc that will make your life SO much easier if you will just do it. It is really pretty simple. Just burn and boot to the CD created by using the ISO image contained in the xupdate.zip file above and follow instructions. Put the drive back in the Tivo and you are in business.)

    STEPS TO TAKE
    1) Once Tivo comes back up, RESET all locals by running Xtreme's Xpluz command #61 (Xpluz is already installed with Xupdate and descriptions of how to run these commands is in the readme for Xupdate.)

    2) Reboot the reciever (USING the Tivo remote control) and verify that all locals are gone! If you only run midupdate.tcl without resetting (#61), the guide data does NOT GET POPULATED.

    3) Copy midupdate.tcl to /var/hack folder created by the Xtreme software and do a "chmod +x midupdate.tcl" to make it executable.

    4) From the bash prompt (/var/hack#), type "tivosh ./midupdate.tcl XX" (XX is the number designated for your Market ID found in the “listing of codes” below and other lists like it)
    YOU SHOULD NOW SEE LOCALS POPULATING ALMOST IMMEDIATELY (Within 2 Minutes)
    Population will be TEMPORARY without step 5.

    5) Then #60,XX (XX is the Local Code EXAMPLE: Commands for Atlanta listed below would be "#60,1" and Baltimore would be "#60,1A")


    LISTING OF CODES:
    #Hex,Decimal,City,State,Zip Code,Sat,MarketId

    #01,001,Atlanta,GA,30301,101,10
    #19,025,Austin,TX,78701,119*,12
    #1A,026,Baltimore,MD,21201,119*,14
    #1B,027,Birmingham,AL,35201,119*,22
    #02,002,Boston,MA,02101,101,25
    #1C,028,Charlotte,NC,28201,101,35
    #03,003,Chicago,IL,60601,101,39
    #1D,029,Cincinnati,OH,45201,101,41
    #04,004,Cleveland,OH,44101,101,43
    #1E,030,Columbus,OH,43201,101,48
    #05,005,Dallas-FT. Worth,TX,75201,101,51
    #06,006,Denver,CO,80201,101,54
    #07,007,Detroit,MI,48201,101,56
    #1F,031,Greensboro-Winston Salem,NC,27401,119*,79
    #16,022,,,,,81
    #08,008,Houston,TX,77001,101,90
    #20,032,Indianapolis,IN,46201,101,93
    #21,033,Kansas City,MO,64101,119*,100
    #09,009,Los Angeles,CA,90001,101,113
    #22,034,Memphis,TN,38101,119*,121
    #0A,010,Miami-FT. Lauderdale,FL,33101,101,123
    #23,035,Milwaukee,WI,53201,101,124
    #0B,011,Minneapolis-St. Paul,MN,55401,101,125
    #24,036,Nashville,TN,37201,101,132
    #0C,012,New York,NY,10001,101,134
    #0D,013,Orlando-Daytona,FL,32801,101,140
    #0E,014,Philadelphia,PA,19101,101,147
    #0F,015,Phoenix,AZ,85001,101,148
    #25,037,Pittsburgh,PA,15201,119*,149
    #26,038,Portland,OR,97201,101,150
    #17,023,,,,,155
    #10,016,Sacramento-Stockton,CA,95201,101,163
    #18,024,Salt Lake City,UT,84101,101,165
    #27,039,San Antonio,TX,78201,119*,167
    #28,040,San Diego,CA,92101,119*,168
    #11,017,San Francisco-Oakland-San Jose,CA,94101,101,169
    #12,018,Seattle-Tacoma,WA,98101,101,172
    #13,019,St. Louis,MO,63101,101,182
    #14,020,Tampa-St. Petersburg,FL,33601,101,185
    #15,021,Washington DC-Hagerstown,MD,20001,101,199
    #29,041,West Palm Beach-FT. Pierce,FL,33401,,202

    Other lists with more cities can be found hiding in various other posts.
    Last edited by captain_video; 04-09-2003 at 10:51 PM.
    Please don't PM me or any other members looking for personal assistance. You'll do better by posting (after you've exhausted the search feature, of course) and taking advantage of the collective expertise of the membership instead of a single individual that may or may not be able to help you. Thank you and enjoy your stay at DDB!

  9. #54
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    6,414
    Here's a copy of midupdate.tcl if you can't find it.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Please don't PM me or any other members looking for personal assistance. You'll do better by posting (after you've exhausted the search feature, of course) and taking advantage of the collective expertise of the membership instead of a single individual that may or may not be able to help you. Thank you and enjoy your stay at DDB!

  10. #55
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    55

    2.52 RULES!

    Just updated 2.5 Xtreme to 2.52

    Got my locals back, yeah.

    Now gotta figure out what's up with Turbonet. At least I have bash to work with for now.

  11. #56
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    55

    Arrg...

    May have spoken to soon. Channels are in the guide, but I get a "channel not available" when I try to watch a local.

    I'll wait a while to make sure, but everything else is there, so perhaps I need to go to 3.1

  12. #57
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    8

    No luck with midupdate.tcl

    No luck for me

    I ran xp #61, rebooted and my subbed locals remained in the guide but still not available.
    I ran midiupate and it showed my subbed ID for current and new.
    I then ran xp #60 for my local code.

    I thought I read somewhere that you should try a clear all as a last resort and then retry.

    PS I'm on 3.1 with Xplusz.

    I guess I'll give that a shot tomorrow unless anyone has any ideas.

    Thanks!
    Token

  13. #58
    MaxHaxHU Guest
    Does anyone have a file called D252.zip?
    Can someone upload it here in this thread please?
    Thanx in advance,
    -Max

  14. #59
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    126

    channels database moved?

    I lost my locals using a modified 900's.tcl(modified for Little Rock, arkansas area)

    Here is what I have found caused it.
    I got my channel information in the first place from a 3rd gen rca reciever, and wrote down the channel name, and the number it was coming in as..
    for example,
    NY2 comes in for me at 880 on my rca.

    I origianlly substituted all of my locals I get into the 900's/tcl script, and viola...
    locals...

    now, what has happened, is they changed....

    all of them changed...

    so, I have re-done my script, and updated it to what it shows now on my rca...

    I have
    RC6 - 873
    RC8-874
    RC12-875
    RC23-876
    RC35-877
    RC57-878
    RC65-879
    NY2-880
    NY4-881
    NY5-882
    NY7-883
    ME3-921
    ME5-922
    ME10-923
    ME13-924
    ME24-925
    ME30-926
    LA2-938
    LA4-939
    LA5-940
    LA7-941
    LA9-942
    LA11-943
    HN48-976
    CH66-995

    now when I run this new modified script, this is what I get:

    Adding / Moving / Removing channels
    Add/Move Channel: 943 LA11
    Add/Move Channel: 880 NY2
    Add/Move Channel: 881 NY4
    Add/Move Channel: 882 NY5
    Add/Move Channel: 883 NY7
    Add/Move Channel: 938 LA2
    Add/Move Channel: 939 LA4
    Add/Move Channel: 941 LA7
    Add/Move Channel: 942 LA9
    Add/Move Channel: 995 CH66
    Add/Move Channel: 976 HN48
    Add/Move Channel: 940 LA5
    Sleeping for 5 minutes...


    it skips all of the RC, and ME channels....

    and when I go to view the all channels in the guide with tivoweb, I get this:

    Num Callsign Name
    2 WCBS WCBS
    2 WCBS WCBS
    2 DT2 DT2
    2 OR2 OR2
    2 HN2 HN2
    2 KCBS KCBS
    2 KCBS KCBS
    2 CH2 CH2
    2 CH2 CH2
    2 AT2 AT2
    2 SF2 SF2
    2 ST2 ST2
    2 ST2 ST2
    INTERNAL SERVER ERROR
    action_channellist '/1' ''
    can't open object (errDbNotFound)

  15. #60
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    83
    Originally posted by hand
    On April 8, the following cities have been added to the list of cities that require its MarketId set in order for its channels to show up in the guide:
    • BA Baltimore
    • CT Charlotte
    • GB Greensboro
    • IN Indianapolis
    • KC Kansas City
    • NA Nashville
    • PI Pittsburgh
    • PO Portland
    • RD Raleigh/Durham
    • SD San Diego
    • ST St. Louis

    These larger cities are now the only cities where you can use mvchannels.tcl to enable multiple locals:
    • AT Atlanta, GA
    • BN Boston, MA
    • CH Chicago, IL
    • CL Cleveland, OH
    • DL Dallas/Ft. Worth, TX
    • DN Denver, CO
    • DT Detroit, MI
    • HN Houston, TX
    • LA Los Angeles, CA
    • MI Miami/Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    • MN Minneapolis/St. Paul, MN
    • NY New York, NY
    • OR Orlando/Daytona, FL
    • PH Philadelphia, PA
    • PN Phoenix, AZ
    • SA Sacramento/Stockton, CA
    • SF San Francisco/Oakland/San Jose, CA
    • SE Seattle/Tacoma, WA
    • TA Tampa/St. Petersburg, FL
    • DC Washington, D.C.

    These larger cities are also seem to be the only locals you can get on 2.5.1. You seem to need 2.5.2 or higher AND set the MarketId to get the others. This is an assumption I made from other responses. I have not tested it myself. Please correct me if I am wrong on this.

    They started out with the small cities and are now moving on to the larger ones. This method will affect less people. I would assume that before long you will no longer be able to get any locals unless its MarketId is set.
    Ok if this is correct and my experience with 2.5.2xtreme seems to confirm this for my local markets the $64000.00 question is it possible to have more than one market id set at a time? If not then it does not look good for multiple locals
    -peters62-

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •