Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: "No EventSwitcher active" workaround in 3.1

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    114

    Question "No EventSwitcher active" workaround in 3.1

    I believe that if one runs a script over and over (specifically one that calls dbopen), a unit running 3.1 will eventually start spitting out:

    No EventSwitcher active
    while executing


    or similiar errors.

    Is there a current workaround for this (besides rebooting)?

    If not, anyone have any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    out of space
    Posts
    1,880
    No fix other than rebooting that I know of. I set a cron entry to reboot every 4 days which seems to be working ok. The only repeating TCL script that I'm running is TivoTitle twice an hour. You might need to reboot more frequently if you're running more TCL scripts.

    I have developed a TCL reboot script that will be released in the next xPlusz update. This script will be run via cron and checks for any recordings in progress and allows you to abort by using the remote.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    342
    VERY cool SZ

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    114
    Originally posted by superzap
    No fix other than rebooting that I know of.
    OK. Bummer, then. (For now at least.)

    I have a modified script that hits Recording/Active every 30 seconds, so perhaps I'll need to come up with an alternative solution.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    162
    Originally posted by DarkWing
    VERY cool SZ
    Great Idea, eh DW?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    117
    Has this problem been solved?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,406
    Originally posted by TriscuiT
    Has this problem been solved?
    Not solved, as in fixed.......

    "Solved" as in we have a reasonable work around.

    http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/sh...=rc3105+reboot

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    117
    Is the real answer to this conundrum to switch back to 2.5.2??

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,406
    Originally posted by TriscuiT
    Is the real answer to this conundrum to switch back to 2.5.2??
    THAT would be one answer.

    A smart reboot script, like the one I pointed you to would be another.



    BTW:
    I deleted your post, because it wasn't informational, and only carried partial disjointed information into this thread AFTER I linked to it already.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    117
    Does rebooting pose any undue strain on the unit? I assume that the drive(s) are spinning all of the time because of the buffering. Having them spin down and then back up again as a result of a reboot must put some additional strain on the system (albeit slight). So, in your opinion, which is the better method: 2.5.2 or 3.1 with reboot script? Which method do you use?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,406
    Originally posted by TriscuiT
    Does rebooting pose any undue strain on the unit? I assume that the drive(s) are spinning all of the time because of the buffering. Having them spin down and then back up again as a result of a reboot must put some additional strain on the system (albeit slight). So, in your opinion, which is the better method: 2.5.2 or 3.1 with reboot script? Which method do you use?
    I use neither method.

    I am on my Tivo so often, therefore I usually notice when the EventSwitcher dies.

    But, as I've said in other threads, there is no significant reason to move to 3.1.

    If you don't NEED to have the latest and greatest, just to have the latest and greatest.. Stick with 2.5.2

    However, rebooting once a week is fine.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    117
    Muchas Gracias for the info. I will probably move the system back to 2.5.2 then since it is such a fresh install I haven't done much to it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •