Thread: Xtreme25 a success...now new problem...

22 Xtreme25 a success...now new problem...

Just did my 1st hack today....went pretty good considering I am new to all this. Well, the reason I wanted to go to Xtreme25 is so I could use my P3 card. Now my P3 card works just fine but I can't use any of Tivos features without dialing in. Favorites, Tivo Mag, etc will not work without dialing in. Well as you probably guessed it my question is...Is there a way to stop the daily nag call without useing the serial cable? I have been reading and found ways to do it with the use a serial cable, but I don't have one @ this time and am in need of some recording (aka wife is on my as*) Can you do it via the computer are am I forced to get a cable?
    Any and all help is appreciated.....

TIA,
    Smokerman

You can set up the fixsub.tcl script using the "touch /etc/SubTest" copmmand but if you don't have a serial cable the only other option is to pull the drive and mount it in your PC. You'll have to use a Linux boot disc and then mount your partitions using Linux commands. Check the Newbies Guide to Hacking the Tivo on instructions for doing this. You'll find the link for it in the How Tos Only sticky on page 3 in the file downloads posts. My advice, either make a serial cable or buy one from 9th Tee. If you're serious about hacking a DTivo you're going to need some way to communicate with it and putting the drive in your PC each time can be a real PITA.
    Please don't PM me or any other members looking for personal assistance. You'll do better by posting (after you've exhausted the search feature, of course) and taking advantage of the collective expertise of the membership instead of a single individual that may or may not be able to help you. Thank you and enjoy your stay at DDB!

Thanks for the quick post....

I have a qeustion for ya...Can I use xPlusz and just hook my "a" drive back to my pc and then :

copy files named setup and xPsz.tar.gz to floppy