Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: TiVo Legacy Series1 SA Video Extraction Thread

TiVo Legacy Series1 SA Video Extraction Thread

If you're like me and have ancient (2+) year old videos sitting on your TiVo series 1 SA unit and would like to extract them, please join in on this thread. I recently discovered the modern tools out there to extract don't work with the older recordings. In this thread I would like to discuss methods and techniques to manipulate these types of streams. Since I am a newbie, any help is appreciated.

First thing to do is look in the CVS repository, find some useful older code and hopefully successfully compile it to help us out (though I am pretty infantile on compiling programs and could use a hand).

Whats the problem? I believe TyDemux version 3.x and 4.x will decode SA version 1.x and 2.0 streams just fine.

Are you having problems extracting the ty files or converting the ty into mpeg?

No problems extracting the SA 1.x stream TY files.. it is the converting to mpeg giving me problems. I will try TyDemux and hopefully my next post will be a request to delete this thead.

I tried tydemux and still got 0-byte mpegs. It looked like it was working:

G:\TiVo>tydemux -t2 -i wh.ty -a wh.m2v -v wh.mpa
    ......... 100......... 200......... 300......... 400......... 500
    ......... 600......... 700......... 800......... 900......... 1000
    ......... 1100......... 1200......... 1300......... 1400......... 1500
    ......... 1600......... 1700......... 1800......... 1900......... 2000
    ......... 2100......... 2200......... 2300......... 2400......... 2500
    ......... 2600......... 2700......... 2800......... 2900......... 3000
    ......... 3100......... 3200......... 3300......... 3400......... 3500
    ......... 3600......... 3700......... 3800......... 3900......... 4000
    ......... 4100......... 4200......... 4300......... 4400......... 4500
    ......... 4600......... 4700......... 4800......... 4900......... 5000