Thread: Problem With HDVR2 setup

Problem With HDVR2 setup

I am new to Tivo and this site so go easy on me.

I have followed the steps by Ingineer exactly, but when i get to step 14 is where the trouble starts.

It should spit out "root=/dev/hda7" which confirms the TiVo’s active root partition is 7, so that makes the VAR mount point at 9. Lets now mount the var partition by typing:
    mount /dev/hdc9 /mnt/tivo
    I got the root=/dev/hda7, but when i try to do the "mount /dev/hdc9 /mnt/tivo " all i get is
    "looks like swap space-not mounted. You must specify file type"

I tried two different computers and have read everything i could find, but i can't get past this issue.

Thanks
    superg

I'm betting that you have your PC setup so that your Tivo Drive is not setup as hdc

Check which letter your Tivo drive is assigned during bootup (using SHIFT-PageUp) and change your mount to that drive

So it should read:

mount /dev/hdX9 /mnt/tivo

the X is the letter of the drive assigned to your Tivo drive.

Chaz

That was the first thing i looked at.

This is my setup.

Fat32 drive= hda <-----Primary Master
    cd_rom = hdb <-----Primary Slave
    Tivo drive = hdc <-----Secondary Master

Got any other ideas? I'm up for trying anything at this point. LOL

What Boot CD are you using?

Did you restore properly as in step 12?
    mfsrestore -s 127 -xzpi /mnt/c/tivo-s2.bak /dev/hdc

Using the Johnnydeath boot cd. Did step 12 correctly, but my image is the 3.1.0-01-2-151. I downloaded the 3.1U5 image that mrBlack51 gave a link to. I tried the "mount /dev/hdc9 /mnt/tivo " on the 3.1U5 and on my 3.1.0-01-2-151, but get the same results.

Have you tried it with a different hard drive?
    I know you tried two different comps so it's not likely to be something wacky like a bad IDE cable, etc.

Question Where?

Superg,