Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 37

Thread: 30 Sec Skip

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    95
    So is there a patch for this or do we need to do it manually?

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    973
    Originally posted by Barrett
    So is there a patch for this or do we need to do it manually?
    You're looking at it. What more do you want?

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    155
    Originally posted by David Bought
    You're looking at it. What more do you want?
    How about the dd command to patch Tivoapp?
    I'll post it later if I figure it out when I get home unless someone else posts it first.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    973
    Originally posted by Tiros
    How about the dd command to patch Tivoapp?
    I'll post it later if I figure it out when I get home unless someone else posts it first.
    For the love of God... what are you doing on a hacking board if you don't know how to use a hex editor?

    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&i...=Google+Search

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    155
    [QUOTE]Originally posted by David Bought
    [B]For the love of God... what are you doing on a hacking board if you don't know how to use a hex editor?

    In the time it took to make your useless reply, you could have posted the answer.

    Yes, I know how to use a hex editor but a lot of people here do not. Many people have a struggle just to get a bash prompt. I do not think it is asking to much to provide a command that they merely have to type at the prompt to get the job done. The first part of a hack is to figure out what needs to be done and how to do it, the next step is to how to optimize it so its fast and easy.

    I have been tempted many times to reply about the way you behave here but have held my tounge until now. If your such a smart guy and you need everyone to think your a god why not help people instead of wasting time belittling them? Reading your posts/replies it seems I'm not the only one who feels this way. Im sure that Tivo development would be just as far along if you were not participating. We don't need you!

    Real hackers don't need to tell the world how great they are, thier work speaks for itself. Have you ever seen jdiner behave like you?

    Heres some ideas:

    If you find yourself about to tell someone to use a search button, don't bother to reply.

    If you don't feel like answering a question, don't bother to reply.

    If your reply will consist of only one word, don't bother to reply.

    Go to a porn site to get your nut off instead of masturbating in front of your keyboard while you berate others that you perceive know less than you.

    Really Dave, get a grip, you seem intelligent, why don't you want people to like you?

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    973
    Originally posted by Tiros
    The first part of a hack is to figure out what needs to be done and how to do it, the next step is to how to optimize it so its fast and easy.
    No, that step is optional. We are under no obligation to post, simplify, or explain our hacks - except when we are getting paid for it.

    In the time it took you to write your useless reply, you could have posted the "fast and easy" version of this hack. But instead you chose to post a long, bitchy, counterproductive rant and accomplish nothing. Pot, meet kettle.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,285
    Originally posted by David Bought
    . We are under no obligation to post, simplify, or explain our hacks - except when we are getting paid for it.
    Kindly elaborate.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,285
    Originally posted by David Bought
    - except when we are getting paid for it.
    I assume that you are referring to his paypal link on his site!

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    West of Bermuda
    Posts
    1,017
    i don't want to get into the argument, but...

    as soon as someone posts a "simple command" to do it, a new release will come along and people will start complaining that their tivo is broken. these people will then be wanting another "handout" in the form of another "simple command" to patch the new release. the net result is that the person has learned nothing, and is forever dependant on others to do the work for them.

    ronny

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    155
    Originally posted by David Bought
    No, that step is optional. We are under no obligation to post, simplify, or explain our hacks - except when we are getting paid for it.

    In the time it took you to write your useless reply, you could have posted the "fast and easy" version of this hack. But instead you chose to post a long, bitchy, counterproductive rant and accomplish nothing. Pot, meet kettle.
    I don't know why you use the terms "We" and "our" since you had nothing to do with MuscleNerds info. Maybe you can elaborate on exactly what you have personally contributed to "our" hacks. Please be specific, giving advice(?) on how to use the work of others doesn't count as hacking as far as I'm concerned . I doubt you can or will respond to THIS request.

    If you read my initial post, you would see that I stated that I would post the info later, at which point you felt the need to attack. Hence my "useless reply" that could have been completely avoided had you just kept your big mouth shut. Don't put me in the same kettle as you. I would never attack someone just to feel better about myself as you seem to enjoy doing. Its easier and takes less time to just ignore them. You are not a mod you are just a wannabe. Your self appointed janitorial duties are not required. Nobody needs you so F*** off!

    In any event, here is the "quick and easy fix" I promised. Thank you MuscleNerd for the info that made it possible. I hope that some people will find it useful, since thats really the point of participating isn't it?

    Assuming your Tivo HD is connected to your PC, mounted as /mnt/tivo and you are working with 3.1.0 just type this:

    dd if=/mnt/tivo/tvbin/tivoapp of=/mnt/tivo/tvbin/tivoapp bs=1 skip=479 seek=3226564 count=1 conv=notrunc

    If anybody asks, when I get upgraded I will post the command for 3.1.1b, based on the info provided by RonnyThunder.

    Ronny,
    I just wanted to avoid the hexediting business so when your doing an upgrade you can just type the command at bash. Since any upgrade will certainly involve a new "tivoapp" overwriting the old one I doubt anybody will be complaining thier "tivo is broken" when the upgrade hits. But I could be wrong

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    973
    Originally posted by Tiros
    blah blah blah... lots of incindiary rambling snipped

    Nobody needs you so F*** off!
    1) Stop begging for trivial handouts (as in your original post). If you think it's critically important to post dd, perl, and xxd based patch instructions for every 2-byte modification, maintain them yourself.

    2) STOP WHINING. We've heard enough. Find a soapbox someplace else - start a blog or (heaven forbid!) get a damn job.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    3,108
    Originally posted by Tiros
    In any event, here is the "quick and easy fix" I promised. Thank you MuscleNerd for the info that made it possible. I hope that some people will find it useful, since thats really the point of participating isn't it?

    Assuming your Tivo HD is connected to your PC, mounted as /mnt/tivo and you are working with 3.1.0 just type this:

    dd if=/mnt/tivo/tvbin/tivoapp of=/mnt/tivo/tvbin/tivoapp bs=1 skip=479 seek=3226564 count=1 conv=notrunc

    If anybody asks, when I get upgraded I will post the command for 3.1.1b, based on the info provided by RonnyThunder.
    well, your 'quick and easy fix' isnt so quick and easy, and is likely to break peoples units. specifically, if you modify tivoapp on a unit that isnt prom hacked and isn't using monte, then the tivoapp file will be deleted by the initrd during boot if its modified (this means you bash_env people).
    Step one: search button!
    Silly Wabbit, guides are for kids

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,149
    Originally posted by Tiros, BUT MY CORRECTIONS IN (PARENTHESIS)
    I do not think it is asking to much... (too) much.

    I have been tempted many times to reply about the way you behave here but have held my tounge until now. ...(tongue)


    If your(you're) such a smart guy and you need everyone to think your(you're) a god why not help people instead of wasting time belittling them? Reading your posts/replies it seems I'm not the only one who feels this way. Im(I'm) sure that Tivo development would be just as far along if you were not participating. We don't need you!

    Real hackers don't need to tell the world how great they are, thier(their) work speaks for itself. Have you ever seen jdiner behave like you?

    Heres some ideas:

    If you find yourself about to tell someone to use a search button, don't bother to reply.

    If you don't feel like answering a question, don't bother to reply.

    If your reply will consist of only one word, don't bother to reply.

    Go to a porn site to get your nut off instead of masturbating in front of your keyboard while you berate others that you perceive (percieve) know less than you.

    Really Dave, get a grip, you seem intelligent, why don't you want people to like you?
    Dude,
    Don't get me wrong, but, how can we take you seriously when you don't even take the time to check what you type? You may notice, I respond as correctly as I can... BUT, I always check my posts and try to find spelling, grammatical, or informational errors and EDIT my posts into some sense of intelligence.

    NutKase
    Last edited by NutKase; 10-19-2003 at 03:25 PM.
    "God, and DealDataBase, help those that help themselves." --Shamelessly stolen from psxboy
    ------------------------------------------------
    2 each, SA S2 287hr 7.2.1a's with Lifetime.
    Hacks: 1 Manually Monte'd -140, Bash,Telnet,FTP,TivoWebPlus,
    Superpatch-67all Unscrambled/HMO,MFS_FTP Ver. N,TyTools, tivoserver
    Fully hacked SA S1

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    155
    I apologize for not checking my spelling.

    I still think that the command line fix has some merit since most modders will be using either Monte or Prom hack and its just faster to type a command than hex edit the file. No big deal, it would have only been a 2 line post if DB hadn't attacked.

    Don't worry I wont bother to contribute again.

    BTW DB failed to respond about his personal contributions to the scene, as predicted. End of tirade, goodbye.

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    3,108
    Originally posted by Tiros
    I still think that the command line fix has some merit since most modders will be using either Monte or Prom hack and its just faster to type a command than hex edit the file. No big deal, it would have only been a 2 line post if DB hadn't attacked.
    I'm not suggesting that posting a dd patch is useless. however, simply posting that kind of patch, especially for 3.1.0/3.1.u5 where 99.99%+ are using bash_env, is not a simple here you go sort of thing.
    Step one: search button!
    Silly Wabbit, guides are for kids

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •