Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Perspective from a total newbe

Perspective from a total newbe

Well, I don't want to fan any fires but I'm just reading and trying to learn here. I'm very green to DTivo and Linux. I came here for guidance, the best and easiest way to get my unit to perform like I want, and mainly to learn something new.
    There are a lot of good folks here sharing their experiences and knowledge. There are others here that disagree and like to post slams instead of being helpful, as demonstrated in this thread HERE.
    What was the purpose of creating this forum in the first place or your reason for joining? Was it to vent or to learn something and share that information to help others? Seems to me, the goal of this forum would be for the members to compile all of this knowledge and come up with an informative learning guide to accomplishing an end result. I know there are different hacks and ways to get there but there should be a basic way to accomplish this. A roadmap, have you.
    I joined this forum with the hopes of not having to complete a course on Linux to accomplish what I want. Or, to learn Linux without attending a class, I'm cheap and hate attending classes. There are so many twists and turns, I'm getting lost in the traffic. One guide says do this so I start reading it. Then, I see another thread with another guide that leads me in a totally different direction. All proclaiming to be the best, but none have explained exactly WHY or exactly WHAT for. I'm not complaining, I REALLY appreciate those that have taken the time to document their experiences to share with us newbes.
    Don't lose the memory of when you were green like me. Try to see it from the point of view that you just arrived here and just bought your first TIVO unit. Where do I go from here.
    Again, thanks to ALL that share their knowledge and experience to help us "wet behind the ears" folk.

Re: Perspective from a total newbe

Originally posted by ezman