Page 1 of 15 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 647

Thread: How to disable tystream encryption to enable extraction

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Sonoran Desert
    Posts
    2,831

    Disabling tystream encryption:

    NOTICE: I am no longer updating this post as its original purpose has been served quite well, which was to transition people from the older more convoluted method to the new and simpler™ method. This kind of thing should now be delegated to the patch threads that show up every time a new version comes around for its respective tivo platform.

    Warning: The below instructions should be fairly straightforward, but if you don't have much experience with computers beyond the simple usage of everyday microsoft windows applications, then please do not read any further and leave your tivo in its stock configuration. Thank you.
    I was having an IRC discussion, and a leprechaun gave me a special patch for tivoapp that is the end all to be all solution to scrambling on a Tivo (which means that this ISN'T all my work, so do not pass any credits to me)

    This patch forces tivoapp to not encrypt recordings by setting a static boolean expression from true to false (its only a two byte patch for all currently existing tivo software versions.)

    If you are using an older noscramble method (e.g. kernel patches, modules, kmem, etc) be sure to remove it first. If you are hacking your tivo for the first time, proceed to the first step and ignore the rest of this paragraph. In contrast with the older "noscramble" methods that involved removing the kernel wrapper entirely, encrypted recordings made prior to applying this patch will play back fine. Older noscramble methods may interfere with the tivos ability to play back encrypted streams if you do not want to decrypt them (see below for instructions on decrypting them.)

    Note: Legacy Tivo SW versions below 3.1.X will NOT be supported. Also, for StandAlone tivo users, this only applies for 4.x and greater. This does not apply at all to UK tivos.

    Do the following for this patch: (FOLLOW THESE INSTRUCTIONS VERY CAREFULLY)

    Make sure your root partition is writable. e.g.
    Code:
    mount -o remount,rw /
    Make a backup copy of /tvbin/tivoapp e.g.
    Code:
    cp /tvbin/tivoapp /tvbin/tivoapp.orig
    Do this number:
    Code:
    cd /tvbin
    mv tivoapp tivoapp.tmp
    cp tivoapp.tmp tivoapp
    chmod 755 tivoapp
    If you are an S1 user with Software Version 3.1.0c2, type this command:
    Code:
    echo -ne "\x48\x00\x00\x38" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=4678532
    If you are an S2 or HDTIVO user with Software Version 3.1.5f, type this command:
    Code:
    echo -ne "\x3C\x02\x00\x00" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=6984684
    If you are an S2 user with Software Version 5.1.1b, type this command:
    Code:
    echo -ne "\x24\x02\x00\x00" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=10001408
    If you are an S2 user with Software Version 5.2, type this command:
    Code:
    echo -ne "\x24\x02\x00\x00" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=11437232
    If you are an S2 user with Software Version 5.3, type this command:
    Code:
    echo -ne "\x24\x02\x00\x00" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=10028224
    If you are an S2 user with Software Version 6.2, type this command:
    Code:
    echo -ne "\x3C\x02\x00\x00" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=10705308
    If you are an S2 user with Software Version 7.1b, type this command:
    Code:
    echo -ne "\x3C\x02\x00\x00" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=2691728
    If you use MFS_FTP, clear out your XML cache, e.g. (assuming mfs_ftp is in /var/mfs_ftp)
    Code:
    rm /var/mfs_ftp/cache/*.xml
    For you readonly root types:
    Code:
    mount -o remount,ro /
    Then:
    Code:
    reboot
    After (not before) the reboot, you can delete the /tvbin/tivoapp.tmp file to free up space on your rootfs.

    Continued in the following post.
    Last edited by AlphaWolf; 12-19-2006 at 01:57 AM. Reason: added disclaimer
    Before PMing me: Iím not your personal tech support. If you have a question, ask in public so I don't have to repeat if somebody else asks. If you want images or slices, use emule. I will ignore all support PMs.

    Sponsor a vegetarian! I have taken the pledge, how about you?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Noo Hampsha
    Posts
    767

    Instructions correction?

    Forgive my newbie-ness to this topic, and this is really a nit which clearly didn't bother others, but...

    In the instructions in the original post, at the end, the command:

    Code:
    mount -o remount,ro
    is shown if one wants to remount the root as read-only. I think there should be a / at the end of the command.

    Steve

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1

    stuck on unscramble.o and tystudio

    I don't know if this has been answered before, but I haven't seen it anywhere yet. I am running this system:

    DirecTV Tivo Series 1 (Philips DSR6000R)
    3.1.0b software
    tivoapp hack to turn off scrambling (never installed noscramble or kmem, etc)

    I can pull off ty files from recording after I didn't the tivoapp hack, but not before since they were scrambled. I grabbed the unscramble.o tarball and placed it on my tivo. I untar the file by using 'cpio -idu -H tar < unscramble.tar'. (I don't seem to just have the tar command on my tivo) I run 'insmod unscramble.o' and don't get an error, just the command prompt back on my telnet screen. I run the episode I want to pull off for 10 or more seconds. Then I stop the recording and try to pull the ty file off my tivo via TyStudio, but I continue to get the error in tystudio that says it doesn't get the okay message: Error 400 and the downloading bar on tystudio sticks at 0% forever.

    I can't figure out what I am doing wrong. Is there something I am missing?

    In the readme file inside the unscramble tarball, it mentioned that if unscramble.o is loaded, you shouldn't be able to see the new unscrambled shows, but I can still see them, which makes me believe I haven't loaded the unscramble.o correctly.

    I am stuck, please help!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    189

    cannot gen keys for "pre Hack" video streams

    Quote Originally Posted by jdmarsh04
    I don't know if this has been answered before, but I haven't seen it anywhere yet.
    <snip>I can pull off ty files from recording after I (did) the tivoapp hack, but not before since they were scrambled. I grabbed the unscramble.o, <snip> but I continue to get the error in (trying to generate the key file)
    Likewise - I have a Hughes S1 DTiVo and cannot seem to do anything with shows recorded prior to running the "unscramble hack" detailed in this thread. Prior to this hack I _did_ use unscramble.o - but I never left the module in place (of this I am certain), and all of my current recordings should be "as recorded by DTiVo" free of any outside influence/kernel module.

    I have tried loading the unscramble.o module and then (playing the stream and) trying to pull them via both tytool and mfs_ftp - and in all scenarios when I go to gen the key file tytool just sits, or will occasionally puke entirely (WinXP). I tried to use the TCl script (CSOScout.tcl) but it won't run on my system - complaining about the 1st command in the script(EnableTransactionHoldoff true - "command not found"), as well as a couple more after that. cat and mfs_ftp are in my path.

    So - what is the proper method for extracting usable video from shows recorded prior to this hack? Do I need to back out the hack, and pull the streams via the "standard" unscramble.o method?

    Also - this hack shouldn't have _any_ effect on video quality should it? I am seeing some recordings starting to come across with a lot of "horizontal streaking" that I have not seen in extracted streams in the past. I can post examples if it's worth seeing....

    Thanx
    Don

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New York City, NY, USA
    Posts
    296
    Quote Originally Posted by vancod
    I tried to use the TCl script (CSOScout.tcl) but it won't run on my system - complaining about the 1st command in the script(EnableTransactionHoldoff true - "command not found"), as well as a couple more after that.
    Don, it almost sounds like the script is trying to run using bash instead of tivosh. Make sure the first line of the script contains
    Code:
    #!/tvbin/tivosh
    and not
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash or #!/tvbin/tivoshM
    . Check this using joe or cat on the Tivo. Alternatively, you can type the following command
    Code:
    cat CSOSCout.tcl | dd bs=1 count=500
    if it scrolls by too fast for you.

    See if this fixes your problem. If it says #!/tvbin/tivoshM, then it means that you need to run dos2unix on the script (search google) before you upload it to the Tivo as it was done in DOS format, not Unix format.

    Enjoy.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Noo Hampsha
    Posts
    767
    Quote Originally Posted by vancod
    So - what is the proper method for extracting usable video from shows recorded prior to this hack? Do I need to back out the hack, and pull the streams via the "standard" unscramble.o method?
    You do not need to back out the hack. You do need to insmod unscramble.o and play a few seconds of the show you want to extract. Then you can extract it. I used mfs_ftp and the ty+ format, I had problems using tmf for such purposes (at least when re-inserting on another DTiVo, but if you want to burn to DVD, then any of the usual methods should work.)

    There is no effect on the picture quality that I am aware of (and I can't see how there would be.)
    Steve

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    189
    Quote Originally Posted by stevel
    You do not need to back out the hack. You do need to insmod unscramble.o and play a few seconds of the show you want to extract. Then you can extract it. I used mfs_ftp and the ty+ format, I had problems using tmf for such purposes (at least when re-inserting on another DTiVo, but if you want to burn to DVD, then any of the usual methods should work.)
    I've tried that - inserting the module, playing the stream, then pulling via either tytool or mfs_ftp (in both .ty and .ty+) gets me the same results for both. I want to run the tcl script because I think that might help clear the CSO stuff up for me if it's mucked - I know that the header of the file calls tivosh, and have looked for hidden characters with vi and it looks fine to me (albeit on a local linux box) - so I'm puzzled. I suppose that it might have been mucked in xfer to the box, I will check when home. FWIW - I can't get joe to run on my DTiVo either - it just hangs after loading the file, and "less" is giving me library errors - so I may have some pathing issues or something else afoot on my DTiVo. My hacks were installed via the CD that came with Keegans book + a few newer files.

    Quote Originally Posted by stevel
    There is no effect on the picture quality that I am aware of (and I can't see how there would be.)
    Yeah - I didn't think so but I just wanted to throw that out there. I've been archiving "Uranium Classics" off FUSE and have only started to see this video artifacting since running this hack. It may just have been a bad day for satellite signal..... winter in NE Ohio.

    Thanx all -
    Don

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Noo Hampsha
    Posts
    767
    Don,

    Well, I also used Keegan's CD and haven't had these problems. I'm guessing you have something fundamentally wrong with the software setup. You may want to try starting over from Keegan's CD and making sure the basic stuff (such as vi and less) work properly. Then progress to the more advanced stuff.

    I never got the CSO TCL script to work but stopped trying when I had success in extraction/insertion. I'm using DSR6000s - what TiVo type do you have?
    Steve

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    189
    Quote Originally Posted by stevel
    Well, I also used Keegan's CD and haven't had these problems. I'm guessing you have something fundamentally wrong with the software setup. You may want to try starting over from Keegan's CD and making sure the basic stuff (such as vi and less) work properly. Then progress to the more advanced stuff.
    The only reason I have not done that yet is that I am also running cache card, and I'm a little wary of messing things up. I've never had a working "on TiVo" editor, so I never modified the "hacks_callfromrc.sysinit" (or edit rc.sysinit to call the script) so I'm kind of in a Cath-22 situation with the Keegan stuff. If someone can assure me that re-applying the tarballs from the book I will do so.... I just don't want to end up in a place where I need to restore my HD because frankly I don't have the time to pull it apart and reload it. If it means pulling the hard drives to re-apply (and edit) the files unfortunately that's going to have to wait.... but TiVoWeb "is the bizomb..."
    Quote Originally Posted by stevel
    I never got the CSO TCL script to work but stopped trying when I had success in extraction/insertion. I'm using DSR6000s - what TiVo type do you have?
    Mine's a Hughes GXEBOTD. Stock primary drive, Maxtor 120 second. Cache card in aboot 6 weeks now.

    Don
    Last edited by vancod; 02-16-2004 at 07:53 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    2

    What about S2 version 5.x?

    Has anybody gotten tivoapp to work on an S2 version 5.1.x?


    So far, i've gotten every piece working (mfs_ftp, tytools etc.) except the noscramble or any similar hacks.

    Is anybody doing any research on this?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    72

    concerning unscramble.o

    I have a series 1 - T60

    Once I implement the patch introduced by AlphaWolf - do I need to run unscramble.o anymore?
    Last edited by Michael M; 02-13-2004 at 09:56 AM.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    3

    Question why not kmem?

    Forgive the stupid question, but what would be the motivation to use this method over the kmem method? kmem is working great for me and I'm not sure I see an advantage?

    Thanks

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Sonoran Desert
    Posts
    2,831
    Quote Originally Posted by paulc123
    Forgive the stupid question, but what would be the motivation to use this method over the kmem method? kmem is working great for me and I'm not sure I see an advantage?

    Thanks
    I had that description in the original post earlier, I seem to have deleted it on accident. It's fixed now anyways, see the original post.
    Before PMing me: Iím not your personal tech support. If you have a question, ask in public so I don't have to repeat if somebody else asks. If you want images or slices, use emule. I will ignore all support PMs.

    Sponsor a vegetarian! I have taken the pledge, how about you?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4

    20

    oops, nevermind..wrong thread...

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    18

    Question Relative newbie question

    Hey everyone.

    I have a Series 1 SATT60 DTivo. I am currently running tftp, bash, turbonet, and tivoweb. I installed both tystudio & tytool & can't get either to work right, presumably because I need to install the unscramble script. Is there a better how to for this than the one in the readme? Or can you provide the steps for me in detail?

    Lou

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •