Page 34 of 44 FirstFirst ... 243233343536 ... LastLast
Results 496 to 510 of 647

Thread: How to disable tystream encryption to enable extraction

  1. #496
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    24

    Is it possible to remove scrambling from

    shows already recorded?

  2. #497
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    2,402
    Quote Originally Posted by SBI
    shows already recorded?
    As it happens, yes. (At least sometimes.)

    ew

  3. #498
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    4,085
    Quote Originally Posted by SBI
    Is it possible to remove scrambling from shows already recorded?
    To elebrate further: go read post #2 in this thread and follow the appropriate link for the "next stop".
    Last edited by Jamie; 02-19-2006 at 05:00 PM.

  4. #499
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by Jamie
    To elebrate further: go read post #2 in this thread and follow the appropriate link for the "next stop".

    I did read and followed everything, but I am getting errors.
    I run ciphercheck.tcl and got the following:

    Basement-TiVo# ./ciphercheck.tcl
    CipherCheck.tcl by AlphaWolf_HK

    couldn't open "/tmp/scrambletest": no such file or directory
    while executing
    "open "/tmp/scrambletest" r"
    (procedure "crypcheck" line 3)
    invoked from within
    "crypcheck $fsid"
    ("uplevel" body line 8)
    invoked from within
    "uplevel $body"
    invoked from within
    "transaction {uplevel $body}"
    (procedure "RetryTransaction" line 5)
    invoked from within
    "RetryTransaction {
    set objindex [strim [mfs scan /Recording/LiveCache -start "" -count 1]]
    set fsid [lindex $objindex 0]
    set obj [db $db o..."
    (file "./ciphercheck.tcl" line 50)
    Basement-TiVo#
    Basement-TiVo#

    I used the s2_unscramble "In Place"...after unscrambling all parts of the shows that I am interested in I tried to run kcso.tcl (exactly as it says in the Readme file) and got the following error:

    Basement-TiVo# kcso.tcl
    expected integer but got ""
    while executing
    "db $db openidconstruction $showFsid"
    (file ".//kcso.tcl" line 38)
    aborting open transaction ...
    Basement-TiVo#
    Basement-TiVo#
    So, I am lost...I read everything and followed but something doesn't work. Any help will be appreciated.

  5. #500
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    4,085
    Quote Originally Posted by SBI
    I did read and followed everything, but I am getting errors.
    I run ciphercheck.tcl and got the following: ...
    The problem with ciphercheck.tcl is the result of not having a working mfs_export on your path. There is a C version of ciphercheck now, and I recommend that one instead of the tcl script, since it is faster and doesn't have any external dependencies. The C version of ciphercheck (as well as a working mfs_export) are in this package. IIRC, csoscout.tcl also depends on a working mfs_export.
    I used the s2_unscramble "In Place"...after unscrambling all parts of the shows that I am interested in I tried to run kcso.tcl (exactly as it says in the Readme file) and got the following error:
    kcso.tcl takes an argument: the show FSID. It appears that you invoked it without passing that in. I'd personally use csoscout.tcl instead, but you do want to be careful to not run it when you have the s2_unscramble installed (since may be fooled into thinking that shows that are still scrambled are not).

    Monte to the s2_unscramble kernel; unscramble the shows you want to unscramble; then reboot going back to your normal kernel. Run ciphercheck to verify that the shows you wanted to unscramble are in fact unscrambled, then run csoscout.tcl to remove the cso keys (which should no longer be needed).

    If your shows are precious to you, it might be safer to use the "traditional" extraction/unscramble method rather than the "In place" method. If your shows are really precious to you, make a copy onto another disk and work on that instead of on the original disk. That way you have nothing to lose if you make a mistake.

  6. #501
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    24
    Thank you Jamie.
    Before I start messing up, and since I am not that familiar with Linux, where can I get more info about the "monte" process?

  7. #502
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    4,085
    Quote Originally Posted by SBI
    Thank you Jamie.
    Before I start messing up, and since I am not that familiar with Linux, where can I get more info about the "monte" process?
    I assumed you had gotten through that if you had read, understood and followed everything in the s2_unscramble README. The sections that cover this are:
    Obviously, this mechanism requires that the user be able to install a custom kernel and extraction tools in his/her TiVo; the mechanics of doing this is outside the scope of this document.
    and
    2. Install the custom kernel containing the s2_unscramble software. The recommended method for this is to use the killhdinitrd and the "rc.sysinit.real" approach (search on www.dealdatabase.com).
    Further discussion belongs in the S2_unscamble thread, or in appropriate monte thread.

  8. #503
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    24
    I understood what I needed to do, but reading through the s2_unscramble doesn't make one a Linux expert, unfortunately.

  9. #504
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    4,085
    Quote Originally Posted by SBI
    I understood what I needed to do
    If you didn't monte, then it does not seem to be the case that you understood what you needed to. Being able to monte to a custom kernel is a critical requirement for s2_unscramble.

  10. #505
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    5
    This doesn't seem to work with an Baked 3.1.5f HR10-250

  11. #506
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1
    Telnet in to the TIVO and back-up the tivoapp file
    Enter the following commands at the prompt:

    mount -o remount,rw /
    cd /tvbin/
    cp -p tivoapp tivoapp.noscramble
    mv tivoapp tivoapp.tmp
    cp -p tivoapp.noscramble tivoapp

    use “echo -ne "\x3C\x02\x00\x00" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=6984684”

    Ensure that tivoapp is executable and reboot
    Enter the following commands at the prompt:

    chmod 755 tivoapp
    mount -o remount,ro /
    reboot

  12. #507
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    5
    ok i rung the ciphercheck:

    tivosh ./ciphercheck.tcl


    CipherCheck.tcl by AlphaWolf_HK

    TyStream encryption is currently enabled.

    Here is the status of your current recordings:

    Encrypted CSO Set Stream Name
    --------- ------- -----------------------------------------------------------
    Yes No Entourage
    Yes No Entourage
    Yes Yes Mad Money
    Yes Yes South Park
    Yes Yes NUMB3RS
    Yes Yes Mad Money
    Yes Yes 24
    Yes No Swing Shift
    Yes No Ladies Man
    Yes No The Equalizer
    Yes No Next of Kin
    Yes No Cop Land
    Yes No Strange Days at Blake Holsey High
    Yes Yes Miami Vice
    Yes Yes Mystic River
    Yes Yes Harry and Son
    Yes Yes The Shanghai Gesture
    Yes Yes Same Time, Next Year
    Yes Yes Catch That Kid

  13. #508
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    4,085
    Quote Originally Posted by rrosnowski
    ok i rung the ciphercheck:

    tivosh ./ciphercheck.tcl
    ciphercheck.tcl is obsolete. Run ciphercheck (the C version, not the tcl version). It's in alphawolfs all-in-one package and in mfs-utils.

  14. #509
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    5
    Will this solve the encryption?

  15. #510
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    4,085
    Quote Originally Posted by rrosnowski
    Will this solve the encryption?
    No, but chances are you've already successfully disabled encryption and you're just seeing the wrong results from ciphercheck.tcl, probably due to an old leftover /tmp/scrambletest file.
    Last edited by Jamie; 02-26-2006 at 02:48 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •