Page 46 of 115 FirstFirst ... 3644454647485696 ... LastLast
Results 676 to 690 of 1714

Thread: Backup image and slice begging thread

  1. #676
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    37
    Quote Originally Posted by PlainBill
    Here.

    PlainBill
    You mean I have to buy InstantCake?

  2. #677
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Quote Originally Posted by Flavario
    You mean I have to buy InstantCake?
    That may be your best option. Alternatives would include using AlphaWolf's minimal 6.2 system from eMule, or downloading a 3.1.1c or later image and the 6.2 slices from eMule. Then you install 3.1.1c, hack it, load the slices, install the 6.2 version for your hardware, and hack IT.

    Frankly, I'm rather tight with a dollar and I have the skills to do that, but I would be tempted to just use instantcake if I was in a hurry.

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  3. #678
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    37
    Quote Originally Posted by PlainBill
    That may be your best option. Alternatives would include using AlphaWolf's minimal 6.2 system from eMule, or downloading a 3.1.1c or later image and the 6.2 slices from eMule. Then you install 3.1.1c, hack it, load the slices, install the 6.2 version for your hardware, and hack IT.

    Frankly, I'm rather tight with a dollar and I have the skills to do that, but I would be tempted to just use instantcake if I was in a hurry.

    PlainBill

    I'm not looking to hack the software with any additional networking (or other) features. I'm just looking for a stock replacement software for the Samsung SIR-S4040R DirecTivo. Would the 6.2 AlphaWolf Minimal system you mentioned be enough to accomplish this?

  4. #679
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Quote Originally Posted by Flavario
    I'm not looking to hack the software with any additional networking (or other) features. I'm just looking for a stock replacement software for the Samsung SIR-S4040R DirecTivo. Would the 6.2 AlphaWolf Minimal system you mentioned be enough to accomplish this?
    I wouldn't use it on any system that would be calling home. If you use the minimal image your Samsung will report itself as an RCA. This MIGHT be ignored, or it might trigger a reinstall, or ????

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  5. #680
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    16
    Anyone know of another source for a 6.2 image? Seems that when I redid my server's raid array, I lost my tivo stuff, and it would also appear that emule (perhaps just my copy) doesn't have anything available online right now. Since I'd normally (past 3+ years) get updates from emule, etc, and don't really want to pay ptvupdate, since I like to do things myself, I am now stuck.

    Any suggestions for a source of the image?

    Thanks

  6. #681
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Narnia
    Posts
    1,266
    Try searching eMule for 6.2 dtivo minimal

    Otherwise, although Instant Cake costs about $20 (and you can get a 6.2 DirecTivo image nowadays) it downloads pretty quick if you want it *right now*.

  7. #682
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    65
    Anybody sharing 62_dtivo_slices.zip? I'm coming up empty handed (0 sources) on both eMule and BitTorrent... :-(

  8. #683
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Did you try a Global Server search? I see 14 sources.

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  9. #684
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    36

    6.2 tivoapp needed

    I am trying to find an original tivoapp for 6.2 in a Phillips DSR704. I have been unable to get one off emule.

    Does anyone have access to one, or a good current emule link?

    Thanks

  10. #685
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2
    I have a TCD540080 that the hard drive took a crap in.

    I have an extra 40 Gig drive laying around and i am fine with the loss of capacity. I don't have an image to put on it. What do I do?

    I tried using an image from my 40 hour tivo and this box (the 80) keeps rebooting.

  11. #686
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Narnia
    Posts
    1,266
    Sounds like your 40-hr is a different model. You need a TCD540040 image, and even then it might not squeeze onto that individual drive.

    You might want to go to ptvupgrade.com and buy an Instant Cake image for the 540 model.

  12. #687
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2
    I considered that option. My only reservation is that if the Tivo itself is faulty and I don't want to waste money on it replacing the drive if I have to turn around and replace the unit.

  13. #688
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    8

    Phillps hdr31202

    Need an image for a Phillps hdr31202.

    Downloading the 3.1.1c AlphaWolf slice and a couple other 3.1.1c slices now.

    Will these work?

  14. #689
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Quote Originally Posted by DuhhThrifty1
    Need an image for a Phillps hdr31202.

    Downloading the 3.1.1c AlphaWolf slice and a couple other 3.1.1c slices now.

    Will these work?
    Not even close. Unless someone steps forward to help, PTVupgrade's InstantCake may be your best option.

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  15. #690
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    8
    Well OK then....

    I'm using the image from my other (sony) tivo and it seems to be working, but how will I use the Tivo Service?

    I'm sure when it calls home it will notice the different hardware.

    Can I just call Tivo and activate it?

    Also will I be able to buy the lifetime service since I picked up the Phillips used?

    Thanks again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •