Page 12 of 115 FirstFirst ... 210111213142262112 ... LastLast
Results 166 to 180 of 1716

Thread: Backup image and slice begging thread

  1. #166
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Quote Originally Posted by dalesd
    I have that file, same hash and everything, and I'm trying to put it onto an 80Gb drive. It's giving me a restore error: Backup target not large enough for entire backup by itself.
    Common problem. Not all 80 Gig drives are the same size. Restore it to a 120 Gig - they're real cheap.

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  2. #167
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by PlainBill
    Common problem. Not all 80 Gig drives are the same size. Restore it to a 120 Gig - they're real cheap.

    PlainBill
    Thanks.

    I tried it again and left out the -s 127 and it worked.

    I have a 160Gb drive on the way ($50 AR from outpost.com) I just had this 80Gb laying around, so I thought I'd see what I can do. Actually, I'm not even a D* customer yet, but I will be soon. I don't even have a dish, so I'm kinda limited in what I can do.

  3. #168
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    8

    4.0.1b Image

    Hi I'm looking for a 4.0.1b Image for my hughes hdvr2 which I have running with a 3.1.0 since I got it more than a year ago.

    Now with the killhdinitrd method I figured I want to unsleeper my tivo, update the image and start learning again , please advise.

  4. #169
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Quote Originally Posted by Hellbent
    Hi I'm looking for a 4.0.1b Image for my hughes hdvr2 which I have running with a 3.1.0 since I got it more than a year ago.

    Now with the killhdinitrd method I figured I want to unsleeper my tivo, update the image and start learning again , please advise.
    Emule. See other posts in this thread, especially this one. http://dealdatabase.com/forum/showpo...&postcount=163

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  5. #170
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    8
    Found it , thanks

  6. #171
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    155
    I am looking for an image for a TCD24004A , 40 hour series 2 unit.
    I would be most appreciative if someone out there could point me in the right direction
    email is tivo@ johnsolo.net if you want to email me. Thank you thank you thank you
    I will search emule, but I dont know what to search for, model number?
    Last edited by johnsolo; 11-12-2004 at 04:53 AM.

  7. #172
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Quote Originally Posted by johnsolo
    I am looking for an image for a TCD24004A , 40 hour series 2 unit.
    I would be most appreciative if someone out there could point me in the right direction
    email is tivo@ johnsolo.net if you want to email me. Thank you thank you thank you
    I will search emule, but I dont know what to search for, model number?
    You need a 4.01b image. Unfortunately, the good 4.0.1b-02-2 image on eMule is for an 80 gig drive. Your best bet may to download several of the tivo 4.x images there, find one which will restore to your drive, then let it call in to update.

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  8. #173
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    2

    *mule image

    Hey plainbill I have been trying to get tivo-S2-4.0.1b-02-2-xxx.mfs but my mule client keeps saying part 12 is corrupt (I have downloaded a total of 488.08 megs so far for a 162.65M file :-(. I have connections to many people (my nick http://www.aMule.org, you might have seen me) for this file for several days now and eveyone seems to have part their part 12 corrupted (as it get downloaded, checksumed and thrown away), I'm starting to belive this could be an error on my client, any ideas?

    Thanks

    (ps if the disk image is 80 megs and I throw it on to larger drive (120GB), will I need to try to resize the partition after its been burned to the new drive.)

  9. #174
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Quote Originally Posted by digitaldan
    Hey plainbill I have been trying to get tivo-S2-4.0.1b-02-2-xxx.mfs but my mule client keeps saying part 12 is corrupt (I have downloaded a total of 488.08 megs so far for a 162.65M file :-(. I have connections to many people (my nick http://www.aMule.org, you might have seen me) for this file for several days now and eveyone seems to have part their part 12 corrupted (as it get downloaded, checksumed and thrown away), I'm starting to belive this could be an error on my client, any ideas?

    Thanks

    (ps if the disk image is 80 megs and I throw it on to larger drive (120GB), will I need to try to resize the partition after its been burned to the new drive.)
    OK, my copy has been verified good, and I've put it on my shared directory. Here's the link ed2k://|file|Tivo-S2-4.0.1b-02-2-xxx.mfs|170550624|48FFAD93E480DE2149F908E5092E8EA6|h=Z7VXOT76S6DWY7TUREASFTUKCCJLIQJG|/

    I've also cleared out a lot of junk from the shared folder, so hopefully we can get a working copy distributed to everyone.

    If you restore it to a 120 Gig drive use the -x switch (mfsrestore -s 127 -xzpi /path/to/image/Tivo-S2-4.0.1b-02-2-xxx.mfs /dev/hdc ) and it will be expanded to use the full capacity of the drive.

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  10. #175
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    91
    Quote Originally Posted by PlainBill
    OK, my copy has been verified good, and I've put it on my shared directory. Here's the link ed2k://|file|Tivo-S2-4.0.1b-02-2-xxx.mfs|170550624|48FFAD93E480DE2149F908E5092E8EA6|h=Z7VXOT76S6DWY7TUREASFTUKCCJLIQJG|/

    I've also cleared out a lot of junk from the shared folder, so hopefully we can get a working copy distributed to everyone.

    If you restore it to a 120 Gig drive use the -x switch (mfsrestore -s 127 -xzpi /path/to/image/Tivo-S2-4.0.1b-02-2-xxx.mfs /dev/hdc ) and it will be expanded to use the full capacity of the drive.

    PlainBill
    I downloaded this with no problems after PlainBill posted,
    I have also made it available in my shared folder.
    Last edited by pmn1; 11-12-2004 at 01:28 PM.

  11. #176
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    155
    Quote Originally Posted by PlainBill
    You need a 4.01b image. Unfortunately, the good 4.0.1b-02-2 image on eMule is for an 80 gig drive. Your best bet may to download several of the tivo 4.x images there, find one which will restore to your drive, then let it call in to update.

    PlainBill
    Bill thanks as always for your help. Good news is that my upgrade drive is 120gb. I can probably put and 80gb image on there and expand it, huh?

  12. #177
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    12

    Image for 140060 Unit

    Does anyone have an image for a 140060 unit. My disk died and that obx was never upgraded so I don't have a backup. I you don't have an image then tell me the filename that I should search for on emule.

    Thanks

  13. #178
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Quote Originally Posted by johnsolo
    Bill thanks as always for your help. Good news is that my upgrade drive is 120gb. I can probably put and 80gb image on there and expand it, huh?
    See here. http://dealdatabase.com/forum/showpo...&postcount=174

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  14. #179
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    155
    Quote Originally Posted by PlainBill
    You need a 4.01b image. Unfortunately, the good 4.0.1b-02-2 image on eMule is for an 80 gig drive. Your best bet may to download several of the tivo 4.x images there, find one which will restore to your drive, then let it call in to update.

    PlainBill
    I downloaded that exact image from emule and mfsrestore'd it to my new 120gb drive.

    Here is the exact syntax I used (120gb on pri master, "c" drive on secondary master, cdrom on secondary slave):

    mfsrestore /dev/hda -i /mnt/c/Tivo-s2-4.0.1B-02-2-Xxx.mfs

    The restore did it's thing. Once it finished I typed:
    mfsinfo /dev/hda
    and it showed it as an 80 hour unit.

    Hooked it up to the TV and it is still getting stuck at "Almost there". Grrr. Same error as my botched upgrade (post #14 has details):

    /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit: /tvbin/TvLauncher: No such file or directory

    Getting similar errors for mfsadd, and switcherstart too.
    /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit: /tvbin/switcherstart: No such file or directory
    /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit: mfsadd: command not found


    EDIT: Looks like your syntax:
    mfsrestore -s 127 -xzpi /path/to/image/Tivo-S2-4.0.1b-02-2-xxx.mfs /dev/hdc
    is different from the mfstools readme where I was getting my command lines. I will try your syntax and post back shortly.
    Last edited by johnsolo; 11-12-2004 at 05:34 PM.

  15. #180
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Quote Originally Posted by johnsolo
    I downloaded that exact image from emule and mfsrestore'd it to my new 120gb drive.

    <SNIP>

    EDIT: Looks like your syntax:
    mfsrestore -s 127 -xzpi /path/to/image/Tivo-S2-4.0.1b-02-2-xxx.mfs /dev/hdc
    is different from the mfstools readme where I was getting my command lines. I will try your syntax and post back shortly.
    To be precise, I restored this to a 120 gig drive earlier this week FAT-32 drive primary master, cdrom primary slave, 120 gig drive Secondary master. I used the command:

    mfsrestore -zpi /cdrive/tivo/Tivo-S2-4.0.1b-02-2-xxx.mfs /dev/hdc

    It restored, and ran on a HDVR2 without problems. I tried a few tricks, then expanded it to fill the drive with mfsadd -X /dev/hdc. Again,it worked perfectly.

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •