Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: turner two

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6

    turner two

    i have a rca 490 and i cant get turner two to get anything higher than a 60 on the signal stength tuner one is great i have tried switching cables still same problems and i am using a quad lnb anyone have any suggestions

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    West Hartford CT
    Posts
    620
    Quote Originally Posted by gbd780
    i have a rca 490 and i cant get turner two to get anything higher than a 60 on the signal stength tuner one is great i have tried switching cables still same problems and i am using a quad lnb anyone have any suggestions

    tweek (adjust-nudge) your dish, not sure if that would work, as it is not the SAT that is the issue; but unless you have a bad tuner ? What else can you try without spending $ - other than swapping cables from turner 1<->2 to see if it is a cable problem.
    Last edited by Hi8; 02-06-2004 at 02:39 AM.
    ~Hi8

    (4) Hughes SD DVR40
    (1) Hughes HR10-250
    (2) xbmc XBOX X2 & xbit

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6
    so the quad lnb is ok for this application i had a dual lnb but wanted a third receiver and the quad was cheaper then a multiswitch. i had no problem getting a signal on any other receiver (i have three) i just took the cable from one of the receivers and hooked it up to tuner two

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by gbd780
    so the quad lnb is ok for this application i had a dual lnb but wanted a third receiver and the quad was cheaper then a multiswitch. i had no problem getting a signal on any other receiver (i have three) i just took the cable from one of the receivers and hooked it up to tuner two

    I have 2 of the quad lnb's and they work just fine. If you took a cable from another unit that had good signal stregnth and plugged it into this unit and got low stregnth then I think you can assume you have a tuner problem.
    This is a common problem with these receivers. Some think heat is a factor.

    kazak

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6
    could there be any other problem cause i did get about 60% on the meter but if not can the tuner be peplaced and does anyone know where and how to do it

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    72
    did you run the UTV through the multiswitch set up screen?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6
    why i am not using a multi switch but maybe i will try that guess it cant hurt

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6
    i just tried that and did not work but now when i run system test it says tuner two failed it would always say tuner ok before

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    72
    That sucx....

    Try unplugging it for 24 hours....

    If you feel up to it can you open the receiver and pop the top of the metal can of the failed tuner and report back with the four digit date code that starts with a 0 on the little 48pin chip inside

    It appears the Maxim 2104 chips dated pervious to 0145 are not up to quality standards and are expected to fail.

    Pissed off?..... Take it up with Thomson....
    Check out AVS for more info on the bum tuner chips

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6
    at work now but will try in morning

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •