Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: 250GB Maxtor Upgrade

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    8

    250GB Maxtor Upgrade

    I have a MaXLine Plus II 250GB ATA/133 HD would love to get this puppy into the TIVO.

    Problem, I can get the MFS 2.0 to see 250GB it only sees 137.

    I've tried DLGCHK without success.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,754
    Quote Originally Posted by kooma
    I have a MaXLine Plus II 250GB ATA/133 HD would love to get this puppy into the TIVO.

    Problem, I can get the MFS 2.0 to see 250GB it only sees 137.

    I've tried DLGCHK without success.

    Any ideas?
    There are lba48 enabled bootdisks with MFS tools on them, problem being if you format the drive at 250gig you need to hack the kernel on your tivo so that it can recgonize drives that big. If you put in a drive formatted to 250gig without hacking the kernel you will have your tivo crash or at a minimum be unable to record once it hits a sector beyond 137gig.

    Search for LBA48
    Malfunct

    HDVR2 - 120hours - Extraction enabled
    SD-DVR40 - Unhacked (for now)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    339
    look on tivocommunity.com for todd millers lba48 hack

    i believe that lba48 does not work on monte'd TiVos.

    the biggest problem with a working lba48 config is a tivo software update with a standard tivo kernel.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    The is one other possibility. Way back in the dark ages of DOS when we first hit the 512 Meg, limit Maxtor made drives that had a special jumper setting. This setting would cause the drive to appear as two distinct drives to the motherboard. IF that feature is again available, it would make it easy to use the full capacity of the drive without any special drivers (your 250 Gig drive would appear as two 125 Gig drives). Before trying any special lba48 patches, I would suggest calling Maxtor tech support.

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    339
    save your quarter

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    8
    Thanks guys, I have traded my 250GB drive for 2 - 120GB's....

    Ok, now I'm going to try the hacking... ;-) I sure do have a lot of reading to do already at 4 or 5 hrs... don't even know where to start.

    I have my Tivo SA2 with upgraded 120GB drives. It is at 4.0.1 with my subscription activated. I also have my virgin 2.0.3 image.

    Where do I start? Just point me in the right direction, as I want to learn it not just get a 1,2,3 instruction plan.

    Thanks guys...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    53

    My HD Question

    My retailer had an incredible deal on 160GB Western Digital drives. They were cheaper than 120GB drives. I bought one and, before replacing my existing HD, did a ton of research here. I realized that Tivo's can't read more than 137.4 Gigs because of LBA48 limitation, so, I created a partition 137.4 large, installed it and monted it. Everything is working fine.

    My question, though, has to do with the difference between GBs and GiBs. Should I have created a 120 GB partition (which, I think, would give me 137.4 GiBs)? By creating a 137 GB partition, have I create a larger "GiB-sized" drive which may crash when I reach the limit of the partition? Thanks.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Quote Originally Posted by Jtw_124
    My retailer had an incredible deal on 160GB Western Digital drives. They were cheaper than 120GB drives. I bought one and, before replacing my existing HD, did a ton of research here. I realized that Tivo's can't read more than 137.4 Gigs because of LBA48 limitation, so, I created a partition 137.4 large, installed it and monted it. Everything is working fine.

    My question, though, has to do with the difference between GBs and GiBs. Should I have created a 120 GB partition (which, I think, would give me 137.4 GiBs)? By creating a 137 GB partition, have I create a larger "GiB-sized" drive which may crash when I reach the limit of the partition? Thanks.
    How did partition the drive? If you used a manufacturer's utility to reduce the size of the drive, you're probably OK. All manufacturers report size in GiB for advertizing purposes, most also use it in their utilities. The best way to check your results is to go to the System Information screen. It should show your recording capacity is about 120 hours.

    If you just used Windows to create a partition, you're SOL. Monteing a new drive involves making up to 16 partitions, the 137 GiB partition you created would have been deleted and the entire drive used.

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    53
    Quote Originally Posted by PlainBill
    How did partition the drive?
    The best way to check your results is to go to the System Information screen. It should show your recording capacity is about 120 hours.
    Yes, I used the Western Digital utilities that came with the drive. My confusion, is that the utilities didn't say "what size drive would you like?" but instead said "how many partitions would you like to create and how large should they be?" I created one partition 137.4 gig in size (rest is unused), which I hope is the same as telling the drive how large it should report itself to the computer as.

    Everything monted properly and the machine is working. I don't think I have a problem, but its one of those things that I won't really know about until I reach the capacity of the drive/partition at some future point. My system information screen reports either "approximately 120 hours" or "more than 120 hours" (I can't look it up now as I'm at work.)

    Is there a UNIX command from within telnet that will tell me the perceived disk size and/or how much space remains available? I tried "quota", but that didn't seem to work and I figure is more suited for a mainframe environment, anyways.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Quote Originally Posted by Jtw_124

    Everything monted properly and the machine is working. I don't think I have a problem, but its one of those things that I won't really know about until I reach the capacity of the drive/partition at some future point. My system information screen reports either "approximately 120 hours" or "more than 120 hours" (I can't look it up now as I'm at work.)

    Is there a UNIX command from within telnet that will tell me the perceived disk size and/or how much space remains available? I tried "quota", but that didn't seem to work and I figure is more suited for a mainframe environment, anyways.
    120 hours sounds good. Others have reported capacities of about 140 hours with a full 160 GiB drive (not what you want to see). pdisk -l will show you the partitions and their sizes.

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    53
    Quote Originally Posted by PlainBill
    pdisk -l will show you the partitions and their sizes.

    PlainBill
    Thanks a lot for your help, PlainBill. (You're SuperBill in my book.)

    I do try to do a lot of Google searches and educate myself, but I'm new to UNIX and doing the best that I can. I'm using DOS as a framework, and don't see what I'm expecting to see from my DOS days.

    Does the following information lead you to believe anything is wrong with my setup? I was hoping to see information that tells me how much of my hard drive has been used and how much is free (as with "dir" in DOS and the supplemental information that follows the directory tree output) but I don't see that here: (why so many "can't open" messages??)


    tivo:/var/tmp$ pdisk -l

    pdisk: can't open file '/dev/sda' (No such device or address)
    pdisk: can't open file '/dev/sdb' (No such device or address)
    pdisk: can't open file '/dev/sdc' (No such device or address)

    Partition map (with 512 byte blocks) on '/dev/hda'
    #: type name length base ( size )
    1: Apple_partition_map Apple 63 @ 1
    2: Image Bootstrap 1 1 @ 77261888
    3: Image Kernel 1 8192 @ 77261889 ( 4.0M)
    4: Ext2 Root 1 262144 @ 77270081 (128.0M)
    5: Image Bootstrap 2 4096 @ 77532225 ( 2.0M)
    6: Image Kernel 2 4096 @ 77536321 ( 2.0M)
    7: Ext2 Root 2 262144 @ 77540417 (128.0M)
    8: Swap Linux swap 260096 @ 77802561 (127.0M)
    9: Ext2 /var 262144 @ 78062657 (128.0M)
    10: MFS MFS application region 1048576 @ 78324801 (512.0M)
    11: MFS MFS media region 33100800 @ 44161088 ( 15.8G)
    12: MFS Second MFS application region 1048576 @ 79373377 (512.0M)
    13: MFS Second MFS media region 44161024 @ 64 ( 21.1G)
    14: MFS New MFS Application 1024 @ 80421953
    15: MFS New MFS Media 188006400 @ 80422977 ( 89.6G)
    16: Apple_Free Extra 6078 @ 268429377 ( 3.0M)

    pdisk: can't open file '/dev/hdb' (No such device or address)
    pdisk: can't open file '/dev/scd0' (No such device or address)
    pdisk: can't open file '/dev/scd1' (No such device or address)
    pdisk: can't open file '/dev/scd2' (No such device or address)
    pdisk: can't open file '/dev/scd3' (No such device or address)

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Quote Originally Posted by Jtw_124
    Thanks a lot for your help, PlainBill. (You're SuperBill in my book.)

    I do try to do a lot of Google searches and educate myself, but I'm new to UNIX and doing the best that I can. I'm using DOS as a framework, and don't see what I'm expecting to see from my DOS days.

    Does the following information lead you to believe anything is wrong with my setup? I was hoping to see information that tells me how much of my hard drive has been used and how much is free (as with "dir" in DOS and the supplemental information that follows the directory tree output) but I don't see that here: (why so many "can't open" messages??)
    <SNIP>
    Dos is a good starter for Linux. After a few weeks with Linux, you will appreciate just how limited DOS was. (I first started using DOS at version 2.1. Hacking the TiVo of course forces you to become familiar with Linux. A few weeks ago I had to boot from dos to reflash a cd-burner firmware. I typed in ls / to get a list of files on the floppy, then felt foolish when dos didn't list the directory - just gave me an error message).

    The listing looks correct for a 137 Gig drive - just adding up the partitions will give you approximately 137 GiB. If you type in pdisk -help you can see more options for the commands.

    The answer to the 'can't open' question has to do with the way Linux handles devices. I don't understand it (yet), but think of it in terms of an inventory of a parts cabinet (the type with the little plastic drawers that slide out). The report would list the number of items in each drawer, including empty drawers, and if complete, even note which drawers were missing.

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •