Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How to get joe editor working

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    5

    How to get joe editor working

    I have used sleepers ISO my new hard drive with the hacks.

    I want to get joe editor working in the hyperterm.
    I have a bash prompt and when I type in joe filename nothing works, it says command not found. I read somewhere that sleepers ISO put joe in a different place than the program knows.

    How do I get joe editor to work?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by GMAN1234
    I have used sleepers ISO my new hard drive with the hacks.
    I read somewhere that sleepers ISO put joe in a different place than the program knows.

    How do I get joe editor to work?
    move the Joe editor to the /var/hack directory.

    worked for me.
    DSR7000 v3.1.1b
    WD1200jb
    FA-120 USB2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    537
    at bash prompt

    mkdir /var/hack/etc
    ln -s /etc/joerc /var/hack/etc/joerc

    learn some scripting and you can add this to rc.sysinit.author
    Ma l'italiano benissimo

    Ex-Cantidate John Kerry
    Its not what you want it's what the electorate wants.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    537
    Quote Originally Posted by (o)here(o)
    move the Joe editor to the /var/hack directory.

    worked for me.
    Just so you know after a few reboots the system will wipe that dir.
    Ma l'italiano benissimo

    Ex-Cantidate John Kerry
    Its not what you want it's what the electorate wants.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,754
    Quote Originally Posted by tytyty
    Just so you know after a few reboots the system will wipe that dir.
    I think its dependant on the size of the /var directory, though in general you are correct, having hacks in the /var directory isn't the best idea.

    Does the tivo support symbolic links? If so maybe I should write up a little bash script that will whack in joe symlinks to /var/hack on boot?

    Edit: Ok, so you already suggested the symbolic links, sorry for repeating without reading the whole thread.
    Malfunct

    HDVR2 - 120hours - Extraction enabled
    SD-DVR40 - Unhacked (for now)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    537
    Quote Originally Posted by malfunct
    I think its dependant on the size of the /var directory, though in general you are correct, having hacks in the /var directory isn't the best idea.

    Does the tivo support symbolic links? If so maybe I should write up a little bash script that will whack in joe symlinks to /var/hack on boot?

    Edit: Ok, so you already suggested the symbolic links, sorry for repeating without reading the whole thread.
    Might try this

    if ! [ -e /var/hack/etc ]
    then
    mkdir /var/hack/etc
    ln -s /etc/joerc /var/hack/etc/joerc
    fi
    Ma l'italiano benissimo

    Ex-Cantidate John Kerry
    Its not what you want it's what the electorate wants.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •