Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: TivoLCD v.01 - Instructions and How-To for adding an LCD statu screen to Tivo

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    38

    TivoLCD v.01 - Instructions and How-To for adding an LCD statu screen to Tivo

    After adding another hard drive to my Tivo, enabling telnet, ftp, TivoWeb, TyTool and all the other cool goodies that are out there, I started searching around for a new project. I stumbled across this web page: http://www.notacon.com/tivolcd/ where a guy in the UK added a 2 line screen to his Tivo. Very cool I thought, why can't I do that.. so I began reading his page, (which left much to be desired in terms of instructions), but I figured enough out to realize that only needed a few parts to get this up and running...

    I've completed my guide for adding an LCD screen to Tivo, as well as my hacked-to-pieces code. Please see http://www.disneycorner.com/toddscorner/tivolcd for full details.

    Enjoy!
    Todd




    Last edited by wdwms; 04-04-2004 at 09:25 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    SouthEast (EST)
    Posts
    196

    LCD "Bootup Message" before Tivo Boots...

    I've been away from the scene since my dtivo started to get dusty. (Ahem!)

    So, I switched back to cable and brought my series 1 312 unit back in action with cable.

    It's a lifetime sub, never called in to tivo since V1.3 !

    It's been out of action for 2+ years.

    I'm Back!!

    I have two 250 gig drives in the old beast, and placed a CacheCARD in there.

    I just spent the entire night playing with the Crystalfontz LCD display .PDF and runningit on my PC. I'm too trashed to use my dremmel tool and I even have the dremmel drill press!

    Anyhow, I have created a startup screen for the display. (It has memory), and can boot a message, and a scrolling one at that, that will be displayed the moment power is applied to the Tivo, before the rc.sysinit even starts to go!



    I plan to expand the information from the current scripts on this new toy.

    Here's my "cold boot" display, by simply applying power to the display.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    SouthEast (EST)
    Posts
    196

    Smile

    The second line will scroll and looks neat!

    The beta s/w o program the boot display is on the crystalfontz (ad www & com) page.

    Rename the attached file "startup.cf"

    The crystalfontz boot image editor is quite simple.


    I'll move further into the .tcl and sutch tommorow.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by scanman0; 10-08-2004 at 06:48 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    8
    Any updates to this esp for S2 Tivo's or Dtivo's ???

    Also the above link DOES work if you add a trailing "/" to the link and there are still TCL scripts available for S1's to download!!

    http://www.disneycorner.com/toddscorner/tivolcd/
    Last edited by eBoyDog; 08-25-2007 at 12:25 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    38
    Sorry no plans for any S2 version of this... 1. I dont' have an S2, and 2. It may not be possible.

    Sorry

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1
    Both links on the original post don't seem to work, any ideas where I can get info on this project?

    Regards
    Richard.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    4
    Holy old thread resurrection

    http://awooga.nl/the-tivo-lcd-project

    That's the url replacing the one on the notacon.com domain.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •