Thread: I'm a complete newbie with DVRs, some questions

I'm a complete newbie with DVRs, some questions

I've been reading up a lot on recording TV shows recently. Right now, I have analogue cable with Comcast, and a ATI TV Wonder VE on my PC. I've tried a little bit of recording, and the quality is pretty crappy. I wanted to figure out a way to capture the video in the highest quality possible, as a method of archiving some television programs.

I read around in various forums, and from what I understand, in terms of set-top products, the DirecTV/TiVo combination is the best (not to mention most economical). From what I could gather, with this method, the MPEG2 stream that is sent to your satellite is captured by the TiVo without any re-encoding. With standalone TiVo (or ReplayTV) units, you receive the MPEG2 stream, and do another conversion to a new MPEG2 file.

In any case, if you're using the DirecTiVo way, after you have captured the file, is there a way to bring that file to your computer, and then burn a DVD without doing any further re-encoding, thus ensuring that the file on the DVD has the exact same quality as the original MPEG2 file that was received by your satellite?

Basically, I'm wondering about the way to capture that will lead to the highest quality. Is there some kind of computer capturing solution or via digital cable instead of satellite that yields results, or this the DirecTivo method the best?

By the way, I've been reading various posts here, and I've been overwhelmed with some of what's been written on how to move files from the TiVo to the computer. I have sufficient computer software and hardware knowledge, so will it be difficult for me?

Thanks a lot in advance!