Thread: HELP with BASH - Linux Primer

HELP with BASH - Linux Primer

Hope I'm in the right forum for this so here goes...

For reference here is the TiVo I'm working with: DirecTiVo Hughes SD-DVR40 (software version 3.1.1c) and the wireless NIC is a Netgear MA111

I am totally new to hacking my TiVo - the only experience I've had is upgrading from the included 40GB drive to a 160GB thanks to Hinsdale's How-To Guide. I am now trying to get my TiVo to make its phone calls using a wireless adapter instead of a phone-line. So after posting in this forum and poking around I figured out/was told that I had to Monte the TiVo. Thanks in
    large part to Sleeper's ISO I was able to Monte the TiVo. I then came up to the network drivers selection. I tried all three and didn't get anything out of my wireless adapter - back to the forums. I then found the post (don't remember the poster's name) referencing the Prism drivers that added support for my wireless adapter. It was a no-go though because I had to find a way
    to access a BASH prompt from within TiVo to install the drivers. After searching the forums some more I found that I would either have to do it with a serial cable and a terminal program or that I could do it with the TiVo's hard drive connected to my computer using MFSTOOLS. I decided to do it with the TiVo hard drive connected to my computer. Using MFSTOOLS I was able
    to get a BASH prompt which is when my trouble really started and where I need the most help.