Page 1 of 136 1231151101 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 2036

Thread: EtiVo: Automatic Re-encoding and catalogging of TiVo shows - 1.0.1924.0

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    705

    EtiVo: Automatic Re-encoding and catalogging of TiVo shows - 1.0.1924.0

    New version 1.0.1924.0

    Main site is at http://prish.com/etivo - you can find installation guides there.

    Forums can be found at http://active.prish.com/prishforum

    Downloads are at http://prish.com/etivo/downloads.htm

    Change lists can be found at http://prish.com/EtiVo/EtiVo_ChangeList.htm

    New version post
    Last edited by Masnark; 10-30-2005 at 03:57 PM. Reason: 1426 - New version.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    707
    Great work. Not no be harsh or anything, but what advantages do I have over having my videos on WMV instead of the readily-available MPG's or TY's (using TyTool).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    705

    Why WMV

    Well.. It all depends on what you need/want.

    They main reason I wanned to hack my TIVO was to enable my sister over-seas to download shows she wants.

    Things that might or might not be useful - these were the things I was interested in:
    1. I can store 1000 hours / 100Gb of decent quality (to me) shows - I wont need to stream or download things I want to see from my TiVo.
    2. The files are downloadable over a slow uplink connection (My DSL out is only about 128kbit - downloading 1GB over it would take forever).
    3. You can have multi-bitrate WMVs - which basically means that if you want to stream movies from your house to some external target, it will be pretty easy to do by using Windows Encoding Server (or even Windows Media Encoder, which is free).
    4. I got to write a multi-threaded communication layer. I haven't done that in a very long while.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    707
    The only reason I can think off, is the smaller file size... What would be so great. I'll give your app a try, and see how much space can I gain over the extracted videos.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    707
    What runtimes do I need? It says unable to locate mscoree.dll, so I guess I am missing some support libraries...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    705
    You need the .net runtime. I keep forgetting most people are not Mirosoftophiles like me.

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/netframewo...t/default.aspx

    I am adding a "Requirements" section to my post.

    The easiest way is just to download it from http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/en/default.asp

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    707
    Yeah. I am not installing a 24mb framework, just for a couple of DLL's. I am very anti-MS as it is...

    Sorry.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    705
    Most people are. (anti-MS)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    95
    This sounds like a cool tool, would be useful for pocketPC users, I may give it a shot when I move out and leave my DirecTivo at home

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    705
    I have a new, much much much more stable version.

    You can find it here:
    http://prish.com/etivo/downloads.htm

    And you can find much more usage info in http://prish.com/EtiVo.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Somerset, England
    Posts
    1,124
    Very tidy!
    Stuart

    Newbies - see if your questions are answered here Experts - can you add to the knowledge stored here? Developers - are your hacks listed here?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,754
    Quote Originally Posted by jasch
    Yeah. I am not installing a 24mb framework, just for a couple of DLL's. I am very anti-MS as it is...

    Sorry.
    You don't need the entire framework, only the redistributable which is much smaller. Also you need more than a "couple dlls", think java VM.
    Malfunct

    HDVR2 - 120hours - Extraction enabled
    SD-DVR40 - Unhacked (for now)

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    705
    Does anyone have any idea how I can see what my FTP Client is doing wrong by enabling logging on mfsFtp or something?

    I am getting the following problems:
    * Sometimes I will try opening connections and it will just downright fail.
    * I sometimes have problems with MfsFtp crashing completely. It's probably something that my client is sending wrong.

    Thanks

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Somerset, England
    Posts
    1,124
    You can start mfs_ftp in the foreground and watch its activity via telnet, or change the info(dbl) varable to some high number to see more in the regular log.
    Stuart

    Newbies - see if your questions are answered here Experts - can you add to the knowledge stored here? Developers - are your hacks listed here?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    705
    Quote Originally Posted by sanderton
    You can start mfs_ftp in the foreground and watch its activity via telnet, or change the info(dbl) varable to some high number to see more in the regular log.
    Hrrm...

    How do I run it in the foreground? When I execute it from telnet (mfsftp.tcl) it automatically runs itself in the background. Is there any switch I can use?

    Thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •