Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Drive noise after sleeper

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    18

    SUCCESS With Sleeper! Yay me.

    Probably the replacement drive I'm using, but is there normally a lot of disk activity following a drive replacement / sleepering? I hear the drive chugging away like it's doing a lot of random seeks. May have always done this and I just never paid attention. Maybe I'm paranoid.

    UD.
    Last edited by UberDuper; 05-16-2004 at 12:39 AM. Reason: Less crack this time.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    18
    Ahh. Deleting all the recorded shows it *thought* it still had quieted it down.
    I think we have SUCCESS!
    I slapped a 200GB drive in there for now. I'm planning on adding a 160GB drive after I order some brackets. I'm still within the limits of lba28 and I want to make sure I haven't screwed anything up. Tivo says I have recording capacity up to 157 hours. Is this what I should expect to see for 137GB?

    UD.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Quote Originally Posted by UberDuper
    Ahh. Deleting all the recorded shows it *thought* it still had quieted it down.
    I think we have SUCCESS!
    I slapped a 200GB drive in there for now. I'm planning on adding a 160GB drive after I order some brackets. I'm still within the limits of lba28 and I want to make sure I haven't screwed anything up. Tivo says I have recording capacity up to 157 hours. Is this what I should expect to see for 137GB?

    UD.
    No. A 120 Gig will give 105 hours; a 137 Gig would give about 120 hours.

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    18
    Well that's not good. What could i have done wrong? The sleeper CD I used only recognised 137GB of the drive.

    UD.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    18
    Hrmmm. crap. So I gotta run a drive tool to limit the drive to 137GB and redo everything. Sucktacular! Maybe I should spend more time looking for the lba48 patch.

    UD.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Posts
    18
    I upgraded with a 160GB drive and see the same thing: 157 hours of recording time. Been running like this for a few months without any problems. df output:

    Filesystem 1024-blocks Used Available Capacity Mounted on
    /dev/hda7 126911 57645 62713 48% /
    /dev/hda9 126911 14204 106154 12% /var

    tivoweb info module reports 130037 MB of total space + 8212 MB reserved ~= 135 GB. This sounds correct.
    S2 SA 7.2/Killhdinitrd'ed/LBA-48 kernel/160GB HD
    Xbox/Xecuter chip/200GB HD/616T DVD/Crystal case

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •