Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Drive noise after sleeper

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    18

    SUCCESS With Sleeper! Yay me.

    Probably the replacement drive I'm using, but is there normally a lot of disk activity following a drive replacement / sleepering? I hear the drive chugging away like it's doing a lot of random seeks. May have always done this and I just never paid attention. Maybe I'm paranoid.

    UD.
    Last edited by UberDuper; 05-16-2004 at 01:39 AM. Reason: Less crack this time.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    18
    Ahh. Deleting all the recorded shows it *thought* it still had quieted it down.
    I think we have SUCCESS!
    I slapped a 200GB drive in there for now. I'm planning on adding a 160GB drive after I order some brackets. I'm still within the limits of lba28 and I want to make sure I haven't screwed anything up. Tivo says I have recording capacity up to 157 hours. Is this what I should expect to see for 137GB?

    UD.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Quote Originally Posted by UberDuper
    Ahh. Deleting all the recorded shows it *thought* it still had quieted it down.
    I think we have SUCCESS!
    I slapped a 200GB drive in there for now. I'm planning on adding a 160GB drive after I order some brackets. I'm still within the limits of lba28 and I want to make sure I haven't screwed anything up. Tivo says I have recording capacity up to 157 hours. Is this what I should expect to see for 137GB?

    UD.
    No. A 120 Gig will give 105 hours; a 137 Gig would give about 120 hours.

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    18
    Well that's not good. What could i have done wrong? The sleeper CD I used only recognised 137GB of the drive.

    UD.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    18
    Hrmmm. crap. So I gotta run a drive tool to limit the drive to 137GB and redo everything. Sucktacular! Maybe I should spend more time looking for the lba48 patch.

    UD.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Posts
    18
    I upgraded with a 160GB drive and see the same thing: 157 hours of recording time. Been running like this for a few months without any problems. df output:

    Filesystem 1024-blocks Used Available Capacity Mounted on
    /dev/hda7 126911 57645 62713 48% /
    /dev/hda9 126911 14204 106154 12% /var

    tivoweb info module reports 130037 MB of total space + 8212 MB reserved ~= 135 GB. This sounds correct.
    S2 SA 7.2/Killhdinitrd'ed/LBA-48 kernel/160GB HD
    Xbox/Xecuter chip/200GB HD/616T DVD/Crystal case

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in CA
    Posts
    503
    If you don't have a kernel that supports large drive, then it may work fine until it's past the maximum limit... Might corrupt whole drive. Just be careful.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Waruwaru
    If you don't have a kernel that supports large drive, then it may work fine until it's past the maximum limit... Might corrupt whole drive. Just be careful.
    I am a little confused.. I have a 160 Gig drive myself. I copied the drive and then used the sleeper utils on it all from kernels that DON'T support LBA48. In the TIVO the drive is listed as supporting up to 137 gigs from what I can tell. (df and info)

    Are you saying that even thought the TIVO kernel see's my drive as being 137 gig it will corrupt my data when it gets to the end?

    If so I guess I have some more work to do still, I am eating away at 20% of my size a day, so I will be at that limit soon, sure don't want to run the chance of corrupting the whole thing!

    Thanks for any info regarding this.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Somewhere in CA
    Posts
    503
    Please correct me if I am wrong. According to PlainBill above, said
    "137 Gig would give about 120 hours"

    So, if you see 157 hrs, then some where, something is estimating the hrs of recording base on something larger than 137 gig. So, if your Tivo does not support large drive, and follow that number faithfully, then there is a chance for stuff to get corrupted. It's like if your drive is only 10 gb, but your OS thinks you have a 20 gb drive, when the OS tries to write more stuff than 10 gb, then something will get corrupted.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    18
    I'm not sure where PlainBill got his numbers. Friend of mine has a series2 standalone unit with a 120GB drive. His reports 146 hours. So a 137GB drive at 157 sounds just right to me.
    Perhaps PB is thinking about something other then the plain old s2 SA.

    UD.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    18
    Though I'd still love to figure this lba48 patch out.
    360GB would be freeking sexy.
    UD.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Quote Originally Posted by UberDuper
    I'm not sure where PlainBill got his numbers. Friend of mine has a series2 standalone unit with a 120GB drive. His reports 146 hours. So a 137GB drive at 157 sounds just right to me.
    Perhaps PB is thinking about something other then the plain old s2 SA.

    UD.
    Guilty. My crystal ball wasn't working, you didn't specify if you had a SA or DirecTiVo, so I used the figure for a DirecTivo.

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •