Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Internet enabling your TiVo; security solution with Java

Cool Internet enabling your TiVo; security solution with Java

Hello. I am pretty new to the TiVo hacking but an experienced networking and Java guy.

For the purposes of this thread, I have (and assume you have) the TiVo hacked as desired with things like TivoWeb and streaming video all set up and working. But I want to be able to access these things from anywhere on the Internet, not just my LAN.

The problem is there is no secure way to expose those services to the Internet. TivoWeb at leat supports HTTP authentication (not that secure), but the other services like FTP and streaming offer no security capability at all that I am aware of. (I've read the threads on the topic, and people seem to be confusing having a firewall with security for *exposed* services. A firewall only protects services that you don't expose to the Internet; i.e., *YOU* can't access them either.)

I have a solution to this in mind that uses an open source Java project called SocketSwitchboard. (http://sourceforge.net/projects/sbdaemon/) "... SocketSwitchboard can act as a virtual router or proxy, allowing restricted access to network services. Currently, SocketSwitchboard supports constraints based on IP address range, IP address pattern match, hostname pattern match, time of day, day of week, and SSL client authentication."

The SSL client authentication support in this program provides robust security for any service you want to run on your TiVO (FTP, streaming, TivoWeb, etc.) This program also has the additional security benefit of allowing you to remap a service (such as TivoWeb on port 80) to any arbitrary port desired, making it harder for port scanners to know what services are running.