Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: S2 Dtivo reset itself back to original state. Lost anything I ever did to it.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    26

    S2 Dtivo reset itself back to original state. Lost anything I ever did to it.

    Last night I finally got my tivo to stream and I was able to pull out .ty files. Today when I went back to pull more .ty files everything I had ever did or changed was gone. The only thing I saw in the log was this.

    Anyone have any idea how to stop losing my changes?

    Aug 16 18:53:40 (none) Recorder[203]: Adding check schedule task
    Aug 16 18:53:59 (none) TvPhoneHomeSession[186]: Received in progress status: Loading data. 88%, 1 min
    Aug 16 18:54:09 (none) last message repeated 4 times
    Aug 16 18:54:13 (none) TvPhoneHomeSession[186]: Received in progress status: Loading data. 89%, 1 min
    Aug 16 18:54:16 (none) TvPhoneHomeSession[186]: Received in progress status: Loading data. 90%, 1 min
    Aug 16 18:54:19 (none) TvPhoneHomeSession[186]: Received in progress status: Loading data. 91%, 1 min
    Aug 16 18:54:21 (none) TvPhoneHomeSession[186]: Received in progress status: Loading data. 92%, 1 min
    Aug 16 18:54:22 (none) TvPhoneHomeSession[186]: Received in progress status: Loading data. 93%, 1 min
    Aug 16 18:54:22 (none) TvPhoneHomeSession[186]: Received in progress status: Loading data. 94%, 1 min
    Aug 16 18:54:22 (none) TvPhoneHomeSession[186]: Received in progress status: Loading data. 95%, 1 min
    Aug 16 18:54:22 (none) TvPhoneHomeSession[186]: Received in progress status: Loading data. 96%, 1 min
    Aug 16 18:54:22 (none) TvPhoneHomeSession[186]: Received in progress status: Loading data. 97%, 1 min
    Aug 16 18:54:22 (none) TvPhoneHomeSession[186]: Received in progress status: Loading data. 98%, 1 min
    Aug 16 18:54:23 (none) TvPhoneHomeSession[186]: Received in progress status: Loading data. 99%, 1 min
    Aug 16 18:54:34 (none) mediamgr[203]: FlushRecording input#0
    Aug 16 18:54:34 (none) FlushPositionInformation[203]: Flushing index 1 (1 1)
    Aug 16 18:54:34 (none) pcache[203]: flushed fsid 366746, up to 2723 (4096)
    Aug 16 18:54:34 (none) Recorder[203]: Adding check schedule task
    Aug 16 18:54:36 (none) TvPhoneHomeSession[186]: Received in progress status: Loading data. 100%, 1 min
    Aug 16 18:54:40 (none) Deadline[203]: Tasks run 600
    Aug 16 18:54:40 (none) Deadline[203]: Existed for 0:1758:257220
    Aug 16 18:54:40 (none) Deadline[203]: Overhead time 0:0:312557
    Aug 16 18:54:42 (none) TvPhoneHomeSession[186]: Received in progress status: Loading data. 100%, 1 min
    Aug 16 18:54:43 (none) last message repeated 3 times
    Aug 16 18:54:47 (none) TvEventLoggerSession[185]: Received Arm Log Revert
    Aug 16 18:54:47 (none) TvEventLoggerService[185]: Received REVERT message

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    434
    If everything you ever did was lost, how did you get the logs? Did you pull the drive just to get them?
    Questions? Problems?
    1. How to avoid asking needless questions
    2. How to ask smart questions

    "... and this is your computer on drugs. Any questions?"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    26
    Ok good question. let me clarify. I lost any files I added to the Tivo after I received it. like Vserver, TServer and a few others. When I first I received my DTivo S2 it was already hacked with a version of 4.0.1 and TivoWebPlus.

    The logs I just pulled up through TivoWebPlus which was on it when I received the unit.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    434
    That complicates things.

    Anyway, get a bash prompt and issue a "ps x | grep httpd" command.

    The output will include the path of your tivoweb executable.

    Mine looks like:
    Code:
    188  ?  R  19447:32 tivosh /var/local/tivoweb-tcl/httpd-tt.tcl
    which indicates that my tivoweb executable is in /var/local/tivoweb-tcl/

    Where is your tivoweb executable?

    Next, where were you putting your files when you installed them?

    If tivoweb is somewhere other than /var/, and you had been using /var/, then the answer is that your /var partition was wiped automatically by your TiVo, and you'll have to reinstall everything that's missing.

    Otherwise, it's not as simple an answer...
    Questions? Problems?
    1. How to avoid asking needless questions
    2. How to ask smart questions

    "... and this is your computer on drugs. Any questions?"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    26
    yep, my tivowev-tcl was installed in /usr.

    tivosh /usr/tivoweb-tcl/httpd-tt.tcl

    So far I re-installed the missing files and everything seems stable.

    TivoWeb came installed to /usr should move it to /Var ????

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    2,402
    Quote Originally Posted by badgerbalm
    yep, my tivowev-tcl was installed in /usr.

    tivosh /usr/tivoweb-tcl/httpd-tt.tcl

    So far I re-installed the missing files and everything seems stable.

    TivoWeb came installed to /usr should move it to /Var ????
    Only if you want to lose it next time your /var gets wiped! It's probably safer where it is, but if you get an upgrade you might need to re-install it to the "other" root directory.

    ew

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,149
    Quote Originally Posted by eastwind
    Only if you want to lose it next time your /var gets wiped!
    Yes, for that reason I never install anything in /var. I control where it goes.

    Of course, I can't/DON'T use .tpm's, and have to edit/move .tgz installs to where I want, because, if I don't, someone else decides where stuff goes.


    NutKase
    "God, and DealDataBase, help those that help themselves." --Shamelessly stolen from psxboy
    ------------------------------------------------
    2 each, SA S2 287hr 7.2.1a's with Lifetime.
    Hacks: 1 Manually Monte'd -140, Bash,Telnet,FTP,TivoWebPlus,
    Superpatch-67all Unscrambled/HMO,MFS_FTP Ver. N,TyTools, tivoserver
    Fully hacked SA S1

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •