Page 1 of 22 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 316

Thread: Superpatch-4all - (Support)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,149

    Superpatch-4all - (Support)

    Superpatch-4all - (for all known 4.x versions)

    Here's where to ask your questions and post your results.

    The release, and instructions on it's use, are posted in the file release thread.
    I won't respond to support requests in the development forum. Please post here.

    Also, there's lots of information in the associated .txt file.
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Here's the current status of HMO using superpatch4all as I know it:
    Code:
                                  DTivo                      SA
    
    4.0                          Working                  Working
    4.0.1-01                     Working                  Working
    4.0.1a-01                    Working                  Working
    4.0.1b.2003.12.02-1731-01    Intermittent(NSB)        Working
    4.0.1b-01                    Working                  Working
    4.0.1b-02                    Working                  Working
    I'll update this status as often as I can confirm that the results testing are repeatable.

    NOTE: I'm reinstalling all tivo software versions on my standalone machines and patching them myself. The status of 4.0, 4.0.1, 4.0.1b-01 and 4.0.1b-02 above means:

    1. That I've reinstalled that version of the tivo OS

    2. I've manually monte'd and installed superpatch-4all-NutKase-0.7.1 to patch the appropriate tivoapp

    3. I've set the MRV Name with ADH's updated set_mrv_name.tcl, which is included with the 0.7.1 release, in the .zip.

    4. Successfully (or noted otherwise) tested HMO with superpatch-4all on my SA tivos.

    I'll eventually go back through the list setting the name with the other set_mrv_name patches and post the results. This should help chase down any MRV differences at some point.

    I don't have a 4.0.1b.2003 image so I won't be testing that one.

    Maybe I should look up a couple of DTivos for testing, but not sure if you can hook them to cable .


    NutKase
    Last edited by NutKase; 01-03-2005 at 02:04 PM. Reason: expanded the 'here' link, on line 3, to be more descriptive.
    "God, and DealDataBase, help those that help themselves." --Shamelessly stolen from psxboy
    ------------------------------------------------
    2 each, SA S2 287hr 7.2.1a's with Lifetime.
    Hacks: 1 Manually Monte'd -140, Bash,Telnet,FTP,TivoWebPlus,
    Superpatch-67all Unscrambled/HMO,MFS_FTP Ver. N,TyTools, tivoserver
    Fully hacked SA S1

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,149
    There seem to be challenges with DTivo HMO that are still unsolved. They are random as far as I can tell and occur on different DTivo versions even though the same tivoapp (md5sum and hex compared) is patched.

    [EDIT]These problems are solved now. There are no known unsolved problems with HMO on DTivos.

    I plan to look into the set_mrv_name.tcl to learn more about the differences with DTivo vs SA Tivo HMO.

    Please document any testing with:

    1. Tivo#1 - Type and Model number.

    2. Tivo#2 - Type and Model number.

    3. Tivo software version: As output by Superpatch-4all.

    4. md5sum of your virgin tivoapp before

    and

    - md5sum after patching with Superpatch-4all.

    md5sum /tvbin/tivoapp

    (Use md5sum from busybox as noted by rc3105 below)

    5. Superpatch-4all Version #

    6. Set_mrv_name Version #

    7. Symptoms... (or successful results)


    NutKase

    Note: PLEASE don't 'quote' or retype this list in every response like Sleeper wanted - it'll make the thread 10K pages long and bores everyone. This is just a list of the type information that I, and others, would find useful in improving the patch or helping with problems. You can answer just with the numbers like Singe6060 or conversationally for our reading enjoyment
    Last edited by NutKase; 01-03-2005 at 02:06 PM. Reason: clarification
    "God, and DealDataBase, help those that help themselves." --Shamelessly stolen from psxboy
    ------------------------------------------------
    2 each, SA S2 287hr 7.2.1a's with Lifetime.
    Hacks: 1 Manually Monte'd -140, Bash,Telnet,FTP,TivoWebPlus,
    Superpatch-67all Unscrambled/HMO,MFS_FTP Ver. N,TyTools, tivoserver
    Fully hacked SA S1

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,149

    Superpatch4all - Patch Notes

    I'm testing superpatch4all in 4.0 (SA S2) now. I've manually monte'd an extra drive, patched it with superpatch4all-0.6.1, and the set_mrv_name.tcl script updated by ADH.

    Success, recognizing and transferring from both directions. Just for kicks, I named my 4.0. tivo something different than what I had previously put in at tivo.com. This confirms that tivo.com doesn't screw with it.

    I'll run the original (DTivo) set_mrv_name.tcl by CapablePerson66, on this setup, in a little bit. This is so I can trace if the set_mrv_name script is the culprit. I expect it to work but not allow me to do SA style guide updates. I'll let you know.

    Then I intend on installing 4.0.1 and doing the same with my original superpatch port for this OS.
    [EDIT] Installed and working but with intermittent NowShowing bug.

    Following that I'll install 4.0.1b-01 (I don't have 4.01a) and do the same.
    [EDIT] Working like a charm.


    My desire is to isolate the DTivo issues to DTivos or a version of the set_mrv_name script.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    The known DTivo issues, as I see it, are:

    1. It just doesn't work.

    2. It recognizes MRV but transfers only in one direction.

    3. The DTivo 'loses' it's identitiy on reboots or after getting guide data.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Any others.


    Note: As far as I can tell, superpatch4all works for any SA S2, or DTivo, running the latest tivo software (version 4.0.1b-02) and using ADH's set_mrv_name.tcl.

    It has been shown to work with DTivos running 4.0.1 also.

    If you think of any more ways that I can 'double-blind' test this, let me know.


    NutKase
    Last edited by NutKase; 10-14-2004 at 11:13 PM.
    "God, and DealDataBase, help those that help themselves." --Shamelessly stolen from psxboy
    ------------------------------------------------
    2 each, SA S2 287hr 7.2.1a's with Lifetime.
    Hacks: 1 Manually Monte'd -140, Bash,Telnet,FTP,TivoWebPlus,
    Superpatch-67all Unscrambled/HMO,MFS_FTP Ver. N,TyTools, tivoserver
    Fully hacked SA S1

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,149
    I'll add others as I confirm them myself.

    [EDIT] These md5sums are for 0.6.1 and below. I may get around to doing them for 0.7.1 but maybe not.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Here's my md5sums for apps on a linux pc or using busybox
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------

    4.0.1b - All versions (4.0.1b-01, 4.0.1b-02, 4.0.1b.2003)
    29dc76ac2f27212f49a3f72c2b72f337 *tivoapp4.0.1b-02.original
    68d2247ef038dfdaed84abe79c29134e *tivoapp4.0.1b-02.superpatch4all


    4.0.1
    77358c6a31511b770bc28cc728177061 *tivoapp4.0.1.original
    91ac18c7592fcb216d85b3985bd2da62 *tivoapp4.0.1.superpatch4all


    4.0
    cd5d870b9d25bd39cc2ab4c594ada1c2 *tivoapp4.0-01.original
    aa36df28cd48958ec0fd2bab37c1161e *tivoapp4.0-01.superpatch4all

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Here's my md5sum for apps on the tivo
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------


    4.0.1b - All versions (4.0.1b-01, 4.0.1b-02, 4.0.1b.2003)
    e257d2323bf513a30d82f8be442be1d2 /tvbin/tivoapp4.0.1b-02.original
    b189b70b1aafb09503da69d13db5a893 /tvbin/tivoapp4.0.1b-02.superpatch4all


    4.0.1
    2591ce649a71e28d1255ac86f651c95b /tvbin/tivoapp4.0.1.original
    d96087a9d97bd856cc1be6581eadb0b3 /tvbin/tivoapp4.0.1.superpatch4all

    4.0
    35bbcef911e4ee68e821e5ffb19176b5 /tvbin/tivoapp4.0-01.original
    d843007448bac9d3ec44e28fbc0303bd /tvbin/tivoapp4.0-01.superpatch4all


    NutKase
    Last edited by NutKase; 01-02-2005 at 11:44 PM.
    "God, and DealDataBase, help those that help themselves." --Shamelessly stolen from psxboy
    ------------------------------------------------
    2 each, SA S2 287hr 7.2.1a's with Lifetime.
    Hacks: 1 Manually Monte'd -140, Bash,Telnet,FTP,TivoWebPlus,
    Superpatch-67all Unscrambled/HMO,MFS_FTP Ver. N,TyTools, tivoserver
    Fully hacked SA S1

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    23
    Doesn't work on 4.0.1-01-2 for me on a freshly mfsrestore'd and sleeper'd HDVR2 - complains that tivoapp isn't virgin. Below is the md5sum of tivoapp:

    77358c6a31511b770bc28cc728177061 tivoapp.pristine

    Does this match what you've got? I ran md5sum on my Linux box, not on the tivo.

    I got the 4.0.1 image off ed2k.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,149
    Quote Originally Posted by bma
    Doesn't work on 4.0.1-01-2 for me on a freshly mfsrestore'd and sleeper'd HDVR2 - complains that tivoapp isn't virgin. Below is the md5sum of tivoapp:

    77358c6a31511b770bc28cc728177061 tivoapp.pristine

    Does this match what you've got? I ran md5sum on my Linux box, not on the tivo.

    I got the 4.0.1 image off ed2k.
    What did the script output say EXACTLY.

    'Complains that tivoapp isn't virgin' isn't enough. Expected? Found?


    I have 2 stock 4.0.1-01 tivoapps.
    2591ce649a71e28d1255ac86f651c95b /hack/tivoapp401.original=mine
    2591ce649a71e28d1255ac86f651c95b /hack/tivoapp = alldeadhomiez

    Try md5sum on your tivo and let me know.

    [EDIT]The same tivoapps give:
    77358c6a31511b770bc28cc728177061 *tivoapp

    on my linux box so they're the same. Standing by for more info.


    NutKase
    "God, and DealDataBase, help those that help themselves." --Shamelessly stolen from psxboy
    ------------------------------------------------
    2 each, SA S2 287hr 7.2.1a's with Lifetime.
    Hacks: 1 Manually Monte'd -140, Bash,Telnet,FTP,TivoWebPlus,
    Superpatch-67all Unscrambled/HMO,MFS_FTP Ver. N,TyTools, tivoserver
    Fully hacked SA S1

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    1,335

    Exclamation

    the original tivoscripts installs a bad md5sum and a busybox md5sum that's accurate

    I believe the corrupt version is first in the resulting path so you need to watch for that...


    *great job with the all-in-one patcher
    ---
    Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he will sit in a boat all day and drink beer

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,149
    Quote Originally Posted by rc3105
    the original tivoscripts installs a bad md5sum and a busybox md5sum that's accurate

    I believe the corrupt version is first in the resulting path so you need to watch for that...


    *great job with the all-in-one patcher
    Thanks for the info on the md5sum. I wasn't aware of that. Also, thanks, personally for your work that helped me come out with the patch.

    Now, on to figure out if my manual monte skills have atrophied in the 'Monte 2004' day and time.

    I'm sure they have. I haven't put my few brain cells to getting a wrap around the killhdinitrd capabilities .


    NutKase
    "God, and DealDataBase, help those that help themselves." --Shamelessly stolen from psxboy
    ------------------------------------------------
    2 each, SA S2 287hr 7.2.1a's with Lifetime.
    Hacks: 1 Manually Monte'd -140, Bash,Telnet,FTP,TivoWebPlus,
    Superpatch-67all Unscrambled/HMO,MFS_FTP Ver. N,TyTools, tivoserver
    Fully hacked SA S1

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by NutKase
    What did the script output say EXACTLY.

    'Complains that tivoapp isn't virgin' isn't enough. Expected? Found?


    I have 2 stock 4.0.1-01 tivoapps.
    2591ce649a71e28d1255ac86f651c95b /hack/tivoapp401.original=mine
    2591ce649a71e28d1255ac86f651c95b /hack/tivoapp = alldeadhomiez

    Try md5sum on your tivo and let me know.

    [EDIT]The same tivoapps give:
    77358c6a31511b770bc28cc728177061 *tivoapp

    on my linux box so they're the same. Standing by for more info.


    NutKase
    Here's the full output of the script:

    (I modified the script to use /tmp/tivoapp* for everything instead
    of modifying /tvbin/tivoapp directly):

    tivo1:/tmp$ ./superpatch-4all-NutKase-0.5.0.tcl

    Superpatch-4All-NutKase-0.5.0
    (C) 8/21/2004 by NutKase - COMMERCIAL USE PROHIBITED

    Credit goes to CapablePerson66, rc3105, SledgHammer and others.
    and ESPECIALLY alldeadhomiez for his time and knowledge.

    All errors are mine.

    Your TiVo Software version is 4.0.1-01-2-240

    Patching your tivoapp...

    At offset 12581940, expected 0x3c1c0f06 but got 0x000a4182
    Aborting... You need a virgin tivoapp to patch.
    tivo1:/tmp$

    tivo1:/tmp$ md5sum /tmp/tivoapp.original.4.0.1-01-2
    2591ce649a71e28d1255ac86f651c95b /tmp/tivoapp.original.4.0.1-01-2

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,149
    Quote Originally Posted by rc3105
    heh, you can leave me out of the credits there. capableperson66 & alldeadhomiez did the heavy lifting. chasing addresses between versions is the easy part (relatively speaking anyway)

    supporting end users with a half dozen versions is going to be a pain, good way to bank some karma though
    Well, you did chase the 4.0.1b addresses though...

    Yeah, alldeadhomiez must've thought I needed to 'bank some karma' haha! since the idea 'popped' up while I was learning from him

    Here goes...


    NutKase
    Last edited by NutKase; 08-22-2004 at 08:56 PM.
    "God, and DealDataBase, help those that help themselves." --Shamelessly stolen from psxboy
    ------------------------------------------------
    2 each, SA S2 287hr 7.2.1a's with Lifetime.
    Hacks: 1 Manually Monte'd -140, Bash,Telnet,FTP,TivoWebPlus,
    Superpatch-67all Unscrambled/HMO,MFS_FTP Ver. N,TyTools, tivoserver
    Fully hacked SA S1

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,149
    Quote Originally Posted by bma
    (I modified the script to use /tmp/tivoapp* for everything instead
    of modifying /tvbin/tivoapp directly):
    Actually, I don't think I'm going to support people that modify the script.

    It doesn't modify tivoapp directly so there was no need to change it.

    Imagine the variables I'll have to deal with if others do the same.

    I'm totally willing to support the script I posted and I WILL support it as far as working with the tivoapps I mentioned, and WILL add support for new 4.x versions as TiVo decides to upgrade me.


    NutKase

    PS. I may look up your location conflict but it may take a bit.
    Last edited by NutKase; 08-22-2004 at 08:52 PM.
    "God, and DealDataBase, help those that help themselves." --Shamelessly stolen from psxboy
    ------------------------------------------------
    2 each, SA S2 287hr 7.2.1a's with Lifetime.
    Hacks: 1 Manually Monte'd -140, Bash,Telnet,FTP,TivoWebPlus,
    Superpatch-67all Unscrambled/HMO,MFS_FTP Ver. N,TyTools, tivoserver
    Fully hacked SA S1

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by NutKase
    Actually, I don't think I'm going to support people that modify the script.

    It doesn't modify tivoapp directly so there was no need to change it.
    The reason I modified it is because currently /tvbin/tivoapp is non-stock
    (using a previous HMO superpatch, parental controls fix, PPV view hack,
    etc).

    Quote Originally Posted by NutKase
    PS. I may look up your location conflict but it may take a bit.
    FYI: I still get the same error after replacing /tvbin/tivoapp with the original and running your script unmodified:

    Your TiVo Software version is 4.0.1-01-2-240

    Patching your tivoapp...

    At offset 12581940, expected 0x3c1c0f06 but got 0x000a4182
    Aborting... You need a virgin tivoapp to patch.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    5
    I got the exact same result as bma on my HDVR2. Got the image (4.0.1-01) off of ED2k as well (also sleeper'd).

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,149
    Quote Originally Posted by bma
    Your TiVo Software version is 4.0.1-01-2-240

    Patching your tivoapp...

    At offset 12581940, expected 0x3c1c0f06 but got 0x000a4182
    Aborting... You need a virgin tivoapp to patch.
    Try this. File will be deleted in a sec.

    NutKase
    Last edited by NutKase; 08-23-2004 at 10:57 AM.
    "God, and DealDataBase, help those that help themselves." --Shamelessly stolen from psxboy
    ------------------------------------------------
    2 each, SA S2 287hr 7.2.1a's with Lifetime.
    Hacks: 1 Manually Monte'd -140, Bash,Telnet,FTP,TivoWebPlus,
    Superpatch-67all Unscrambled/HMO,MFS_FTP Ver. N,TyTools, tivoserver
    Fully hacked SA S1

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by NutKase
    Try this. File will be deleted in a sec.

    [EDIT] File deleted after download.


    NutKase
    I wasn't the one who downloaded it.... :-)
    PM me it?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •