Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Zip Code 147BERM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    5

    Zip Code 147BERM

    Now this is Annoying!

    I live in Bermuda. My cable company provides lineup data to Tribune using Zip Code 147BERM. If I go to Zap2It and enter that up come all my correct listings etc.

    If I can get that Zip code into my Tivo software using a hack (guided setup only allows US Zip codes) will it then go get the right program listings for me? Or is it not that simple?

    I know I can use Tivoweb+ and Channel Map but that seems like overkill when my correct listings are available.

    Oh, by the way, I should add that I also have a US address and pay my monthly subscription happily. I'm not trying to avoid paying that or anything, I just want full Tivo functionality and it seems so annoyingly close!

    Thanks in advance to anyone who can offer advice. Any answers would be much appreciated!!


    FBB

    !!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New York City, NY, USA
    Posts
    296

    35

    Unfortunetly in an unhacked state, Tivo only provides US listings. You can however generate your own. Check out the following sites for more information:

    http://tv.groups.yahoo.com/group/tivo_canada/
    http://www.tivocanada.com
    http://forums.tivocanada.com

    Enjoy!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    5

    Thanks but....

    I realise that I'll need to hack my Tivo to get a non-US zip code in there. But my question is will my Tivo be able to go get Tribune channel info based on that non-us zip code? When my Tivo goes to get it's program guides does it go directly to Tribune? If not, does Tivo Inc. filter the Program guides accessed to ensure they're only US? How does this work in the UK? Thanks for any input you can provide.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New York City, NY, USA
    Posts
    296

    15

    The thing is that Tivo doesn't directly pull guide information from tribune, they convert to their propriety slice format before sending it out to your Tivo. The catch is that they only process US and UK guide information, so for any other locations, what you have to do is run the conversion process on your computer and trick your Tivo into thinking your computer is really the Tivo server. This is what the Tivocanada stuff does.

    Justin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    5

    Ahhhhh...

    ...OK, now I get it. Thanks Justin.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New York City, NY, USA
    Posts
    296
    Quote Originally Posted by firebladeboy
    ...OK, now I get it. Thanks Justin.
    Not a problem!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •