Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 36

Thread: 250 GIG or more in UTV

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    wako
    Posts
    57
    well hal whats the latest?
    UTV still working?
    have you recorded over 115 hours yet?
    thanks

    dan0
    "Don't ask me I dont know anything except what I read"

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    42

    !!!

    OMG!!! LOL!!!

    http://www.cultofdan.org

    Dan, you need help!!!!

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    57
    OK, I think Hal is having a bit of fun with us...

    Here is what I did.

    Hardware:
    WD2500 SATA drive
    Addonics model ADSAIDE converter

    Open sealed drive package, plug converter on with its jumper set to master.

    Attach by itself to secondary controller on computer.

    Computer sees it as you would expect.

    Apply unmodified 3.7 image with winhex.

    Put drive in UTV and power up.

    No lights, no video, no nothing except that drive spins up and fan runs.

    Unplug ide cable from converter and get connect to webtv screen

    Connect ide cable to converter but unplug converter from drive and get connect to webtv screen.

    Plug it all back in but with converters jumper set to slave. Get connect to webtv screen so I let it. Finds local number and connects and gives the "your terminal needs to be repaired" screen.

    Removed jumper completely from converter and get no lights, no video, etc...

    What have I missed?

    I'll eat crow if needed but at this point I pronounce this a hoax.

    The good news is that I can use the drive elsewhere.

    kazak

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by Kazak
    The good news is that I can use the drive elsewhere.kazak
    Damn. Thanks for your efforts.

    Cheers.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,495
    Quote Originally Posted by Kazak
    OK, I think Hal is having a bit of fun with us...
    You think.....

    Quote Originally Posted by Kazak
    What have I missed?
    The point... It's not possible without driver changes on the UTV

    Quote Originally Posted by Kazak
    I'll eat crow if needed but at this point I pronounce this a hoax.
    Pronunciation: 'hOks

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by fixn278
    The point... It's not possible without driver changes on the UTV
    I'd wager that Kazak asked that question tongue in cheek. Hal had also claimed that he used Ontrack or Onstar or "on something" to recover the lost 23GB when using a 160GB drive. Hal should be stamped "DoRK" at this point.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Denver Colorado
    Posts
    13
    _____________
    Last edited by hal90002010; 04-24-2005 at 01:34 AM.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,406
    Quote Originally Posted by hal90002010
    It works.
    No, it probably doesn't.

    An inquiry of my own.

    Why do you believe that the current OS (CE 2.0 UTV v 3.7) is limited in any way?
    Read this thread

    This is a ,of course it will work situation.
    Um, No.

    Your belief that it will not work is based on assumptions that have no basis in fact.
    Um, No.


  9. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by tgif
    I'd wager that Kazak asked that question tongue in cheek.
    Very perceptive...

    kazak

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by hal90002010
    It works.
    No, it doesn't.

    How else would you expect me to respond?
    The truth would be a start.

    Your belief that it will not work is based on assumptions that have no basis in fact.
    Actually I have empirical evidance. This was tested with the hardware YOU SPECIFIED. It was tested on 2 different UTVs with:

    A freshly zeroed drive
    An out of the package drive
    An out of the package drive with the 3.7 image applied
    All jumper configurations.

    It just doesnt work Hal. Give it up.

    OR. Please show me what I have missed. As I said before, I'm just itching to eat some crow.

    kazak

    EDIT: Forgot to add that this was also tested after an NTFS format. Same results
    Last edited by Kazak; 01-09-2005 at 01:35 PM. Reason: Forgot a key point.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Denver Colorado
    Posts
    13
    ___________
    Last edited by hal90002010; 04-24-2005 at 01:35 AM.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by hal90002010
    security mode? WD25000XX SE

    when the UTV did not lock the drive ?
    IBM drive fitness test shows that the WD2500JD (the one you claim works)DOES support security.

    Lock the drive? It does not even boot. How could it lock it?

    kazak

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    4

    converter provides bios

    I was mulling over the discusion where it was mentioned that a bios might be supplied by a device.

    Bios systems are specific to a computer architecture. If the device did supply one, it would only work with wintel machines.

    What architecture does the utv have? If it is byte swapped, then it's not an intel x86 system, so how could an intel bios work on a utv?

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,495
    At this point, this is all just noise. Arguing with him is a waste of time. It doesn't work becuase it can't.

    Try arguing with your shoe. It will be more productive.

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by fixn278
    Try arguing with your shoe. It will be more productive.


    kazak

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •