Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: Software v7.1 for S2's

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    65

    Software v7.1 for S2's

    I see tivo are rolling out software version 7.1 with TivoToGo

    Information on the priority download list on the tivocommunity forum

    Cheers
    David

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    103
    I signed up for priority list around 3 hours ago. I hope I get the software soon...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    TN, USA
    Posts
    101
    It would/will be nice to have but not at the cost of all of my current hacks.
    I am correct that a software upgrade will wipe out my Sleepered setup right?



    --CroW
    2TiVo Brand Series 2 80 Hour Units.
    1 Upgraded to 302 Hours.
    1 Upgraded to 310 Hours.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    877
    Quote Originally Posted by rc3105
    lets see if we can get the production release into developers hands
    "Production Release" ?

    Would this infer that you have a non-production release in your hands already?

    So, it seems that for series 2 machines, we'll be seeing:

    SAS2 => 7.1
    DTivo S2 => 6.1

    I wonder if the only difference between these 2 versions will "essentially" be TivoToGo functionality, or if there will be an ever greater divergence.
    Last edited by JohnSorTivo; 01-03-2005 at 02:39 PM.
    1 HR10-250, upgraded to 570 SD hours, hacked, 6.3b.
    1 HDVR2, upgraded to 206 hours, hacked, 6.2.
    1 HDVR2, upgraded to 168 hours, hacked, 6.2.
    tyExtract - Automated batch extraction utility
    YacMon - YAC Server log monitor for new call(s) notification via email/text message

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    97
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnSorTivo
    "Production Release" ?

    Would this infer that you have a non-production release in your hands already?

    So, it seems that for series 2 machines, we'll be seeing:

    SAS2 => 7.1
    DTivo S2 => 6.1

    I wonder if the only difference between these 2 versions will "essentially" be TivoToGo functionality, or if there will be an ever greater divergence.
    I think 6.1 is still missing the other parts of HMO- Music & Photos, MRV, Online Scheduling. Right? Just add this to the list of things DTivo's can't do.
    (errr.. technically can do, but not without hacking... )
    Last edited by singe606; 01-03-2005 at 02:58 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    877
    Quote Originally Posted by singe606
    I think 6.1 is still missing the other parts of HMO- Music & Photos, MRV, Online Scheduling. Right? Just add this to the list of things DTivo's can't do.
    (errr.. technically can do, but not without hacking... )
    Not so sure about that. Others have reported that on their R10 machines that it appears some "derivative" of HMO is included in 6.1, just not enabled yet.
    1 HR10-250, upgraded to 570 SD hours, hacked, 6.3b.
    1 HDVR2, upgraded to 206 hours, hacked, 6.2.
    1 HDVR2, upgraded to 168 hours, hacked, 6.2.
    tyExtract - Automated batch extraction utility
    YacMon - YAC Server log monitor for new call(s) notification via email/text message

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    97
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnSorTivo
    Not so sure about that. Others have reported that on their R10 machines that it appears some "derivative" of HMO is included in 6.1, just not enabled yet.
    Yeah, I'd like to be proven wrong... DTV doesn't seem especially concerned with enabling any enhanced features so far. I just don't have much hope for this happening any time soon.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    45
    Quote Originally Posted by singe606
    Yeah, I'd like to be proven wrong... DTV doesn't seem especially concerned with enabling any enhanced features so far. I just don't have much hope for this happening any time soon.
    Maybe it won't be that unlikely to see 7.1 on DTV RID units, since we are now able to run 4.x as of a few weeks ago

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    30
    Would the 7.1 be just a software update or could it include a new kernel as well? I wonder if this new version would have usb2 enabled out of the box. Or maybe LBA48?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    877
    Quote Originally Posted by rcork
    Would the 7.1 be just a software update or could it include a new kernel as well? I wonder if this new version would have usb2 enabled out of the box. Or maybe LBA48?
    From what I've read, both 6.1 and 7.1 will have updated kernels with lba48 support. 6.1 users have already confirmed this, since it has already been released on 2.5 units. We'll have to wait and see, to confirm on 7.1, as it seems nobody has "officially" received it, in order to confirm.

    Though, assuming 7.1 is a derivative of 5.x, which uses an lba48 kernel, one would assume 7.1 would have lba48 support as well.
    Last edited by JohnSorTivo; 01-03-2005 at 06:43 PM.
    1 HR10-250, upgraded to 570 SD hours, hacked, 6.3b.
    1 HDVR2, upgraded to 206 hours, hacked, 6.2.
    1 HDVR2, upgraded to 168 hours, hacked, 6.2.
    tyExtract - Automated batch extraction utility
    YacMon - YAC Server log monitor for new call(s) notification via email/text message

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    West of Bermuda
    Posts
    1,020
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnSorTivo
    "Production Release" ?

    Would this infer that you have a non-production release in your hands already?
    i'm sure - tivotogo has been in beta test for at least two months, and no, i'm not a beta tester.

    ronny

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by zen_monk
    Maybe it won't be that unlikely to see 7.1 on DTV RID units, since we are now able to run 4.x as of a few weeks ago
    Since when?? I gave my friends one for Xmas (unfortunately - would I have known all this I would have gotten them a Series 2) and they're box still says "3.1xxxxx" - and they've had it hooked up since Xmas....

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by maiknyc@earthli
    Since when?? I gave my friends one for Xmas (unfortunately - would I have known all this I would have gotten them a Series 2) and they're box still says "3.1xxxxx" - and they've had it hooked up since Xmas....
    Uhhhh.... 11-17-2004

    http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/sh...ad.php?t=39356
    Last edited by m4mmut; 01-23-2005 at 04:37 AM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by m4mmut
    So why are they not getting it? I forced connections at least 2-3 times a day in the beginning until I a) found out that HMO for their model isn't available anyway and b) that they would receive software updates via satelite anyway and that the phoneline on DirecTV Tivos is just for PPV, etc.

    So how come they are still on software version 3 after having the box hooked up for like a month?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    1,335

    Exclamation

    ow my brain hurts

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •