Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 94

Thread: 7.1 software update: support thread (was: Monte on SA S2 with 7.1)

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    7
    Ideally, it would be updating killhdinitrd to work with the kernel packaged with 7.1. Unfortunately, I don't know what this would take.

    The other option is to boot of the 3.1.5 kernel then monte to the one with 7.1.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,149
    Quote Originally Posted by alldeadhomiez
    I got a TmkServer assert on my TCD540040 when I was running a kernel with CONFIG_NETFILTER turned off. My workaround was something along the lines of:
    Noticed a small typo. Should be:

    Code:
    cd /sbin
    mv iptables iptables.old
    echo -e '#!/bin/bash\nexit 0' > iptables
    chmod 755 iptables

    0' instead of 0"

    No renaming/changing of netfilter-enable required.

    I have version 7.1a (7.1a-01-2-240 to be exact) on my SA. Do you guys have 7.1 only? Just trying to pin down what versions are released.

    NoCSO is:

    Code:
    All Values are Hex
    
    Sw Version          Offset (VMA)     Original Value      New Value
    7.1a                   691284      0320f809              3C020000

    NutKase
    "God, and DealDataBase, help those that help themselves." --Shamelessly stolen from psxboy
    ------------------------------------------------
    2 each, SA S2 287hr 7.2.1a's with Lifetime.
    Hacks: 1 Manually Monte'd -140, Bash,Telnet,FTP,TivoWebPlus,
    Superpatch-67all Unscrambled/HMO,MFS_FTP Ver. N,TyTools, tivoserver
    Fully hacked SA S1

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    4,075
    Quote Originally Posted by NutKase
    I have version 7.1a (7.1a-01-2-240 to be exact) on my SA. Do you guys have 7.1 only? Just trying to pin down what versions are released.
    I have 7.1-01-2-XXX. Looks like the nocso patch moved a little from 7.1, so the tivoapp's must have changed.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    65
    i'm on 7.1-01-2-240

    tried forcing a call to see if i get 7.1a but so far nothing

    cheers

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    61
    My hacked drive updated to 7.1-01-2-540 yesterday on my hacked
    40gb drive. As expected, it wiped all hacks that I had put in
    hda4 and hda7 in /hack and 5.4.1 kernal in hda3 and hda4.
    New kernal is 4mb.
    1.)TCD540040 283 hrs. 7.1 sw. Prom patched and socketed. Telnet, FTP and some other stuff.
    2.)Phillips Series1 HDR31203 246hrs. Hacked.
    3.)TCD24004a 'bout to be hacked.

    Please don't PM me looking for advice- I don't know what I'm doing...

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,149
    Quote Originally Posted by spaceranger
    My hacked drive updated to 7.1-01-2-540 yesterday on my hacked
    40gb drive. As expected, it wiped all hacks that I had put in
    hda4 and hda7 in /hack and 5.4.1 kernal in hda3 and hda4.
    New kernal is 4mb.
    You should have had 'upgradesoftware=false' in your bootpage and nothing would've happened except that the update would've come down, gotten inserted into your mfs and your tivo would be in pending restart until you manually upgraded on YOUR timeline or fixed the pending restart problem.

    My suggestion would be to start over and hack it again w/4.x then block the update and fix pending restart.

    IMO, there's no compelling reason for 7.x, and there're many against it, until it's fully hacked.


    NutKase
    Last edited by NutKase; 09-10-2005 at 04:34 AM. Reason: speling :)
    "God, and DealDataBase, help those that help themselves." --Shamelessly stolen from psxboy
    ------------------------------------------------
    2 each, SA S2 287hr 7.2.1a's with Lifetime.
    Hacks: 1 Manually Monte'd -140, Bash,Telnet,FTP,TivoWebPlus,
    Superpatch-67all Unscrambled/HMO,MFS_FTP Ver. N,TyTools, tivoserver
    Fully hacked SA S1

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    61
    Quote Originally Posted by NutKase
    You should have had 'upgradesoftware=false' in your bootpage and nothing would've happened except that the update would've come down, gotten inserted into your mfs and your tivo would be in pending restart until you manually upgraded on YOUR timeline or fixed the pending restart problem.

    My suggestion would be to start over and hack it again w/4.x then block the update and fix pending restart.

    IMO, there's no compelling reason for 7.x, and there's many against it, until it's fully hacked.


    NutKase

    NutKase
    I may be wrong, but I don't think a 4.x kernel will work in a
    series2.5. This is my original drive that I was using for practice. Although I should have backed it up after the hack,
    I wanted the 7.1 kernel to replace the one I hacked up on my
    250gb drive. I hacked the 250gb drive that already had 7.1 with
    the 5.4.1 kernel ADH posted just like I did the 40gb drive, but
    it went into a reboot loop.
    http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/sh...ad.php?t=41367

    The only compelling reason to not start over on that drive is
    the 19 James Bond movies I have on it. I thought getting the
    7.1 kernel off the 40gb drive might be the only way to restore it. ADH's post there a few minutes ago about the ip tables fix
    (in this thread) gives me hope: I'm going to try that. I too, am becoming a nutcase.
    Last edited by spaceranger; 02-07-2005 at 04:44 PM.
    1.)TCD540040 283 hrs. 7.1 sw. Prom patched and socketed. Telnet, FTP and some other stuff.
    2.)Phillips Series1 HDR31203 246hrs. Hacked.
    3.)TCD24004a 'bout to be hacked.

    Please don't PM me looking for advice- I don't know what I'm doing...

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    458
    Got 7.1a last night, had no trouble getting into it. Looks like all our friendly resource access has been moved to a not as friendly /tuikres tree in MFS. Doing something as simple as removing the tvguide branding can very quickly lock you out of live tv. I know MrBlack started a thread a while back about the bcf format and the idl files, anyone else done any research in this direction?

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    65
    Has anyone figured out what the differences between 7.1 and 7.1a are ??

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    458
    UPDATE: The offset given above is decimal, the hex value is 0A8C54. And CSO is still not disabled.

    I have 7.1a-264, and this patch didn't work for me. That offset is hex as stated right?

    Quote Originally Posted by NutKase
    Code:
    All Values are Hex
    
    Sw Version          Offset (VMA)     Original Value      New Value
    7.1a                   691284      0320f809              3C020000

    NutKase
    Last edited by Juppers; 02-11-2005 at 12:10 AM.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    65
    anyone got a patch address for 7.1 (not a..) ??

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    127
    Quote Originally Posted by davidblack
    anyone got a patch address for 7.1 (not a..) ??
    Look here.

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    458
    The 7.1 NoCSO patch location matches 7.1a, but CSO doesn't get disabled on 7.1a. Can someone with 7.1 pm me. I would like to get a copy of a stock 7.1 tivoapp to see if there are any differences with a 7.1a tivoapp. Thanks.

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Sonoran Desert
    Posts
    2,829
    Hmm...probably nothing, but that makes me curious if they decided to take countermeasures against the tivoapp patches. Time will tell.

    EDIT: Guess not.
    Last edited by AlphaWolf; 02-11-2005 at 01:01 AM.
    Before PMing me: Iím not your personal tech support. If you have a question, ask in public so I don't have to repeat if somebody else asks. If you want images or slices, use emule. I will ignore all support PMs.

    Sponsor a vegetarian! I have taken the pledge, how about you?

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,777
    Quote Originally Posted by Juppers
    The 7.1 NoCSO patch location matches 7.1a
    No, 6916c4 is a nop on 7.1a. The instruction you want to change is 0320f809; NutKase's patch looks correct.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •