Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Back up failed at 2%

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    7

    Question Back up failed at 2%

    Hello, I am new to this board and I have searched for an answer to my problem and I need help.
    I have a series2 Hughes dtvio. I have a problem with mfstools.
    Every time I start to back up my Tivo drive iget the folowing error.
    backup failed : /mnt/dos/tivo.bak : bad address.
    I am really stuck and I have tried monte and I still get stuck at the same place. What am I doing wrong? how do I get past this. I have a drive configurerd for fat32 and it should work but it crasheswhen I get to about 2% backed up.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    845
    Have you actually mounted the FAT32 drive under /mnt/dos/ first?
    If a goldfish should want a vacation, who would know?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    7
    yes I have. I am using the Hinsdale method

    # mkdir /mnt/dos
    # mount /dev/hda /mnt/dos

    then
    # mfsbackup -6so /mnt/dos/tivo.bak /dev/hdc

    then it goes on to tell me the tivo drive has 1248mb compreesed and then crashes at 24 of 1248mb 1.87%

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    938
    Quote Originally Posted by ehr091
    yes I have. I am using the Hinsdale method

    # mkdir /mnt/dos
    # mount /dev/hda /mnt/dos

    then
    # mfsbackup -6so /mnt/dos/tivo.bak /dev/hdc

    then it goes on to tell me the tivo drive has 1248mb compreesed and then crashes at 24 of 1248mb 1.87%
    If you have your fat drive installed as primary master, try this instead
    Code:
    mkdir /mnt/dos
    mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/dos 
    mfsbackup -6so /mnt/dos/tivo.bak /dev/hdc
    this of course assumes you have your tivo drive installed as Secondary Master

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    7
    I just tried the new instructions but I still get the same result. I must be missing something

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by ehr091
    I just tried the new instructions but I still get the same result. I must be missing something
    You are probably not really mounting your FAT32 partition. You need to know what partition it is on /dev/hda to get a sucessfull mount. What output are you getting when you "mount"? what does "df" show after you attempt to mount the partition?

    If the FAT32 is primary partition 1, you will mount /dev/hda1.
    If the FAT32 is primary partition 2, you will mount /dev/hda2.
    If the FAT32 is an extended partition, you will mount /dev/hda5 (or higher).

    It is likely you are not really mounting your FAT32 partition, and root is running out of space at 2%.

    -WR

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    7
    ok this is what I get when I type df

    /dev/hda1 20023216 1 k blocks
    U/A 24752/19998464
    USE 0%
    Mounted on /mnt/dos
    I have tried Monte and I still get the same error
    Last edited by ehr091; 03-02-2005 at 11:00 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    7
    Also, does the size of the fat32 drive matter? The tivo drive is 40 gigs and the fat32 drive is 20 gigs, would that have an effect?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Try this command: fdisk -l /dev/hda. This will report the partitions on /dev/hda. Post the results here.

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    7
    Ok PB, this is what I got back when I did fdisk on dev/hda

    /dev/hda1 Start-1 End-2494 Blocks-20033023+ ID-c System win95a Fat32(lba).

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Quote Originally Posted by ehr091
    Ok PB, this is what I got back when I did fdisk on dev/hda

    /dev/hda1 Start-1 End-2494 Blocks-20033023+ ID-c System win95a Fat32(lba).
    Thank you for presenting us with a unique problem. Your FAT32 partition is /dev/hda1; your command is correct. You say "It crashes". Please elaborate. Does it give an error message; lock up; reboot? I am inclined to think there is an error either on your FAT32 drive, or your TiVo drive.

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    7
    it just locks up. It shows me the amount of mb in total and how many kb it has transfered.

    24 of 1449 (1.86%) and thats where it stops each time. it will not go any further. It will stop and then say that the tivo.bak file is an invalid address.
    I have to manually reboot each time.
    backup failed : /mnt/dos/tivo.bak : bad address
    Last edited by ehr091; 03-02-2005 at 06:50 PM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Quote Originally Posted by ehr091
    it just locks up. It shows me the amount of mb in total and how many kb it has transfered.

    24 of 1449 (1.86%) and thats where it stops each time. it will not go any further. It will stop and then say that the tivo.bak file is an invalid address.
    I have to manually reboot each time.
    backup failed : /mnt/dos/tivo.bak : bad address
    Please understand that we're out on the ragged edge of troubleshooting here. The last ideas I have are related to a drive problem. First, try running scandisk (including a surface scan) on the fat32 drive and see if it finds any problems. If that doesn't help, try using the manufacturer's diagnostic utility on the TiVo drive, and do a media scan (surface scan).

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •