Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Using DirecTiVo AS an emulator

Lightbulb Using DirecTiVo AS an emulator

Has anyone looked into using their DirecTiVo as an emulation computer in addition to it's DirecTiVo duties? I have been trying to think of what it would take, but unfortunatly I am new to the emulation scene. On the plus side, I am good with Linux and programming. Here are the issues/ideas I have:

It looks like all EMU software is DOS based. Is the source availble for any emulator software? Obviously this would need to be ported.

Need 2 serial ports, but TiVo only has one. I was thinking maybe the IR port is a serial port also, but I am not sure. Regardless, I think the TiVoNET Board from 9thtee.com should get us an ISA port to plug a ISA serial controller card into.

There are plenty of places to get juice from on the motherboard, so that should not be an issue.

Any thoughts, ideas, suggestions?

Pitou is a linux open source emulator. The DTivo has 4 (I think) serial ports, including the smartcard slot .. golly george..

REALLY.. though.. As long as the machine has enough CPU power, it should be rather doable.. Configed like this though..

1) remap the device where the smartcard sits to a pipe
    2) use that pipe as serial port 1 (emulator) port
    3) map the serial port where the smartcard sits somewhere else
    4) use that somewhere else as serial port 2 (smartcard)

it's all in linux, all it needs is a recompile of pitou for someone to test it.. it requires no external hardware, no trickyness.. very smooth and straight forward..

Thanks for the Pitou info Bubba. I grabbed it, and will now get PPP set up so I can compile it. Where did you hear about the smartcard slot being a serial port? That could make this a pure software hack, which is way more than I had hoped for. I just assumed that the DirecTV portion was implemented completly in hardware.