Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Tried searching, but..

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    17

    Tried searching, but..

    for the life of me I can't figure out what is wrong.

    I have a DSR708, running 4.0.1b and a Linksys WSUSB11 v2.8.

    My router picks up the mac address of the network card and the tivo has 72% signal, but I can't ping, telnet, or anything.

    I am trying to finish the 4.x+RID guide, but can't telnet to the TiVo to finish the last few steps.

    Also, my serial cable isn't here yet. Ordered it yesterday.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    372
    make sure you don't have a firewall running: XP recent service pack has one built in, are you running Norton, McAfee, Zone Alarm etc?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    17
    I'm running zone alarm, but I added the TiVo ip as a trusted site so it should let all communication through.

    Just tried without ZoneAlarm, and still "request timed out".

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    372
    you need to allow comminucation on the ports too, I beleive it's port 23

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    938
    And of course you renamed netfilter-enable right?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    17

    yes

    The guide tells you to:

    Code:
    mv /tivo/etc/netfilter-enable /tivo/etc/netfilter-notenabled
    Which I have done.

    But I must have missed a step somewhere, or the router might not be set right. But it does pick up the MAC address.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    372

    Thumbs down

    Quote Originally Posted by toca13579
    The guide tells you to:

    Code:
    mv /tivo/etc/netfilter-enable /tivo/etc/netfilter-notenabled
    Which I have done.

    But I must have missed a step somewhere, or the router might not be set right. But it does pick up the MAC address.
    Ah, the pitfalls of following a guide - do you really understand what all the steps have done? Have you read all the stickies?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    17
    I haven't read every sticky on the board, but have read a lot of them.

    I have very basic Linux experience, but enough to understand the move and copy commands required for the guide.

    I am thinking it has something to do with the router settings. Maybe WEP or something. It's set for 128bit WEP.

    The router tells me the card is connected, but can't so anything except list the mac address.

    Maybe I should start over or pull the drive to check what the h*ll I did wrong.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    372
    if the router shows the tivo connected and it has a valid IP address then you likely did not do anything wrong. I'm giving you a hard time for admitting you followed a guide
    The probelm likely lies in the router and/or computer hardware/software. Not my area of expertise, sorry

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,778
    Quote Originally Posted by toca13579
    The guide tells you to:
    ...keep reading the stickies?

    One could only wish.

    -Thread Closed-

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •